Customer Reviews for

The Gathering (Darkness Rising Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 626 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(355)

4 Star

(158)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Quite a cliffhanger...

THE GATHERING, by Kelley Armstrong, is the start of her second YA series. After reading the whole Darkest Powers series, I was dying to jump into the start of this new one, still taking place in the same 'world' but with new characters.

I love Kelley Armstrong. Ask ...
THE GATHERING, by Kelley Armstrong, is the start of her second YA series. After reading the whole Darkest Powers series, I was dying to jump into the start of this new one, still taking place in the same 'world' but with new characters.

I love Kelley Armstrong. Ask anyone who knows me and they can probably tell you she is one of my favorites. I will read anything with her name on it no questions asked. I love the 'Otherworld' that she created that spans across her series's. BUT, I have to say this was the first time I was slightly disappointed. Let me explain...

The first chapter hooked me right away, the drowning of Maya's best friend sent shock waves of sadness through me. I needed to know what happened. Also, the mysterious heritage that Maya soon discovered via a crazy old woman made me crazy with anticipation. Let's add in a new kid who is hot and has the hots for our leading lady (with an equally hot best guy friend). These elements raised questions that I was dying to have answered. But sadly, at the end of the book I felt I needed more.

This book felt like just an introduction to the series and not a self-contained book. Maya's heritage was explained somewhat, but a zillion other questions were left hanging. The pace was always high but I felt it ended too quickly and easy.

Overall, I did like the story. I fell in love with the characters (Rafe and Daniel especially, yum!) and the unique circumstances Maya experienced. The romance was steamy and the mystery of the small Canadian town piqued my interest. I loved Maya's connections and powers with animals and I yearned for each time she experienced them. The book as a whole was a great start to the series and although I expected more from it, I am actually dying to read the next book for more of my questions to be answered.

Cover note: Love this cover! The blue hues make it look mysterious and I would definitely buy this book right off the shelf for the cover alone.

posted by kittydanza on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    Another Armstrong Pageturner

    The first few chapters had me wondering if I would like the book or not, but as I kept on reading I couldn't put it down, just as any of the other books by this author that I have read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    You will not regret reading this!

    Maya is a girl who is adopted. For some reason she has a birthmark on her hip the shape of a paw print. She didn't know why she she had it but didn't think to much about it. Until a new stranger comes to town and she gets involves with him. It turns out he has some secrets of his own. That might change her life forever. Maybe for the wrost or for the better, that depends on who she love and who she love more, family or the boy she is in love with.

    The question is not if you are ready but when Maya.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    B

    I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

           

           

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

        Huh. Just had a weird moment as a book blogger. I have wante

        Huh. Just had a weird moment as a book blogger. I have wanted to read The Gathering because I totally loved Darkest Powers series. But then I went to search for my reviews... and it was before I was blogging. It's hard to believe that moment of searching and remembering that this hasn't been an amazing part of my life for as long as I even thought.  So. Here's a plug for an older series that is amazing. Derek was smoking hot and I loved the story line and I was pretty sad when it ended and I knew my time with the characters was coming to an end. 




        So here I am three years late discovering the series and my love for her writing and characters that are easy to like. Maya has an affinity for the animals and she has a bordering on weird relationship with the bob cats in the area. And she really begins to wonder when she's called a witch by an old lady at a tattoo parlor when she went in to get work done on her birthmark, shaped like a cat's paw. 




        I enjoyed the exploration into her abilities as well as the mystery with the rest of the town. The medical research, the focus on the teens, the death of Maya's best friend the summer before. I feel like it did take a bit to get set up in the paranormal aspect of the plot, but I didn't mind at all because I liked Maya as a character. 




        The cast of secondary characters was great as well. Daniel, her best friend was great to read about. I loved the easy time they spent together and their natural sweet friendship. They were so open with each other and he is such a good guy, protective and strong that I was still half rooting for a relationship between the two. But as the synopsis suggests, the bad boy sexy new guy makes an appearance. 




       Just like Maya since Rafe has done the catch and release with so many other girls, I was so weary of him and his advances on Maya. But the fact that he lets down his guard and his relationship with his sister I can't help but give him a chance. Plus the chemistry between him and Maya is pretty undeniable. 




        I will definitely be continuing this series, but the ending to the first book didn't really give me a whole ton of closure. It felt like it stopped too soon with climax and not answering enough questions while still raising even more. But that aside, it was an enjoyable and quick read. 




    Bottom Line: Fun paranormal set-up, lots of bad boy chemistry. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Reenelle to Zane and Mrs (whats ur name again?o.O)

    Zane:...well now we're in detention. If you hadent put that stupid spell on me I wouldn't have punched you in the face.

    Mrs.Something; -,-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Froststorm

    A green-eyed silverclan warrior pads into the clearing. "What is this meeting about?" She asks. Her thick fur is dark silver, slightly lighter underneath. Froststorm cocks her head curiously and sits down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Good Read

    Even though this book is geared toward young adults, I as an older adult found this book very enjoyable. As always Mrs. Armstrong has written a strong female character with a fast paced story line. Overall a very good read. I enjoyed the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great read!

    Kelley Armstrong is an amazing writer. Her series have fascinating twist that will keep you on the edge of your set and keep you asking "what next". But don't read this book until you have read the darkest powers series.
    You will love Maya and her group of unusual friends. But be prepared once the action starts it doesn't stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Really enjoyed

    Ive read another series of hers & have enjoyed both

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Better than expected

    I did not expect to enjoy this book as much as I did. I found it difficult to put down; and I attribute that to the well crafted story telling skill that Kelly Armstrong delivers. I am new to her writing and while like mystical type fiction, but did not see myself as someone who would enjoy 'Young Adult' fiction. In this case, I was mistaken. Armstrong weaves a facinating world that is believable and out of this world incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Not bad, but not as good as her "Bitten" series.

    This is a great novel for teens and young adults. For the older or more mature reader I would recommend Ms. Armstrong's " Bitten" trilogy within the Women of the Otherworld series. (Bitten, Stolen, and Broken)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Pageturner

    Very quick easy read. Kept me entertained from the start. Fast paced and full of surprises. Cant wait to read the next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Cool

    I read this book and i liked it!!! I cant wait to read the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Really liked it!

    I couldnt stop reading! Very good! The 2nd book in this series gets even better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    X

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Mace

    Mace~ if anyone has kits who dont have a mum or da or need to be cared for, please tell me. Ill take them in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    fun

    I enjoyed this book and can not wait to find our what happens next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Must read for teenaged mystery and wildlife lovers.

    This action oriented book finds the teen reader exploring peer relationships, mystery healing and human and animal inter-communication. The lines of nature versus nurture become blurred as the heroine shares experiences with the animals in her care. Questions abound regarding her origins, friendships, the new boy in town and the medical research facility that enriches and overshadows the community and its surroundings in this remote Canadian outpost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Interesting

    Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8