Customer Reviews for

The Gathering

Average Rating 3
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Self-indulgent drivel

You would think that with eleven Irish brothers and sisters, the narrator would insert some lovely bits of humor to provide a touch of comic relief to this tale of a dysfunctional family, but the mood is unrelentingly morose (even Hamlet had the grave digger to make one...
You would think that with eleven Irish brothers and sisters, the narrator would insert some lovely bits of humor to provide a touch of comic relief to this tale of a dysfunctional family, but the mood is unrelentingly morose (even Hamlet had the grave digger to make one laugh). After about fifty pages, as the narrator engages in endless self-pitying analysis, she ceases to be a sympathetic character and becomes quite tiresome. I miss the good old novels where characters reacted to difficulties with strength and selflessness rather than impotence and self-absorption.

posted by Capitalist on July 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

So bad.

I wish I had read the reviews before my book club picked this book. It is very disturbing, and not in a good way!!! There is so much description, it takes 5 pages to say someone may or may not have done something or nothing (confusing? just trying to give a bit of insig...
I wish I had read the reviews before my book club picked this book. It is very disturbing, and not in a good way!!! There is so much description, it takes 5 pages to say someone may or may not have done something or nothing (confusing? just trying to give a bit of insight on what it is like to read this book). Perhaps for those who like very different writing, this would be a great find. I like to think I am pretty open about books and writing styles, but this leaves much to be desired. For the first time in my life, I dread my quiet reading time. I can't wait to be done so that I can start the books I have piled up while trying to get through this one. If it wasn't chosen by the club, I would probably have actually stopped reading this one...something I just don't do.

posted by faradise on June 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    The Gathering is one of the WORST books I have ever had the misfortune to read. I bought the book based upon the rave reviews on the back of the book and now will have trouble trusting reviews again. It is rambling, morose, and it goes nowhere, it

    just goes and goes and goes and it is PAINFUL, it has no redeeming value at all. So, it is good as an example of what you do not want to visit. I like a good story, and this would NOT BE IT.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So bad.

    I wish I had read the reviews before my book club picked this book. It is very disturbing, and not in a good way!!! There is so much description, it takes 5 pages to say someone may or may not have done something or nothing (confusing? just trying to give a bit of insight on what it is like to read this book). Perhaps for those who like very different writing, this would be a great find. I like to think I am pretty open about books and writing styles, but this leaves much to be desired. For the first time in my life, I dread my quiet reading time. I can't wait to be done so that I can start the books I have piled up while trying to get through this one. If it wasn't chosen by the club, I would probably have actually stopped reading this one...something I just don't do.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Thankfully I didn't buy it

    I checked this out of our library because the jacket lured me into think I had found a treasure. I got so far as page 50 and could NOT see any plot nor any point. I had no idea what she was thinking other than some morbid conjecture, where I did not want to go. If you are looking for a great UK author try Lionel Shriver!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Disappointed

    I bought the book based on what was written on the back cover and was very disappointed. It is rare that I do not finish a book that I purchase but could not get through it. The book seemed so dark and morbid. By the time I stopped reading it, I had my fill of hearing about all the people that had died, how Liam looked lying the mortuary on the table, selecting a coffin, etc., etc. I prefer something more uplifting.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Most disappointing piece of literature.

    Worst book read in a long time. Struggled to finish it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Gave up half way through

    I will finish just about any book due to my curiosity regarding plot development. This book joins precious few that I've given up on. If there is a plot, it is so deeply hidden under all the anger and oddball character development that I missed it. The cover synopsis led me to expect more of a story, but what I found was a lot of introspection and reminiscing. Way too much navel-gazing for me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    Skip this one

    Talk about sexually repressed Irish Catholic! Who in their right mind wants to imagine their grandmother's sex life!? Writing was wordy and story line depressing and insane. This book makes one wonder about who decides book award winners. Will not waste time reading any other work by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Ugh

    I read books really quickly, and usually average 1 per day. I started this book on October 20th. It's November 7th, and I'm still only at page 50. This book is soooooooooooooo boring that I haven't been able to finish it. I never do that! Eventually I will finish it, someday, and if there are any redeeming qualities, I'll come back here and let you know, but right now... ugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    boring!

    I tried 3 times to get into this book. The premise seemed interesting. very wordy and tedious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    I thought it would get better

    I honestly gave this book a try. The concept of the book is intriguing but the way it is written is awful. The book is so angry that i dreaded going back to it. I made it through the halfway point but could go no further. I don't understand how this book could have won any type of award. Move on there are much better novels out there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Lightstep

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Griffinstar

    Is sparrow ok.?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Ghdj

    Fudjwkcg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Hard to follow

    In all honesty, I didn't get past page 30 in this book. Just didn't grab my attention. Too many great books to read, and no sense wasting my time on one that just doesn't have it - whatever "it" is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    did not like

    did not like author's style was slow and uninterestong did not finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Silverflight

    No ones here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Like a Constant Funeral!

    When you go to a funeral, you're helping someone go through the grieving process. Well, this is exactly what you're doing here but you don't know the people and you paid an entrance fee. Unfortunately, the funeral doesn't end. The author takes you through a never-ending dialogue and she's sad, bitter, and angry. After a while I just got depressed. Page after page just dragged on with this. I had to drop the book and watch something funny on TV to get out of it. No Thanks. Life is depressing enough without having to share in this fictional drivel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I agree that the way this book is written is awful. From reading the back of the book the story line sounded like it would be a great read. This book is difficult to comprehend as the author talks about the deceased characters as if they are alive at times and intermingles them with the present. Is she remembering? Is she hoping? Is she making up a story? Who can tell. I do not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2