Customer Reviews for

Gears of War: Jacinto's Remnant

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    &ldash

    &edash

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    My opinion.

    Great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    DOMMM

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book. If you like the Gears of War video games then this i

    Great book. If you like the Gears of War video games then this is a great book for you. But i recommend that you read Gears of War: Aspho Fields first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Njh

    Fff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Is thus the first one

    I vant to know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Another hit in the Gears series.

    I read this book immediatly after reading Karen's first Gears book " Aspho Fields" . Jacinto's Reminent does not fail to keep you on the edge of your seat, even though there is less action than "Aspho Fields". Karen lets you explore even more into all our favorite gears heads and feelings. I did like that she focused a little more on Hoffmen's, Prescott's, and Adam Fenix's thoughts and burdens with the difficult choice at hand. I love the Gears of War universe and its characters. Karen Traviss has done a marvelous job in expanding the Gears universe. True Gears fans will not be disapointed wih Jacintos Remnant. On my way to read the next installment "Anvil Gate".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    I do nkot know to dayy

    Bic boi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Great story line

    I love the games. Its the story line that is the best. When ifound this book i couldnt put it down. It has backgrounds on the game characters, which is my favorite part. Not only that, if you have played the games, but you get see how Dom coups with his wifes death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    great book for GearHeads

    This is a great book for Gearheads who loved the video game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good, understanding it's role in the saga

    Karen Traviss brings another thriller to the shelves with Jacinto's Remnant.
    First off, the book set is also a good read for non-Gears of War followers who are interested in Science Fiction and/or moral stories and dilemmas. The first book is great for action junkies and is fairly necessary back-story to keep up with the second book where not only are personal morals discussed and compared but, whether on purpose or not, it seems to me that Karen Traviss (and the game producers I presume) have found a scenario where a communist/totalitarian society is effective and debatabley necessary. I'm a die hard democracy lover yet I agree with communist/totalitarian necessities of the circumstances within the book. It's an interestingly different world to dive into.

    To confirm other reviews, there is less action than in the previous book but, perhaps it's because of the amount of time it's been since I read the first book, I feel that the action in this second book is more hair-raising and literally edge-of-your-seat than that of the first. To a person, such as myself, who finds the story behind Gears of War fascinating, the book was several things:
    1. A great look into the minds of all of the characters in the story (The book consistently changes from one persons viewpoint to another in order to supply this, brilliant idea). I agree that the book spends a little too much time dwelling on Bernie (there's several reasons I can think of to explain this but none are justified in my mind). She is an important character that you will find is like a connecting piece between all of the other characters. However, I just don't find her as interesting of a person to discover as the original characters from the video games. This isn't to say that everyone else is left stagnant. There is plenty revealed about the morals and personas behind everyone else, I just can't get enough of them all! Karen does an unbelievable job of describing the characters in ways that make the reader understand them too deep to describe. It blows my mind. Marcus is who I'm especially addicted too. Come to think of it, I don't think you ever have Marcus's point of view. But even so, I think Karen paid extra-special attention to him because if you pay enough attention you still learn every dimension of how Marcus thinks and how he's ALWAYS thinking like the genius he is.
    Unfortunately, major plot lines foreshadowing events of the 3rd game are blatantly lacking. However, I am positive this is completely on purpose, a request from the game designers to make sure the unknowing feeling we were left with in the second game was maintained, even for the hard-core followers. I found that the second book left me more in the dark as to the story for the third game. There are more leads but just as many more questions. Overall its a worthwhile read. It satisfies a followers side curiosities while deepening the major plot mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    just like the company, this book is epic.

    right from the beginning the book grabs you by the throat with great intensity.

    even if you may know certain factors from the start, (like some people not dieing, among others(i don't want to spoil anything)) but it still keeps you guessing, and intrigued. a perfect addition to the series, and im looking forward with great anticipation for 8/31/10 so i can get book three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    A gift

    This book was a gift to my son. He enjoyed the game and the first book so wanted to continue with the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Continuation to the Gears of War story.

    I played through Gears of War 1 and 2, and i loved the story in both games. That made me buy the 1st GoW book, and with that made me buy this one. Karen Traviss made this book just as good, if not better then the 1st GoW book.
    Gears of War Jacintos Remnant, takes place right after the ending of Gears of War 2. It tells the story of how the COG army attempts to take care of the citizens of Jacinto after having to destroy it to defeat the locust threat. It talks about the hardships that they face, new and old enemys, and what they do to make life good for the citizens.
    Characters that were only in the books, and characters that went missing in the game return to make the story even better in this book. It brings up old hardships that get better over time and even the main characters change during the corse of the book.
    Overall this is a very great book. I highly recommend you get this book, the other, and both games so you can enjoy the full story of this terrific series. Hopefully Karen Traviss will impress us even more with her next GoW book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great follow-up for game players!

    If you play the game, this is a terrific follow-up to the second game. At the end of the second game, there is an enigmatic exclamation by Adam Fenix that says there is possibly a third game.
    This book gives players a chance to see what happens after the flooding of Jacinto. It gives insight into Anya and Marcus' relationship, shows a somewhat softer side of Baird, and shows Hoffman's respect for Marcus is almost fully restored.
    It also gives us an account of what happened in the days leading up to the Hammer of Dawn strikes, the days after,(which happened prior to the first game) and Delta's assistance in helping Dom Santiago through his emotional breakdown after he must euthanize his wife Maria.(if that sounds harsh,then you'll have to play the second game)
    If you play the games you will like this book. If you don't play the games, it might seem like a story that has had parts left out of it.
    On the whole, this is a terrific book, and the author does an outstanding job of giving us more of the characters that we have come to love in the games.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Piece of Story in the Gears world!

    I just finished this book last night, and I would have to say that this book was really good. It really placed a good perspective on imagine what it was like for the Gears and citizens to have to go through the ordeal of sinking humanities last remaining fortified city, and having to face the elements and remaining Locust as they searched for a new and livable place to try and begin rebuilding humanity. Not only that, but it deeply portrayed the emotional struggle of certain Gears grieving for loved ones or those Gears trying to deal with bad things that had happened in the past, and delved into the ways in which each Gear found to try and cope with them, each in their own unique way. This book was pretty emotional and deep, but also had some slight humor at the right times, and some good intense action. There is more to it, but I don't want to go into too much detail about it. Just pick it up and read it, though I would recommend starting with Aspho Fields first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One step forward, two steps back

    Takeing place directly after the Gears of War 2 game, we fallow Delta in the new quest for home.

    The is more to this book than the stranded and new life. It also covers the global assult of Sera (the planet) in hopes of eliminating the Locus. (If you played the game, it's when the Hammer of Dawn lasers shot down on the planet back story cinimatic.) It is during this time that we get to see a bit more of the past of Carlos and Maria, before her 10 year dissapence. And you get to understand why the 14 year fight seemed doomed from the start.

    The new life sections of the book don't really answer any of the question from Gears 2. Instead it follows the life (or what left of it) after Jacinto and that, even when peace is at hand, war is closer than realized. It is these sections that will most likely be referenced to in the third book.

    I recommend this book if you followed the Gears story and want to know the next step. Will Carlos really recover after finding his wife? Will Marcus and Anya actually express feelings both in general and for each other. Can the moral of survivors be picked up, or will they abandon hope and respect for their Governmnet.

    This book is the next step to some answers. Well written and true to characters, it is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    exciting science fiction thriller

    The last city on Sera, Jacinto is no longer livable as the Locust overwhelmed the final human stronghold. However, people fought back and drowned most if not all the insectoid enemy. A few thousand humans survived the bug debacle, but now must find shelter and food on a devastated planet after a fifteen year war.

    As people starts to rebuild, the elite Gears patrol though they are as emotionally and physically devastated as is the rest of humans they protect. The Locusts also remain a threat though not quite what it was. Perhaps the biggest danger comes from within as the Stranded left behind in Jacinto just before the laser destruction of the world occurred remain angry and afraid.

    The second Gears of War science fiction thriller (see ASPHO FIELDS), JACINTO'S REMNANT is an exciting action-packed tale that continues the escapades of the Gears game characters Marcus Fenix and Dom Santiago although the newcomer soldiers steal the show. Hardened Gears' vets make the plot work as they sympathize with the Stranded though they know their mission is to protect the other humans. Well written, but with that game feel, JACINTO'S REMNANT surprisingly can stand alone as a fun military science fiction thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5