Customer Reviews for

A Gathering of Light

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

I loved it!

I love this story! I almost skipped it when it didn't grab me in the first few pages but after that I lost a nights sleep. This is one I can joyfully endorse. ;-)
There are a few grammatical errors but not enough to distract too much. I would rate it PG if it were a m...
I love this story! I almost skipped it when it didn't grab me in the first few pages but after that I lost a nights sleep. This is one I can joyfully endorse. ;-)
There are a few grammatical errors but not enough to distract too much. I would rate it PG if it were a movie.
The story is full and eventful. Some parts are predictable, as they should be, but others are sweetly surprising!
I hope you enjoy it as well! Of, the frosting on the cake is it is currently free!

posted by 5557061 on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Didn't finish

The combination of a civil war and paranormal just seemed strange to me. I did attempt to read it but gave up after about half the book.

posted by Hardegree on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    I loved it!

    I love this story! I almost skipped it when it didn't grab me in the first few pages but after that I lost a nights sleep. This is one I can joyfully endorse. ;-)
    There are a few grammatical errors but not enough to distract too much. I would rate it PG if it were a movie.
    The story is full and eventful. Some parts are predictable, as they should be, but others are sweetly surprising!
    I hope you enjoy it as well! Of, the frosting on the cake is it is currently free!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    A Heart Warming Read

    I enjoyed reading about the power of healing and acceptance. Love and its power play a strong role in this lovely tale. I recommend it but there are parts that are a bit rough to read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    An excellent book. I laughed, I cried, and I could not put it do

    An excellent book. I laughed, I cried, and I could not put it down. It has a rough situation in it, but if you can get past that, the book is amazing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Great story during Civil War but sad

    I liked the book. A woman with healing powers heals a union soldier and they fall in love even through a tradegy. I found a good part of this book either sad or them going through trials but it's one where once you start reading it you want to know how it ends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Interesting premise.

    I really enjoyed this book. A different spin on romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great story..

    I almost didn't read this so glad i did. Some heartache but a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a delightful tale of an exceptional young woman with spe

    This is a delightful tale of an exceptional young woman with special abilities, living in Virginia during
    the time of the Civil War.  She was an orphan living alone with only one close friend and her son who
    lived on the next farm over. The son, especially, aided her in various ways.

    The tale details how this young woman, among other attributes, helps heal a badly injured Union
    soldier... thus, a true friendship formed between them.  She endures a tremendous trial after he leaves.
    The plot continues to expand after the war ended.

    The story was well-written and smoothly "flowed" from one scene to the next. The characters developed
     seemed very real. The portrayal of the supporting scenes was very effective.

    This would be a perfect family story... except for some profanity - which could easily have been avoided.

    My review of this book offers a Four Stars rating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Hard to put down

    I really enjoyed this book! The author did a good job of handling the problems that people with special gifts, such as healing or easing pain, contend with; it was also a good love story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    A joy to read.

    Sweet, brilliant, and wonderfully told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Good book

    Good book would love it to have a sequel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Good story

    Some typos like missing words or wrong grammer tenses, mostly a warm loving story told like diary entries

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Readingnana

    I really enjoyed this book. It isn't just the same old story of girl meets boy. It has tragity and horror but it also has love, undetstanding and acceptance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Check it out

    Will recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Very nice

    Very nice story. It had me on an emotional rollar coaster there for a bit, but I was happy to see it come to such a pleasantly sweet end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Historical romance with a paranormal twist

    Heartwarming love story. Loveable characters. Wonderful depiction of day-to-day farm life in the mid 1800s. The healing "gift", while not believable, was interesting to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    This book did not grab me right away, I will admit.  I did like

    This book did not grab me right away, I will admit.  I did like it, but I didn't feel really drawn in, like I was losing myself.  That's usually how i feel if I love a book.  But, I kept reading and I'm really glad I did.  I really enjoyed this book.  I was actually hoping there was a sequel.  She definitely left herself open to writing a sequel.  :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this rather sweet story. Its a rather "novel" idea for a story and I wasnt sure if it was one I would like, but I'm a sucker for a sweet romance told well. Ending was abrupt, however. One of my Free Friday books! Yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Great story

    I enjoyed the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2