Customer Reviews for

Gates of Paradise (Casteel Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

COOL BOOKS BY V.C.ANDREWS & R.L.STINE

This book is the best book i have ever read. I love reading long novels and other intresting books and horror books COOL!

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

I have enjoyed the entire Casteel Series. I am currently on the last book, but Gates of Paradise was a good read. Although I did find Annie to be quite whiney at times, she pulled through and managed to escape the terrible Tony Tatterton. Its important to read the seri...
I have enjoyed the entire Casteel Series. I am currently on the last book, but Gates of Paradise was a good read. Although I did find Annie to be quite whiney at times, she pulled through and managed to escape the terrible Tony Tatterton. Its important to read the series in order, or you can get lost with it.

posted by Anonymous on January 3, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    I've read the entire Casteel series....

    This one was good, but it did take a very long time to evolve. I almost would've liked it better if Heaven had survived the car crash so that she and Troy could've told Annie the truth. Also, I would've liked to seen more interaction with Troy. I also would like to know if Logan really knew the truth

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Good Book

    I have enjoyed the entire Casteel Series. I am currently on the last book, but Gates of Paradise was a good read. Although I did find Annie to be quite whiney at times, she pulled through and managed to escape the terrible Tony Tatterton. Its important to read the series in order, or you can get lost with it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    COOL BOOKS BY V.C.ANDREWS & R.L.STINE

    This book is the best book i have ever read. I love reading long novels and other intresting books and horror books COOL!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Good

    This series is ammmmmmmaaaaazing!!!!!!!!!!! I definately recommend this series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS WHOLE SERIES IS A GREAT READ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    Not The Best

    I truly am a big fan of V.C. Andrews and her books, becoming so hooked to her first series: The Dollangagers. All her books are incredible, but this one was surprisingly boring and uninteresting. It bored me so much that I even skipped multiple pages to get to somewhat interesting parts. It was an all right book, but I would most definitely not read it again. I felt truly disappointed with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    I love this book!

    This book was the 1st book I read, I got so into the story I actually couldn't put it down, especially the love between luke and annie...so since I read it ..it made me wan't to find out the history of the casteel family so I wen't and found the series and I've never got into novels before but this sucked me right in and I love it. I'm going to name my kids after Heaven ..annie and luke.. I don't know about fanny lol but after reading what a spoiled brat she was and unfourtunatly she changed her ways after heaven died but atleast she changed. Poor heaven had a rough youth but atleast she was with the love of her life. I give this book 2 thumbs up!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    It was pretty good

    I liked this book. But I did think it was a little slow. I like the fact that Luke and Annie found out that they weren't really related. It made me happy, but it made me mad when Tony did that stuff to Annie. Overall it wasn't one of my favorites but its a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    Avid V.C. Andrews reader

    This book is from Annie's point of view. The back of the book completely gives away the main tragedy that is going to take place...I didn't like that at all. Annie is just as strong as her mother, but she has a physical challenge as well to overcome. I cried so many times throughout this book. It was wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Excellent reading

    I was not looking forward to reading this book because the synopsis gave away the dramtic details of this book. I loved this entire series. Annie is just as strong as her mother and grandmother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    One of the best

    I really liked this book. I felt for Annie and all her pain. It was very sad that she lost both her parents and practically all the people she ever grew up with. I was very disgusted with Drake's ways. He irked me more then Tony Tatterton did. We also discover Fanny to have changed following the death of Heaven. It was about time. I couldn't stand that at every waking moment in her life she had to always be so sexual and filthy. I think she finally figured out who she really was. Kudos to Fanny! Tony, Annie's grandfather, is yet again scheming his way into the lives of the Casteel family. It's like he just can't stand not being in control. I wouldn't be surprised if he himself had caused the accident that killed both Logan and Heaven. I'm happy that Annie and Luke were able to find true love among themselves, but I don't think that Troy telling Annie that he was her father should have been the thing that let there love unfold. I mean Annie did look like a replica of Heaven, and Leigh(Annie's grandmother) so who would be able to tell who her real father was? Although I was sad that Heaven and Troy would never be married, I think its better that they both realized that their relationship would have been wrong. This was one of the best of the Casteel series. Its a definite read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    The most boring book that V.C. Andrews have ever writen!

    This book was good but I hated how Heaven didn't survive the crash. Also, as the other post said their should have been more interaction with Troy and Luke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    The most awesome book.

    Gates of paradise is one of the best books that VC Andrews has written. The best part of the book is when all of Annies dreams come true and that she is back with her true family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Gates of Let-Down

    Gates of Paradise was good but not good enough for the rest of the series. I thought it was sad because... but, again, i would recommend it to keep you up-to-date on the rest of the Casteel series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    just right

    when i started i didn't think i would like it and then i couldn't put it down. i am starting web of dreams next. i love all of her books and this one is great. thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    uhh...

    it was good. Ive read better by V.C. Tony really gets annoying after awhile. It made me sad the part when Annies looking out the window and sees Troy crying at Heavens grave. It made me sad. Lukes awesome. Fanny makes me feel spiffy cause shes finally COOL! What ever happened to Keith and Our Jane, they didnt take claim on Annie, they werent even mentioned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    the first 300 pgs, were pretty boring.

    after reading many of her books before this one, it became a dissapointment. it was much too boring. it took to long for the book to get started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2