Customer Reviews for

The Gathering

Average Rating 3
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Self-indulgent drivel

You would think that with eleven Irish brothers and sisters, the narrator would insert some lovely bits of humor to provide a touch of comic relief to this tale of a dysfunctional family, but the mood is unrelentingly morose (even Hamlet had the grave digger to make one...
You would think that with eleven Irish brothers and sisters, the narrator would insert some lovely bits of humor to provide a touch of comic relief to this tale of a dysfunctional family, but the mood is unrelentingly morose (even Hamlet had the grave digger to make one laugh). After about fifty pages, as the narrator engages in endless self-pitying analysis, she ceases to be a sympathetic character and becomes quite tiresome. I miss the good old novels where characters reacted to difficulties with strength and selflessness rather than impotence and self-absorption.

posted by Capitalist on July 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Gathering is one of the WORST books I have ever had the misfortune to read. I bought the book based upon the rave reviews on the back of the book and now will have trouble trusting reviews again. It is rambling, morose, and it goes nowhere, it

just goes and goes and goes and it is PAINFUL, it has no redeeming value at all. So, it is good as an example of what you do not want to visit. I like a good story, and this would NOT BE IT.

posted by MARYALICEMQ on March 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    Self-indulgent drivel

    You would think that with eleven Irish brothers and sisters, the narrator would insert some lovely bits of humor to provide a touch of comic relief to this tale of a dysfunctional family, but the mood is unrelentingly morose (even Hamlet had the grave digger to make one laugh). After about fifty pages, as the narrator engages in endless self-pitying analysis, she ceases to be a sympathetic character and becomes quite tiresome. I miss the good old novels where characters reacted to difficulties with strength and selflessness rather than impotence and self-absorption.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Beautiful, Brilliant Writing! So I just read the 'get a sample'

    Beautiful, Brilliant Writing!
    So I just read the 'get a sample' as I was afraid to purchase the book due to all the negative reviews. I do not see what the others are getting at. I think the book is wonderfully written. I look forward to seeing what happens with Veronica and her family. Its ok to read a not-so-sunny-happy-ending book once in a while. I loved it and I'm sure I will love the rest, she has such an interesting way of telling a story with feeling.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    just beautiful

    This is a marvelous piece of writing...smart and poetic. It causes you to slow down and appreciate the emotions, the words...rich in everyway.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    I need a clan

    Reply to hailey garner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    To falconstar

    Flamepaw has ben kidnapped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Aspenfire and co

    Aspenfire sits on the Highrock for Sunclan becuase no other ader is there. <p>



    Fireheat lays down with Lightfur. <p>




    Lightwningflash and Sonicspeed lay with Reglaze and Whiteoak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Creamstrike

    Padds in rushing over to whitetail only to go slow cause of my belly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Random cat

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    My clan

    Is at "fox heart"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Frostpelt

    I aggree with whitetail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Littleflwer

    Fudge i gtgtb bb on friday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Thunderheart

    Sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Sparrow

    Im fine . But Night has been coughing for a while .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Blueflame

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Moonlight

    Pads back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Falconstar

    What result?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Mothflight

    Padded over to the four great oaks and looked up at the moon. "The gathering should start! The moon is clear!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A true family drama

    This book was a surprise when I read it the first time. I was so glad when it was offered on the nook. If you are a fan of Irish authors this is the book for you or just enjoy books about the families. Ms. Enright tells her story in the tradition of The Dubliners and Angela's Ashes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Real family dynamic

    Yes this was a-difficult read, but was worth the effort. I could appreciate the feelings of each member of the family. The situation taking place did not lend to any comic relief so for those thinking that they would find it in the large family would be disappointed. But this should not discourage anyone from reading this book.
    I think that Anne Enight is following in the tradition of Frank McCourt and James Joyce.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Gamers get out

    These are for book reviews NOT your private chat space!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2