Customer Reviews for

Gauntlgrym (Neverwinter Saga #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 443 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(298)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Grinning Over Gauntlgrym

A book written with joy and love for the characters protrayed: old friends, indeed, spanning 20-plus years of the author's life; a philosophical musing on Life, Purpose, and Fulfillment clothed in rich and fine garments of Good vs Evil, High Adventure, Heritage and Trad...
A book written with joy and love for the characters protrayed: old friends, indeed, spanning 20-plus years of the author's life; a philosophical musing on Life, Purpose, and Fulfillment clothed in rich and fine garments of Good vs Evil, High Adventure, Heritage and Tradition, Friendship and Love. RA Salvatore's Gauntlgrym will move you, I unabahedly assert, and will bring tears to your eye - tears of joy, of just reward - by the time you finish the epilogue.

I will only add, then say no more - for you should experience this read as a well-earned, joyous discovery much like a certain Dwarf King does when arriving, after a lifetime's faith and questing, at a particular throne room - that you will find humor, comfort, satisfaction, and pleasure in Mr. Salvatore's latest be you a long-time fantasy afficionado or newly come to the genre.

May we all be so blessed, after a long life well-lived, to have the opportunity to say,"I found it, Elf."

posted by Phillybrarian on October 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

NookBook $2 more !?!?!?

Why is the Nook version $2 more than the paperback? Was I mistaken when I thought Ebooks would be cheaper because there's no multiple printings, ink, shipping, etc. involved. I mean, transfer it to digital form, put it on a download server (B&N), and sell it many times ...
Why is the Nook version $2 more than the paperback? Was I mistaken when I thought Ebooks would be cheaper because there's no multiple printings, ink, shipping, etc. involved. I mean, transfer it to digital form, put it on a download server (B&N), and sell it many times over without all the overhead. So, why is it more expensive? Am I being gouged because they know it's becoming a prefered way of reading and they are greedy bastards? Or is there something here I just don't know about. I am a big fan of Salvatore's characters, but, I WILL NOT buy this book until the Nook version is either the same price as the paperback or cheaper (cheaper prefered). Is someone out there listening?!

posted by TiredOfBeingRippedOff on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Grinning Over Gauntlgrym

    A book written with joy and love for the characters protrayed: old friends, indeed, spanning 20-plus years of the author's life; a philosophical musing on Life, Purpose, and Fulfillment clothed in rich and fine garments of Good vs Evil, High Adventure, Heritage and Tradition, Friendship and Love. RA Salvatore's Gauntlgrym will move you, I unabahedly assert, and will bring tears to your eye - tears of joy, of just reward - by the time you finish the epilogue.

    I will only add, then say no more - for you should experience this read as a well-earned, joyous discovery much like a certain Dwarf King does when arriving, after a lifetime's faith and questing, at a particular throne room - that you will find humor, comfort, satisfaction, and pleasure in Mr. Salvatore's latest be you a long-time fantasy afficionado or newly come to the genre.

    May we all be so blessed, after a long life well-lived, to have the opportunity to say,"I found it, Elf."

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Write your reviews based on the quality of the literary work, not Barnes and Noble's pricing

    I like the new tact Salvatore has taken beginning with the "Transitions" series. The one flaw I had always found with Salvatore's literary works was his habit of following the same set pattern, time after time the protagonists of his novels would defy impossible odds yet come out of their ordeals virtually unscathed while achieving the best possible outcomes of their endeavors. The grand scale of his character's achievements have now been realistically counterbalanced with disappointment and loss. It must have been painful for Salvatore to say goodbye to memorable heros such as Breunor and Pwent, Wulfgar and Cattie-Brie, Regis and Deudermont but the sadness and sense of loss that result from their passing have only served to illustrate that Salvatore is only getting better at his craft, improving on near perfection. This book did not disappoint, Salvatore included all of his classic elements, richly detailed battle scenes, a near intoxicating storyline and his own personal writing flair that doesn't allow a reader to stop reading while introducing intriguing new characters, each with their own subtle complexities. And above all, an epic, heroic and worthy end to the greatest dwarven king ever conceived. And Salvatore still knows how to keep his readers in suspense, this book instilled in me an almost manic desire to hear Barrabus the Gray called by his true name.... I higly recommend this novel, it is another Salvatore masterpiece, well worth the cost in any of its forms despite the reviews of some readers who value a low cost above a fine literary work.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Another fantastic book for Dritz fans...

    This is another great book for Dritz fans. Absolutely excellent!!! (The next part of my review may be seen as kind of a spoiler, so you may not want to read my following comments.) However, it did sadden me that the Dritz and the usual storylines that I am used to will be no more after this book. This book closes a chapter of Dritz's life and leads toward an entirely new setting in the books to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Awesome

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    I AM IN LOVE WITH A BOOK CHARACTER!!!!!!!!

    Drizzt Do Urden is a great warrior. In this series, he is teamed with a dwarf whom he has shared many adventures with King Bruenor Battlehammer. During the first book they venture throughout the land of Faerun in search of the legendary lost Dwarf city of Gauntlgrym. In the book there are many mindblowing battle scenes in which against all odds the mighty dwarf king, and the legendary drow ranger prevail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    I've a question.

    My friend got me the whole Neverwinter saga and based on the comments, there is apparently prior books. Would I have to read the other books to understand what is happening or is this a stand alone series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    awesome

    another well told story by a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    The Dwarves have it!

    R.A. Salvatore fans will want to get in on the ground floor of this new, three book, series - if you're up for the excitement. We hear so much about books that keep you on the edge of your seat from page one and he's been doing that for years. So here we go again.

    Spoilers aren't helpful, so you don't need to know the degree of trouble faced by dark elf Dritz and dwarf King Breuner of Mithril Hall as they pursue Breuner's long held dream. On the other hand, you DO need to read about it and meet the new characters they encounter along the way. There are battle scenes you won't believe and only catch yourself starting to breathe again when they end. Now - go out and get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    AMAZING

    This book is amazing another mind blower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Wow, what a ride!

    Very good book, one of Salvatore's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Another great story!

    Once again Salvatore tells an amazing story following Drizzt and knocks it out of the park!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    <3

    love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Awesome

    As always, Salvatore is one of the best. The characters he has created will live on forever in this generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    TAP ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was a wonderful book. Anyone who didn't enjoy it either hasn't read Salvatore's books before or they just don't quite enjoy fantasy as the rest of us do. Salvatore will always be the best. If you liked this book, I recommend the Cleric Quintet (the story of Cadderly).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Another great Drizzt tale!

    Excellent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly enjoyable if you enjoy the other Drizzt novels

    The reviews I read had me skeptical about this one, but I enjoy Salvatore's Drizzt novels so I was going to read it any way. I found it to be just as enjoyable as many of the others and kept me entertained to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Battle hammer

    Out standing and now for new adventures with new friends of Drizz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Wow

    Once again i couldnt put the story down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Anonymous

    I hear you... but thi book is only six dollars, I don't know WHERE you got twelve fifty!!! Great read, blah blah blah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Drizzt fans will love this

    Drizzt fighting? check. World run amok? check. Another story plot where lots of changes are going to happen? check. Yet another book that will please the majority of Drizzt fans all over the world. The last trilogy (Transitions) was one that took me a while to get used to. It could have been because of the drastic changes happening to Drizzt, or it could have been the writing style (I found some parts to be extremely slow) but Gauntlgrym calmed my fears and woes. I could not put down this book while I was reading it.

    The plot was most definitely a good read and as exciting as I thought it would be. The action is consistent with all of Salvatore's novels and I'm glad that has not changed. Drizzt has changed, whether for better or for worse we're still not sure. His development as a character is still wonderful to read and it's always amazing to see him develop - especially when you think he's already reached his limit (or maybe he has?) The pace was definitely faster than most of Salvatore's novels - yet that could be because I was just so engrossed with the overall plot and how the story was going.

    Again, as usual it's always nice to see other beloved characters from Salvatore's other works to make an appearance. I've always enjoyed (and squeed) when Valas Hune came along as he's one of my favorite characters outside of Drizzt and his circle of friends also to note, Gromph also appears as well (another squee came from me when I read this part). So seeing a cameo appearance from him was nice to see in this book. There are new characters to add, and Dahlia of course, is the most fascinating one of all. I liked her personality and she was a strong character that could possibly be a potential fighting companion to fight alongside Drizzt, they did seem to fight along really well together. I am really looking forward to reading more about her, as she seems to be a great idea for yet another plot for Drizzt to deal with.

    Drizzt fans will be happy with this book. It opens up quite a few possibilities for Drizzt to explore, and with a new set of characters there's a lot more in store for him. There are also quite a few changes, and although it was sad to see some of the other characters go, I am hoping the new ones will keep Drizzt adventures going for yet another fantastic round. Fans will love this one, and newbies should read the entire Drizzt saga from the beginning in order to fully appreciate it. I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15