Customer Reviews for

Gathering Blue

Average Rating 4.5
( 761 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(447)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book. Beautifully written and one of my favorites.

Pain. Thats all Kira feels. Pain from her crippled leg, pain from her mother's death, and pain from being deemed useless in a community where physical prowess means everything. Lois Lowry brings us yet another riveting tale about the future. But this time it is differen...
Pain. Thats all Kira feels. Pain from her crippled leg, pain from her mother's death, and pain from being deemed useless in a community where physical prowess means everything. Lois Lowry brings us yet another riveting tale about the future. But this time it is different. Where as The Giver shows a future where there is no color and no difference, Gathering Blue is a world full of color. It is about dealing with trying to find a place in a society that does not want you, that can't use you. This village appears to bring out the worst of human nature. The villages are full of greed and jealousy and hate, and they have no place, not in the village and not in their hearts, for the newly orphaned Kira, who can't do the hard labor in a village that demands for it. As Lois Lowry weaves the story of Kira, our young heroine, we are swept along on a journey of self-discovery. And it is one that will lead us to find the dark secretes that lurk in human nature. Gathering Blue is an unforgettable story, one that will leave you breathless and wanting for more.

posted by Amy-la on January 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good, But Where Was The Connection To The Giver??

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry, was a book about a young girl, named Kira, in a society slightly after the one we live in today. With her mother being dead, and her father taken by "beasts", she is now an orphan. She has to go up to the council of elders to see whether or...
Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry, was a book about a young girl, named Kira, in a society slightly after the one we live in today. With her mother being dead, and her father taken by "beasts", she is now an orphan. She has to go up to the council of elders to see whether or not she should be put to death. With the ruling given as no, she has to now live as a servant for the community, threading and dyeing clothes. She meets new friends, and learns new talents. Eventually, she learns that there are secrets in this village, that even she doesn't know. I enjoyed the book, and the whole "I need to make blue" thing, but where was the connection to "The Giver"? That book was fantastic. This book was its "companion" and it was only average. The only connection I find is that they are both cities in the future that are nothing like our own. What would have been a good ending is if they showed us an epilouge saying something along the lines of, "20 years later... Kira and Thomas are married with a baby boy named Jonas..." I know that it wouldn't be THE Jonas, but it would still be a connection to "The Giver". Overall, this book was alright, but nowhere near as good as "The Giver".

posted by emma-bear_ on May 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 765 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book. Beautifully written and one of my favorites.

    Pain. Thats all Kira feels. Pain from her crippled leg, pain from her mother's death, and pain from being deemed useless in a community where physical prowess means everything. Lois Lowry brings us yet another riveting tale about the future. But this time it is different. Where as The Giver shows a future where there is no color and no difference, Gathering Blue is a world full of color. It is about dealing with trying to find a place in a society that does not want you, that can't use you. This village appears to bring out the worst of human nature. The villages are full of greed and jealousy and hate, and they have no place, not in the village and not in their hearts, for the newly orphaned Kira, who can't do the hard labor in a village that demands for it. As Lois Lowry weaves the story of Kira, our young heroine, we are swept along on a journey of self-discovery. And it is one that will lead us to find the dark secretes that lurk in human nature. Gathering Blue is an unforgettable story, one that will leave you breathless and wanting for more.

    39 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Awesome

    Im only eleven years old and it is one of my favorite books!!!

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    Awesome Story

    I am a Language Arts teacher for 5th/6th grade. We have read both The Giver and Gathering Blue. Both books are excellent teaching tools for the classroom. My classes loved them both. I am ordering The Messenger to preview as I may also add that book to my classroom.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gathering Blue is about an orphan girl, Kira, with a gift of dye

    Gathering Blue is about an orphan girl, Kira, with a gift of dyeing and weaving threads. The community and the characters are completely different from The Giver. The story feels nothing like The Giver until you get to the end, where Lois Lowry ties the two books together in a beautiful way. And yes, you get to find out at the end what happens to Jonas. I liked contrasting this society with that of Jonas’s from The Giver. In some ways this community is worse off because there is poverty, hunger and no education. But in some ways this community is better than Jonas’s because there is color, personality, deep family love, and some freedom. Not a lot of freedom, but some.

    I loved the naming system in this world. I found it very creative. How many syllables your name has is a status of how old they are. I loved how beautiful the writing was. Lois Lowry is a master and making you turn the pages. With every page you get a sense of something else being not quite right (as she said at her signing) and that’s what kept me glued to the story. She goes into a lot of depth of what the main character is thinking and feeling which I loved. The story sucked me in all the way until the ambiguous ending. I have a feeling she likes those… She said at her signing that she likes leaving things up to the imagination. If the ending is done right, I say that I have to agree. And Lois knows how to end it just right. I found this book to be another powerful story from her about family and love.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Gathering Blue

    The only reason why i read this book is because for school i had to read a science fiction book. I hated the book at first it was boring and slow. In the middle of the book things speeded up. To tell you the truth this is the best book ever! And if you dont like it in the begining keep reading it gets better! THIS IS A MESSAGE TO THE AUTHOR OF GATHERING BLUE PLEASE MAKE A SECOND BOOK I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS IN THE FURTURE!!!!!!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Read

    And to everyone else THIS IS NOT A TRILOGY!!!!! THEY R LL DIFFERENT BOOKS THEY R NIT RELATED TO EACH OTHER

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Read the Giver now this

    I haven't finished it yet but it's AWESOME!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    It is the second in the Giver Series.

    Gathering Blue is okay, but you have to read The Giver first.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Good, But Where Was The Connection To The Giver??

    Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry, was a book about a young girl, named Kira, in a society slightly after the one we live in today. With her mother being dead, and her father taken by "beasts", she is now an orphan. She has to go up to the council of elders to see whether or not she should be put to death. With the ruling given as no, she has to now live as a servant for the community, threading and dyeing clothes. She meets new friends, and learns new talents. Eventually, she learns that there are secrets in this village, that even she doesn't know. I enjoyed the book, and the whole "I need to make blue" thing, but where was the connection to "The Giver"? That book was fantastic. This book was its "companion" and it was only average. The only connection I find is that they are both cities in the future that are nothing like our own. What would have been a good ending is if they showed us an epilouge saying something along the lines of, "20 years later... Kira and Thomas are married with a baby boy named Jonas..." I know that it wouldn't be THE Jonas, but it would still be a connection to "The Giver". Overall, this book was alright, but nowhere near as good as "The Giver".

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!

    My mom bought me this book and I thought it looked really stupid! But i stated reading and I started to love it! I enjoyed how a girl with such little strength accomplished so much! One thing is dont read it before you go to bed it is not a thing to read before you go to bed, I loved this book you have to read it (:

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    Gathering Blue

    Everyone says that this book is the sequel to The Giver, but it is not. It is a companion. This book is awesome if you want to learn a good life lesson.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    A Must Read, Good for book reports :)

    Kira the crippled but brave girl is a social outcast in a society who rejects non-laborers. Not only that but she is orphanded and is now forced to grow up and take rrsponsibilities. Later kira expects to fight for her life in court but unexpectedly ends up having a higher place in the city. But is it really what it appears? Is this the right place for Kira? Find out in the smashing novel Gathering Blue and meet kiras new friends that she meets along the way.

    Over all this book is truley amazing. Really well thought out and will have you reading untill the last page then wanting more. Very good book reports too! Has all of those element that teachers love!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Love it!

    I loved this as much as The Giver....my favorite book. I couldnt put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Pretty good

    You have to read abit and then it gets better like the first couple chapters you eill hate!

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Gathering Blue

    Just saying, this book is second in Lois Lowrys Giver quartet, so for those of you who dont know what links it to the Giver, please read the rest of these! It all comes together! Trust me!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Kira the strong artist

    REALLY ENJOYED this book #2 of The Giver quartet. Although it starts off slow, the reader will thoroughly appreciate the detailed chapters that lead to its climax towards the very end. Looking forward to the continuation which is The Messsenger.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Lowry does it again!

    I read The Giver awhile back and was impressed with the book. When I heard on NPR that there was a 2nd and 3rd book, I was shocked! I searched and found them both to read right away. This 2nd book is great and Lowry truly does offer an amazing insight into human existance. Now I know there is a 4th and I have pre-ordered it - can't wait!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    If you liked the Giver...

    And especially if you have any interest in fiber craft, this is not to be missed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it!!!!

    wow this is the second book i read by Lois Lowry and i loved it...its an amazing story, i also read the Giver, before this one and now im on to the next book in the trilogy. definitely recomend this book. just dont read it at night unless you have a lot of time to spare, :) i think i have found a new Favorite author..lol...the only thing i did not like is the end, it just leaves u wanting more but other than that i loved the book...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Gathering Blue

    I bought this book, thinking it was a sequal to "The Giver" and that it would pick up where Jonas left off. I admit, I was a little dissapointed that it was a whole different book. But, I didn't want to waste 6$, so I read on. I was supprised that I started to really enjoy this book, not as good as "The Giver" but still worth the 6$.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 765 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39