Customer Reviews for

Gears of War: Coalition's End

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The fourth Gears of War tied to the games is a terrific entry

It seems like ancient history when the war of the world began, but in fact it is just fifteen years since the Locust Horde came from within to assault the humans (see Aspho Fields). Their objective was total annihilation of all humans. Mankind fought back though billi...
It seems like ancient history when the war of the world began, but in fact it is just fifteen years since the Locust Horde came from within to assault the humans (see Aspho Fields). Their objective was total annihilation of all humans. Mankind fought back though billions died as the ruthless enemy made no distinction between soldier and civilian.

The Gears of the Coalition of Ordered Governments (COG) destroy what is left of civilization though they defeated their insidious foe and another powerful adversary at one hellish cost (see Jacinto's Remnant and Anvil Gate). The survivors take refuge on Vectes, a difficult to reach isolated island. As the COG begins to argue, haven turns to hell when the mutilating Lambent begin a deadly assault which explains why the Locust left the underground to fight on the surface. Marcus Fenix and Dom Santiago know a last stand on Vectes is suicide as the polyps make the tickers and berserkers look benign; the only place left for the dwindling few humans are the equally suicidal Wastelands.

The fourth Gears of War tied to the games is a terrific entry as Karen Travis provides a fascinating spin to the military science fiction saga with the motive to the recent global war of destruction. The story line showcases the desperation humanity faces as the remaining two survival choices will remind readers of Joshua playing Tic-Tac-Toe in WarGames as each solution facing humans leads to total annihilation. Although there is somewhat a similar tone to Anvil Gate, fans of the Gears of War universe will enjoy action-packed Coalition's End as things have gotten dramatically worse enhanced by a major betrayal for the human race.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lol

This reminds me of Halo's flood enemy.

posted by Anonymous on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The fourth Gears of War tied to the games is a terrific entry

    It seems like ancient history when the war of the world began, but in fact it is just fifteen years since the Locust Horde came from within to assault the humans (see Aspho Fields). Their objective was total annihilation of all humans. Mankind fought back though billions died as the ruthless enemy made no distinction between soldier and civilian.

    The Gears of the Coalition of Ordered Governments (COG) destroy what is left of civilization though they defeated their insidious foe and another powerful adversary at one hellish cost (see Jacinto's Remnant and Anvil Gate). The survivors take refuge on Vectes, a difficult to reach isolated island. As the COG begins to argue, haven turns to hell when the mutilating Lambent begin a deadly assault which explains why the Locust left the underground to fight on the surface. Marcus Fenix and Dom Santiago know a last stand on Vectes is suicide as the polyps make the tickers and berserkers look benign; the only place left for the dwindling few humans are the equally suicidal Wastelands.

    The fourth Gears of War tied to the games is a terrific entry as Karen Travis provides a fascinating spin to the military science fiction saga with the motive to the recent global war of destruction. The story line showcases the desperation humanity faces as the remaining two survival choices will remind readers of Joshua playing Tic-Tac-Toe in WarGames as each solution facing humans leads to total annihilation. Although there is somewhat a similar tone to Anvil Gate, fans of the Gears of War universe will enjoy action-packed Coalition's End as things have gotten dramatically worse enhanced by a major betrayal for the human race.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended if you like Gears of War series.

    Karen Traviss continues write great books by writing this book, most likely the last book in the series. I really like this book it helps explain how the COG ended, it also shows more off some character's background before the first game, like how Cole and Baird met and became friends and also how Dizzy end up becoming a Gear. It's a book that really dark but there bright spots, expectantly the last 40 pages. I made sure that I read this before I even thought of playing Gears of War 3, because these books helps me understand the games better. I personally suggest that anyone who like to play the Gears of War game series to read this book series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Good

    Looks like a good book alright

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Buy for ALL Gears Fans!

    Gears of War (for those of you who are not gamers) is the action packed 3rd-person shooter from Epic Studios. There are 3 games in the series; with the last one released this past September. Gears of War: Coalition's End takes place between Gears of War: Anvil Gate and Gears of War 3, bridging the gap between the third book and the third game. It is a welcomed addition to the Gears universe, offering insight to Emergence Day, while shedding light onto other questions readers have had in the past. For any Gears of War fan this book is a definite must-read! Overall I found Coalition's End to be one of the best books in the Gears or War series. It works well as a standalone title; however I do recommend reading the previous novels (and maybe playing the games) so that one can get a better understanding of the characters, the Gears universe, and the basic story arc. Traviss's strengths are depicted through her descriptions and attention to detail. Most of the time I felt as if I was in the middle of the fight as one of the Polyps rose from the ground. Action scenes are definitely one of the best parts of this novel. This book is also emotionally charged taking readers into the psyche of several of our beloved characters. Told in the standard Gears fashion of 'flashbacks', there is a prevalent theme of fighting through the odds, pulling together, and not losing focus or hope. Humanity is on the brink of extension and it is felt on every page. Despite having flashbacks in this novel (which I feel is overused in these books), Traviss does an excellent job of engaging readers. I must admit there were a few times I zoned out because of flashbacks and how they pulled me out of the story. A full chapter in the present and another full chapter in the past can be a little overwhelming. But I continued to trudge through them because the story was still excellent. If you are the type of reader who does not enjoy the type of story that has this constant back and forth/past and present drilled into a book, then you might not make it to the end. This is probably my only complaint about the book, because in my humble opinion, it divided my attention and never let me fully stay in the midst of the current action/objective. Gears of War: Coalition's End is an awesome must-buy for all Gears fans. It's well written, engaging, and a great Science Fiction adventure. Expect blood and gore, emotional highs and lows, questions to be answered and some left open to be referenced in the game. It's a ride that will take you full steam ahead and prepare you for what's to come if you still haven't played Gears of War 3.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Ronnie says

    Ive played 1 2 and 3 and beat them all! I have a passion for the game and books! And only one word to describe them, amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Awsome

    To the frickin Cog

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Addition to the Gears Canon

    this book, along with the other 3, is simply amazing. I love how it goes into such an emotional depth about how everyone needs to pull together to survive in their darkest hour, and how betrayal can ultimately cost people everything. It's definitely a must read for fans who want to backstory between Gears of War 2 & 3, especially since this book ends where Gears of War 3 begins. A must have for all fans of the series, and an excellent read for people trying to get started. The Charecters are nicely flushed out, showing how people with absolute knowledge can feel so down trodden when faced with something they don't understand, and how humanity, as a whole, has the power to pull themselves together and in the face of absolute adversary. By this book, it's well worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Is thithe firsts

    Iis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Gow4

    The best book and anybpdy who says it should be put in a game. It is. Called Gears Of War 3. Pay attention.
    From xxWoodsxxKia5xx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Ttttttttttttttt

    Toxic do not read

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Do not buy

    Thus book is terrible an so is the author i have read multip books by her and throught tje who thing tjere is no action or conflict at all book deservs no stars

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Hell yeah

    It should have been like the game

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Witch book is first?

    Witch book is the first?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Help

    Can some one plese tell me that is it a good book before I buy it.(I now It looks like a good book)?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Hi

    It looks good but is it worth it i love gears but some 1 tell me if it is really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    GOW3

    Listen up people i have tragic news! Dom Santiago is dead! He sacraficed himself in gears of war 3 so evryone else can live. Gears of war 3 is the final game in the gaming series when the war ends. Survivors are Marcus, Anya, Cole, and Baird

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    H

    G

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4