Customer Reviews for

The Gathering Storm (Wheel of Time Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 795 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(561)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

78 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful addition to the Wheel of Time

Unlike most other reviews here (as of this posting), I have read this book. All of the book and not just the prologue and the first chapter.

Fans of the Wheel of Time series will not be disappointed with The Gathering Storm. Unlike some of the books since Lord of C...
Unlike most other reviews here (as of this posting), I have read this book. All of the book and not just the prologue and the first chapter.

Fans of the Wheel of Time series will not be disappointed with The Gathering Storm. Unlike some of the books since Lord of Chaos, there is a satisfactory conclusion to an important plot line in this book (no spoilers). There is clear movement towards Tarmon Gai'don. No more burying major characters under roof beams and leaving them there for a full book. While not all characters are visited, you still put the book down feeling that something momentous had happened and you don't feel the lack of particular story lines. Instead of feeling as if I had just briefly flitted from character to character without accomplishing anything, this book provides a sense of satisfaction that has been missing from some of the prior Wheel of Time novels. (That is not a knock on the prior books, The Gathering Storm would not feel as satisfactory without the build up provided by the books that preceded it.)

I will say that I was worried at the beginning of the Prologue. It certainly does not start with a bang, but it does set the tone for the book. However, by the end of the prologue I knew that this was a book where something exciting was going to happen and wanted to continue reading.

It is also worth noting that Sanderson has done a wonderful job of preserving the writing style of the previous books. Is this book somewhat different from Jordan's original books? Yes, most notably, the pacing is a bit faster. It is debatable, however, whether that is a function of Sanderson's style or the fact that the plot is coming to a head.

This book is a worthy and welcome addition to the Wheel of Time series. Although it is sad that Robert Jordan could not write all of it himself, The Gathering Storm is a fantastic addition to his legacy.

posted by Alberich on October 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Review of the Prologue and First Chapter of The Gathering Storm by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson

Sorry everyone, but I was thoroughly disappointed with the first chapter of this book. While I have to admit that it is a different author, I believe that he could have done without all of the redundant explanations that we who have read the previous eleven books didn'...
Sorry everyone, but I was thoroughly disappointed with the first chapter of this book. While I have to admit that it is a different author, I believe that he could have done without all of the redundant explanations that we who have read the previous eleven books didn't need. While I can see the need to introduce the workings of recent history through the last couple of books, I didn't agree with the fact that he felt the need to re-explain what Cuendillar, the One Power, and even Tar Valon were. His use of explanations and reiteration were misplaced in my opinion and he could have spent more time doing what Robert Jordan did: put undertones of the plot just within our grasp. Furthermore, I think that he needs to go back over the history and personalities of the characters, because e kind of flattens and dulls the characters, where they should be multi-dimensional and vibrant. I'm probably going to still buy the book, but I do hope that he does Robert Jordan the justice he is due by correcting his representations of the world of the Wheel of Time in subsequent books.

Overall this book so far is good for only one thing: completing your collection of Wheel of Time books.

posted by Shawn_Bean_of_Portland_OR on October 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book, but a little off on the Plot and some Characters.

    Branden Sanderson has done and admirable job continuing Robert Jordans work. However, some of the characters just don't "read" the same as they used to, namely Matrim Cauthon. Thankfully, he did a good job with Rand and Egwene, but other characters in the book just don't seem to be the same people (so to speak). It is still a great pleasure to read, but there is a slightly differnt feel to the World of the Wheel now that Branden Sanderson is behind it. Some places he (Brandersen) seems like he just rephrased Robert Jordans notes a little bit and then hit Save. I will definately read the next two books in the series, but when RJ was writing it, would have been for the pleasure of reading them, with BS it's more of a "how will it end?" feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    You can tell it has a different author.

    The book overall was very good. I wish he hadn't split it into three books though. I WANNA FINISH THE STORY ALREADY! Haha, well right away I could tell it was different writing than Jordan's. There were some parts that I couldn't tell as much, but it was still there. I liked that Sanderson kept the details- it's what made these books so unique. I can't wait to finish the series, and hope that it doesn't stray too far away from where Jordan would have wanted. Fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Admirable effort!

    I have been reading this series since 1990. When Robert Jordan passed recently I thought I would never get to the end. Brandon Sanderson has picked up the numerous story threads and truly has weaved them seamlessly with the first eleven books in the series. In a way the story "moved" more in this book than the past couple of books and I am anxiously awaiting the final (hopefully as described by Sanderson in the forward) two books. Twenty plus years is a long time to devote to one story, can't wait for the ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, not great

    I was pleasantly surprised to not feel a significant difference in the way the story was told by Sanderson vs Robert Jordan. There were some great revelations (e.g., Black Ajah), resolutions, and long awaited character transformations (ending). I still feel that the books have been less satisfying since Lord of Chaos, but maybe all of the tension building (leading to reader frustration) has been purposeful. This book did relieve some of that pressure, leaving me really looking forward to further revelation in the last 2 books. Thank you, Mr. Sanderson for being willing to engage in this massive undertaking. It would have been such a disappointment to have left this story unfinished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    good start to the finish

    for someone coming into the story after the death of Jordan, Sanderson has done a great job bringing his style to the story. I was afraid that using someone else to finsih the story would not work. I am pleased with the outcome. I am looking forward to the finish of this journey. Sanderson's wrting style is simple and straight forward. I was pleased that the bullies in the story finaly were called down. I highly recomend this bool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Something happened I am sure?

    The reading was great and I enjoyed this book - the chapters moved faster than any of the most recent books in the series.
    Spoiler








    If you wanted this book to move the story along, then you would be mistaken. Only a couple of items get resolved in 800 pages or less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brandon Sanderson follows in his predecessor's footsteps well.

    Like all the other books in the series, The Gathering Storm is unique and expressive. The plot continues to intrigue readers from start to finish and its originality is top notch.
    My only problem with this book is that it continues a trend from several of the books before it. You finish it, put it down, try to summarize how it moved the plot forward, and realize that after over a thousand pages, very little was actually done. A few of the uncountable lose ends was wrapped up, and that was about it.
    Still, I plan very much on following this series to the end, and while I feel that this should have happened a long time ago, the books are well written and original enough to keep me going until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A nice improvement...

    I was a bit apprehensive about reading book #12 after Jordan's last 3 books. However, I am satisfied with the outcome. Sanderson's style brings a some life back into a series I began reading 20 years ago. It reminded me why I enjoyed this series so much from books 1-8. I'm looking forward to the final two books in the series.

    Please do something about the cover art!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOT #12

    The only criticism I can give is that this book was not written by Jordan. It is depressing to read his work not knowing which parts are Jordan's original notes and which are Sanderson trying to compensate for not being Jordan. I was annoyed that he did not atleast keep his style of grouping the character's actions together, rather than spreading their individual stories throughout the book. Jordan made areas for the reader to have a natural place to stop. Sanderson leaves you hanging with every chapter and after eleven books its just wrong and after only three chapters it just annoys. Not everyone can put their life on hold to read the entire book at one time. The plot is good,but then of course its Jordan's, so it couldn't go badly anyway. I just wish the book wasn't split. I understand that it is too much information to be put in one book but this torture of putting one book out a year is evil. I mean after all this time you torture the readers further.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Awesome

    This is a great book. I was afraid another author couldn't "measure up" but Sanderson does. The plot merges seamlessly with the previous books. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You need a fireplace

    GATHER THE KIDS ROUND AND READ'EM THIS ONE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sanderson Picks up the Torch

    I was admittedly skeptical about someone attempting to fill Jordan's shoes, especially a newer author. Yet, the story positions itself as the rightful sequel to a decades-long saga, and deserves to be placed alongside the other novels on my shelf.
    Sanderson (and/or Jordan) spun an interesting take on Rand in particular, which I felt was refreshing. The prior novels began to wear down on the story, while positioning the story with an incredible setting, seemingly settling little by way of the myriads of story arcs. This was not so in this book. Several story threads were effectively and satisfactorily tied off, and the feeling of the great battle (which all prior novels merely allude or advance the story arc a simply notch) was finally made to feel imminent.
    The spirits of the characters were maintained, though it seems the minutiae of emotions were not conveyed in the same manner as Jordan's previous Wheel of Time works. This only enhanced the story in my opinion, having grown tired of the characters' various mood swings and petty arguments.
    Overall, this is one of the best installments I have read in the past 6 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    Slow at first

    The book was great and I would have given it 5 stars, except it started very slow. There was a lot of set up for the next 2 books. It started to pick up speed about half way through, and when it got really good the book ended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    Sanderson did a good job

    Glad to see significant plot movement. Enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    don't worry, its in capable hands...

    first things first: no matter who took up the noble task of finishing Robert Jordan's masterpiece, it would not be as good as if Jordan himself could write it himself and us rabid fans would find areas to complain about. that being said, Brandon Sanderson does an excellent job. really. there are a couple of characters whose tone changed in a way i wasn't crazy about, like Mat in particular, and a couple of word choices or moments that seemed to jar with Jordans style, but overall, sanderson does very well. the plot focuses largely on Rand and Egwene and, yowza!, all you loyal readers will not be disappointed unless you are determined to be! i know there are many who had certain wish lists as to who would be a better choice but the dedication sanderson has demonstrated as well as his transparency as a fellow fan of the series, make up for any lack. most other writers, i imagine, would be either not interested, or too busy with their own work. i think brandon sandersons work proves the wisdom of Harriot Rigney's(Robert Jordans wife) choice in selecting him. by the way, check out Sandersons own books. they are quite enjoyable, especially the Mistborn series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    It's Coming to a Conclusion!

    Brandon Sanderson did a great job giving the feel of Jordan's writing. Things are moving along quickly and events and characters are getting tied up. It was very satisfying after waiting so long and I wished I could have read it slower. If you stopped reading the series and are not sure you want to finish it, this book will get you excited once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Much Improved

    Mr. Sanderson has done an excellent job, considering he is finishing one of the most infamous fantasy epics of all time. Anyone who has read the series agrees that Mr. Jordan lost his vision in the last few books, droning on and on AND ON...pretty much about nothing. The beginning of this book is slow. Very slow. Wade through it though and hit the midway point... it's Sanderson all the way. Action, suspense...he does an incredible job of bringing fresh life to some old characters and punches up the storyline with actual EVENTS and not simply dialogue. He's toned down the hyper-overbearing nature of the female characters a lot (still WAY too much regarding them, which is a little annoying) and the male characters have actually grown spines. I'm not sure why it's imperitive that everyone "couple up"...it's like a high school dance. Still, much improved from the last several books in the series. Nice job and overall, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Brandon Sanderson delivers on keeping Robert Jordan's story alive

    The pacing and narrative feel of the book are totally Robert Jordan. I would highly recommend this book to anyone. I am looking forward to the next two books but also feel sad that the series will end. But what a send off for Jordan. His great writing ability lives on and the strength he gave this saga continues. A great series and legacy for all Jordan fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    exciting

    very good , i;ve wated a long time for the finish. can;t wait for the next , one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sanderson Masterfully Picks Up The Reins for the Wheel of Time Series

    While I've read, and liked, nearly everything published (non-YA) by Sanderson, I started reading The Gathering Storm with a chip on my shoulder. And the Prologue disappointed me a bit. It just didn't feel right. The more I read, however, the better I felt. By the end of the novel, I honestly couldn't tell you what parts were authored by Jordan and which were authored by Sanderson.

    Since this is the twelfth book of the Wheel of Time series, I'm going to avoid any kind of plot synopsis and spoilers. I will say the story moved forward significantly in this volume. I am very pleased with the ending, not so much that it stands alone, but that it was a logical place to stop in the story arc(s).

    For my full review, please visit http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/57878170.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9