Customer Reviews for

Gathering Blue

Average Rating 4.5
( 798 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(466)

4 Star

(179)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book. Beautifully written and one of my favorites.

Pain. Thats all Kira feels. Pain from her crippled leg, pain from her mother's death, and pain from being deemed useless in a community where physical prowess means everything. Lois Lowry brings us yet another riveting tale about the future. But this time it is differen...
Pain. Thats all Kira feels. Pain from her crippled leg, pain from her mother's death, and pain from being deemed useless in a community where physical prowess means everything. Lois Lowry brings us yet another riveting tale about the future. But this time it is different. Where as The Giver shows a future where there is no color and no difference, Gathering Blue is a world full of color. It is about dealing with trying to find a place in a society that does not want you, that can't use you. This village appears to bring out the worst of human nature. The villages are full of greed and jealousy and hate, and they have no place, not in the village and not in their hearts, for the newly orphaned Kira, who can't do the hard labor in a village that demands for it. As Lois Lowry weaves the story of Kira, our young heroine, we are swept along on a journey of self-discovery. And it is one that will lead us to find the dark secretes that lurk in human nature. Gathering Blue is an unforgettable story, one that will leave you breathless and wanting for more.

posted by Amy-la on January 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good, But Where Was The Connection To The Giver??

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry, was a book about a young girl, named Kira, in a society slightly after the one we live in today. With her mother being dead, and her father taken by "beasts", she is now an orphan. She has to go up to the council of elders to see whether or...
Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry, was a book about a young girl, named Kira, in a society slightly after the one we live in today. With her mother being dead, and her father taken by "beasts", she is now an orphan. She has to go up to the council of elders to see whether or not she should be put to death. With the ruling given as no, she has to now live as a servant for the community, threading and dyeing clothes. She meets new friends, and learns new talents. Eventually, she learns that there are secrets in this village, that even she doesn't know. I enjoyed the book, and the whole "I need to make blue" thing, but where was the connection to "The Giver"? That book was fantastic. This book was its "companion" and it was only average. The only connection I find is that they are both cities in the future that are nothing like our own. What would have been a good ending is if they showed us an epilouge saying something along the lines of, "20 years later... Kira and Thomas are married with a baby boy named Jonas..." I know that it wouldn't be THE Jonas, but it would still be a connection to "The Giver". Overall, this book was alright, but nowhere near as good as "The Giver".

posted by emma-bear_ on May 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Shallow and doesn't make sense...a huge disappointment

    The Giver has been one of my favorite books since i was ten. Oddly though, i just learned today, twelve years later that it was the first of a series. I bought the next two books, first Gathering Blue and then Messenger and even preordered Son, and read them both today. The Giver was beautiful and well written, and although it was written for children, i enjoy it as much now as i did when i was younger and garner greater meaning from it as an adult. Gathering Blue and Messenger seemed to be forced and really don't make any sense. They would have been good reads unattached from The Giver and i honestly wish i hadn't read them. The Giver ends well, although it is a confusing end, but it was perfectly good. I am left just baffled. The story takes such a bizarre turn... I regret buying these and reading them. I understand curiosity pushing you to read them, but if you love The Giver, don't read Gathering Blue, Messenger, or Son which comes out in October. Reading these has nearly ruined one of my all-time favorite reads. :(

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    it was ok

    I read the book for homework one night. The book has it's good and bad parts. i dont like the plot of the story, but it had a good ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    NYREADER

    Had ti read this book for my advanced english class. It was overall good. Ivr nvr read lord of the rings, and to me thr book was slow. I thought the cahracters were dreery and the plot kind of dragged on, and everything was predictable! Overal lthough it wasnt a terrible book, ive read worse, but not a superv book either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Micakit

    Venom you are SICK!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Starkid to jonathan

    The book i said in my last post is in the nook store.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Icestar

    She padded in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    "Gathering Blue"

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: "Gathering Blue" By: Lois Lowry
    Title of review: Rating
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 2

    Introduction: I am reviewing Gathering blue for the people who would like to read it, but are not sure if they want to or not. I did not like it at all. This story does teach you a lot about making choices. The author's purpose of this story was probably to inform you on the way that people live or used to live in some places.

    Description and summary of main points: This book is about a girl named Kira. She is a kid that has no parents or any family because they are all dead. (Or so she thinks)She was born with a twisted leg so it makes it hard for her to do the work she is supposed to do. The only thing that keeps her from dying is her talent. That talent is weaving. Kira figures out many secrets that were kept from her though out this book.

    Evaluation: The book achieved its goal which was to teach us about making choices. I still think that Kira didn't make some of the right choices, but just like in the real world she'll learn from her mistakes. If you like sad, depressing books then this is the book for you. If you don`t like these kinds of books then I suggest that you don`t read this one.

    Conclusion: In conclusion I think this book is not a good book. I do not recommend this book. It`s sad confusing, and some this do not even go with the story. The one good thing about the book was that it was a little suspenseful, but other than that it wasn`t really good. I gave this book a two star because it could have been a lot better. This is the end of my review. Thank you for reading it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    Gathering Blue

    In the book Gathering Blue there is a girl named Kira. Her mother died and now she is all alone.The council spears her life and saves her from what the people in her world think are beasts. They give her a job that she has to for fill. She goes on journeys that are difficult because of her twisted leg. Along this journey she finds out secrets that no one else in her world knows. I thought that the book was alright. I read it because I liked the Giver. In my opinion the book just went on and on, then had a rushed ending. The book does have journeys in it, it was just not what I expected. So if you're looking for a book that goes on for a while and has a sudden ending then Gathering Blue is the book for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Couldn't get into it... Boring.

    More than half of GATHERING BLUE was a total bore. I didn't get what was happening, and unlike Lois's other great books like The Giver and Number the Stars, I could not get into it. Not one of the best books she has written. very dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    ► BAD◄

    They had a great story going. But they dragged out unimportant parts and it brought the whole story down. They had a whole 'The Village' thing going on. The idea was good but I thought the author could have done so much more. It was very disappointing. I dont recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    What the Flip!

    My friend reccomend this book to me. she told me it tied in with the Giver, but it DIDN'T! Only part was the blue eyed boy could have been jonas, BIG DEAL! I was expecting so much, but got very very little. Their were no really big climax that makes you go ' Oh my God!'. I do not reccomend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2