Customer Reviews for

Gatekeepers (Dreamhouse Kings Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!!!

"Gatekeepers," is the third book in the Dream House Kings series. It will leave you begging for more, because---once again---Robert Liparulo has made the ending of the book a cliff-hanger. Do not miss out on this fantastic novel!

posted by read4ever on June 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gatekeepers

The King family continues to discover new and dangerous secrets about their house. The boys, Xander and David, continue to search for their mother but find someone else instead. The strange man, Taksidian, continues to try and get the Kings out of the house in any way h...
The King family continues to discover new and dangerous secrets about their house. The boys, Xander and David, continue to search for their mother but find someone else instead. The strange man, Taksidian, continues to try and get the Kings out of the house in any way he can.

The third book in the Dreamhouse Kings series continues to offer great action. The characters are still a bit stagnant and none of them seem to be anywhere closer to their goals. While there is little resolution, there is still a lot of forwrd momentum that is driving the story forward.

3/5

posted by Jasmyn9 on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!!!

    "Gatekeepers," is the third book in the Dream House Kings series. It will leave you begging for more, because---once again---Robert Liparulo has made the ending of the book a cliff-hanger. Do not miss out on this fantastic novel!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Adventure Like No Other

    The third book in the acclaimed "Dreamhouse Kings" series written by best-selling author Robert Liparulo, "Gatekeepers" is an adventure like no other that constantly keeps the reader at the edge of their seat, waiting in anticipation to find out what is going to happen next! With a cliff-hanger ending, this scary and mysterious book leaves readers wanting more and more!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to Put Down

    Even though fantasy is not my genre of choice, and even though this is Juvenile fiction (and I am very old) and even though the book suggests that the first two novels in the series should be read first (and I had not read either of them) I LOVED THIS BOOK! I know it makes no sense other than it's a compelling story with believable characters, told in a page-turning fashion. What a thriller!<BR/><BR/>My only objection is that there is no conclusion. The book simply stops and leaves the reader panting for the next volume in this series. I can't wait to get my hands on that next book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gatekeepers - Robert Liparulo

    In Gatekeepers, we again join Xander, David, Toria and their father, Edward, in the search for their mother, G(ertrude). As they discover more rules about the portals, they also encounter more danger - both in their own world and the world behind the antechambers. Men - warriors - are now coming through the portals and are after the children! Come see how Xander, David and Toria fight off three of these men in the mysterious clearing in the woods - how they are able to fly out of the way of danger! <BR/><BR/>We also meet Jesse, a very elderly man who has a gift of "feeling" when history has been changed. He also has a link to the mysterious King house, as well as to the King family themselves. He is able to help the children with their knowledge of the portals - but will he have the time to share all of his secrets, or will "time" want him back.<BR/><BR/>The children may not be able to rescue their mother during this book - but come and find out who they do meet in the other worlds along the way. I guarantee you will not want to put it down!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Awesome book

    This book is great. The whole series is a must that should be read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    The Book

    I enjoyed the book very much i love how the auther leaves you hanging. I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    My only complaint was that I didn't have time to read it in one

    My only complaint was that I didn't have time to read it in one sitting, because I REALLY wanted to! It was so hard to stop reading that I missed sleep! How can you not be fascinated by a house that swallows people? Loved it! Just be prepared for a cliffhanger ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Great

    Thrilling! Cant wait to start the next book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Awesome, this series is just great!

    Couldn't read it fast enough!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    FAntastic

    I love these books it reminds me of like a horror/thriller/cant but down till its over book. For being only 199 pages it sure does keep u going asnd wantting more and more

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A very creative and continually surprising tale.

    We last left Xander and David King in the Civil War world where they stumbled onto a clue to their mother's whereabouts. They rush back to tell their father, only to discover Taksidian and some cops at the front door. Taksidian has reported the Kings' house as unfit to live in. Then another strange old man arrives on their doorstep, claiming to be a long lost relative. Does this Jesse really know stuff about the house? And could he be right? Had the house called the King family back because they are Gatekeepers?

    I love this series. Book three took off right where book two ended and hooked me with non-stop action, adventure, and surprising new twists. I read this one so quickly, I was thankful I had book four waiting, but then when I finished book four.yep. Now I have to wait! Book five isn't out yet. Rats! I highly recommend this series for boys, especially, but also for any reader who loves suspense, action, and adventure. A very creative and continually surprising tale.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3