BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gauntlgrym (Neverwinter Saga #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 446 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(299)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Grinning Over Gauntlgrym

A book written with joy and love for the characters protrayed: old friends, indeed, spanning 20-plus years of the author's life; a philosophical musing on Life, Purpose, and Fulfillment clothed in rich and fine garments of Good vs Evil, High Adventure, Heritage and Trad...
A book written with joy and love for the characters protrayed: old friends, indeed, spanning 20-plus years of the author's life; a philosophical musing on Life, Purpose, and Fulfillment clothed in rich and fine garments of Good vs Evil, High Adventure, Heritage and Tradition, Friendship and Love. RA Salvatore's Gauntlgrym will move you, I unabahedly assert, and will bring tears to your eye - tears of joy, of just reward - by the time you finish the epilogue.

I will only add, then say no more - for you should experience this read as a well-earned, joyous discovery much like a certain Dwarf King does when arriving, after a lifetime's faith and questing, at a particular throne room - that you will find humor, comfort, satisfaction, and pleasure in Mr. Salvatore's latest be you a long-time fantasy afficionado or newly come to the genre.

May we all be so blessed, after a long life well-lived, to have the opportunity to say,"I found it, Elf."

posted by Phillybrarian on October 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

NookBook $2 more !?!?!?

Why is the Nook version $2 more than the paperback? Was I mistaken when I thought Ebooks would be cheaper because there's no multiple printings, ink, shipping, etc. involved. I mean, transfer it to digital form, put it on a download server (B&N), and sell it many times ...
Why is the Nook version $2 more than the paperback? Was I mistaken when I thought Ebooks would be cheaper because there's no multiple printings, ink, shipping, etc. involved. I mean, transfer it to digital form, put it on a download server (B&N), and sell it many times over without all the overhead. So, why is it more expensive? Am I being gouged because they know it's becoming a prefered way of reading and they are greedy bastards? Or is there something here I just don't know about. I am a big fan of Salvatore's characters, but, I WILL NOT buy this book until the Nook version is either the same price as the paperback or cheaper (cheaper prefered). Is someone out there listening?!

posted by TiredOfBeingRippedOff on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 299 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Good read

    I highly enjoyed this novel. Im sad at the loss of characters we all know and love but salvatore knows how to tell a story. By the way, it can take a couple weeks for a new book in paperback to have its price adjusted to where it should be. All those complaining about prices are fools. The price is now less than it is in store. Learn to wait before rating, kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Great way to start a new chapter

    Salvatore did a splendid job in starting a new chapter in Drizzt's life. The author's writing has come along way since we first me Drizzt all those years ago. I would highly recommend this book to all who love RA Salvatore and for those just looking for a fun read. I do feel that the people who will get the most out of this book are those who have read the previous books about Drizzt and his comrades. However, being that this book starts a new beginning for Drizzt, its not a bad place to jump into the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Great Book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Another gem

    Salvatore does it again. I wish it was linger but a great drizzit addition reguardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Amazing

    Sadly, i read this first, and then transitions second ( the second one) but even so i really felt the love and frustration and hope they all had. Then i read the first transitions book. The two transition books that i have read are amazing! Then i came to the legend of Drizzt sieries. Drizzt is the best character ever made besides the three from the sieries The Dwarves... read it awhile ago, so i can't remember the author, but he's German. Boindil and his twin brother along side the main character and Drizzt wouls make an unstoppable force! The first Drizzt book was the best( tied with The Dwarves and somme other Drizzt books) i recommend it strongly. I also recommend.Dissolution: the war of the spider queen and The Lady Pentinent sieries. Enjoy R.A. Salvatores books. And to the earlier comment, what else could you do with a fantasy incuding majic and swords! All of the forgotten realms books have fighting at every corner... Salvatore makes itinteresting, so i don't know what you are doing reading this if you dont like a little action... and interesting action too. Keep on rockin' Salvatore you're doing great! I love your books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    ggreat book/story

    finally a easy to follow story line and not a million and one differant story lines going on at once. hope this series last for a while

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    Stop with spoilers

    Just don't post a review if you just can't stop yourself from putting in spoilers. Some people haven't read it yet you know. And maybe you intentionally want to spoil it, well I hope B&N can fix it soon so people like you cannot have your "fun" here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    J.R.R. Tolkien is my favorite fantasy author and R.A. Salvatore is a close second after reading Gauntlgrym.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great new book for the Drizzt series

    At the end of this book it was sad to see two heros from Drizzt world die. What I can say they died as heroes. Long live Bruenor Battlehammer and Thibbledorf Pwent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Salvatore keeps the legend alive

    Drizzt is easily one of the most recognizable characters in the Fantasy genre and there is a reason for that. Salvatore is honestly one of the best at his craft. A concern, unfounded obviously, is that the legend of Drizzt would start to slow down after several main characters have departed from the series, however Salvatore brings new characters into the fold so easily and detailed that it was like the reader already knew the characters we're waiting in the wings for their chance in the spotlight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Outstanding!

    A great addition to the stories of Drizzt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    One of the best R.A. Salvatore books out there!

    I have had honor of reading all Drizzt books. This book to me is right up there with Homeland and the Icewind Trilogy. He is one of the best writers for this type of books. Brings everything he writes about to life. Great book! If you love Drizzt the way I do, then you can not miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    "Long live the King."

    This is the first time that I've had a hard time getting into a book from Salvatore, but once I got a few chapters into the book I couldn't stop. I've only been following this series for a couple of years now and I was EXTREMELY touched by how this book unfolded. There is great loss in this book, but even greater joy. I know one other reviewer said this book will bring tears to your eyes, he wasn't kidding. I've grown so attached to some of the characters that it hurts to see what happens. I look forward to Neverwinter Book II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Another One

    Another great and fantastic book to add to the others. Great work Salvatore, great work...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    Wonderful...

    I have been reading R.A Salvatore since high school and he never disappoints. I actually shed a tear reading his last two books, I can't wait for the next one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    A New Beginning

    All I can say after having just finished this amazing book is wow. Salvatore has been writing these novels since I was born and I didn't get into them until I hit my twenty's and I am so glad I did. The previous novels especially the most recent started to read very similar and I started to lose faith in the Drizzt Novels. Gaunlgrym recaptured my imagination in unimaginable ways. This novel feels and reads like Salvatore is finally turning over a new leaf with new and exciting adventures for us all. Though sad to see some characters leave story line it is time for us all to move on to the new things Salvatore has in store for us. Never have I known such a character that supplements my favorite drow so very well and look forward to where they will go next. If your picking up this novel I trust you have read his previous work All I have to say is be prepared for a little heart break a lot of pulse pounding action and excitement about the future. I personally cant wait until next October. I feel like I just Rediscovered Drizzt and fell in love all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 299 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15