Customer Reviews for

Geek Charming

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

This book was awesome! Such a fun read and I could not stop reading it until I was finished, unless I had to stop for whatever reason.
Geek Charming is a cute entertaining read about Dylan, a stuck up popular girl who owes this "geek" Josh a favor (there's of course mo...
This book was awesome! Such a fun read and I could not stop reading it until I was finished, unless I had to stop for whatever reason.
Geek Charming is a cute entertaining read about Dylan, a stuck up popular girl who owes this "geek" Josh a favor (there's of course more to this). He wants to be a film maker and in order to get into USC he needs to have a film. That's where Dylan and her two best best friends come in. Josh and Dylan end up having to spend more and more time together in order to get this film done. They both have their reasons for being involved in the making of this film but in the end, who knows what will happen. :D
This book is not predictable, so don't go thinking that you know what will end up happening in the end, because you're probably going to be wrong, surprised and happy about it especially since there is such a great message behind it.
I'll admit that I had a problem with the fact that the popular girl was so stereotypical, but I overall I can let that slide because it definitely did not get in the way of me enjoying the book or liking Dylan.
The narration in this book alternates between Dylan and Josh's POV so the reader really gets in the mind of both of the protagonist. I gotta say I loved knowing what each of the characters were thinking about certain situations. I also loved the funny things each characters said. I found myself laughing out loud at certain lines, so of course I had to share some of them (read below for more).
I do not understand why it is that Robin Palmer's books do not have more fans. I love her writing. This book was a really great, entertaining, YA book. I highly recommend it. Next I'm checking out her other book when I get the chance (read way below for more about this).
Isn't that cover beautiful! I especially love those shoes. :D
-tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

posted by robin_titan on February 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Movie

Disney channel has come upwith an awesome movie about this book I love it (:

posted by 618455 on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    This book was awesome! Such a fun read and I could not stop reading it until I was finished, unless I had to stop for whatever reason.
    Geek Charming is a cute entertaining read about Dylan, a stuck up popular girl who owes this "geek" Josh a favor (there's of course more to this). He wants to be a film maker and in order to get into USC he needs to have a film. That's where Dylan and her two best best friends come in. Josh and Dylan end up having to spend more and more time together in order to get this film done. They both have their reasons for being involved in the making of this film but in the end, who knows what will happen. :D
    This book is not predictable, so don't go thinking that you know what will end up happening in the end, because you're probably going to be wrong, surprised and happy about it especially since there is such a great message behind it.
    I'll admit that I had a problem with the fact that the popular girl was so stereotypical, but I overall I can let that slide because it definitely did not get in the way of me enjoying the book or liking Dylan.
    The narration in this book alternates between Dylan and Josh's POV so the reader really gets in the mind of both of the protagonist. I gotta say I loved knowing what each of the characters were thinking about certain situations. I also loved the funny things each characters said. I found myself laughing out loud at certain lines, so of course I had to share some of them (read below for more).
    I do not understand why it is that Robin Palmer's books do not have more fans. I love her writing. This book was a really great, entertaining, YA book. I highly recommend it. Next I'm checking out her other book when I get the chance (read way below for more about this).
    Isn't that cover beautiful! I especially love those shoes. :D
    -tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Movie

    Disney channel has come upwith an awesome movie about this book I love it (:

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Amazing!

    I loved the book and am so happy that it was turned into a movie! If you like this book, you will also enjoy Little Miss Red by Robin Palmer!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book

    This book was great...looking fwd to see the movie!!!!:D

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    Geek Charming is about breaking social boundaries in school and it has a sort of behind the scenes look at popularity. Dylan, the super popular girl, and Josh, the "geek", grow a lot in this book and I love the alternating chapters that switch between both of their view points. I really enjoyed it and Robin Palmer is a great author!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Hey read this book

    I have seen the movie and read the book. Its awsome dylan is just like me because iam a popular girl in my school. And everyone loves me. When i read this book i changed and if you are popular it could change you to be a regular girl. And if your not and your geegy there are geegy kids that change so anyone can read it they can read it for fun. I hope you like it:) :() ;) and if you like it tell me and write it to me on the review luv ya

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Ugh

    Book and movie suck.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Awesome

    I loved it!!!! :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Awsome

    So i lovedvthe movie so shold i get the book? Help meee plllleeeeaaaassssseeeee

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 3.5 The Low Down: Dylan Schoenfield is the popular p

    Rating: 3.5




    The Low Down: Dylan Schoenfield is the popular princess of Castle Heights High School. She has all the right things: the most popular guy, Asher, is her boyfriend; she has two best friends, Lola and Hannah, that are her perfect backups; and her father owns a shopping mall, so she has access to all the best clothes. Which brings us to her current problem: who can she talk into pulling her waterlogged designer purse out of the fountain at the mall?




    Next thing she knows, there’s a boy literally at her feet. Well, he did trip over Lola’s bag, but still. He retrieves her purse in exchange for a promise to let him film Dylan and the other Castle Heights populars for a documentary he wants to make. Josh eats, drinks, thinks and sleeps film, and he desperately wants to get into film school at USC. Agreeing (with her fingers crossed behind her back), it isn’t until Josh shows up at her house because she won’t return his calls, and she sees him bonding with her father over (gross!) Neil Diamond of all people, that she finds she will be doing the documentary. Father's orders.




    Dylan has a list of demands regarding what Josh can shoot and what he can’t (no shooting from the right), and once she has Josh’s cell number, she is always bombarding him with a barrage of “helpful” instructions and outright demands via text. This is going to be a long, long month for Josh. But what neither of them expected? They actually become friends. Josh is there for her in a way that Asher, Lola and Hannah aren’t. Then Dylan realizes that Josh would be the perfect boyfriend for someone - he just needs a little help in the clothing/grooming department, and, when he’s not talking about movies, he has some conversing issues. (OK, maybe the constant hypochondriac-ish behavior can get a little much, too.) He’s got a crush on someone; that much she knows. Can both Dylan and Josh get something out of their unconventional relationship?




    All good things must come to an end, as they say. But some ends are completely unexpected. And some are completely right.




    Best Thang ‘Bout It: Having just read Cindy Ella, I knew I was in for a fun read. If you have a tween/teen girl living in the house, then you might have caught the Disney movie that was based on Geek Charming. In the book, they certainly don’t downplay the fact that Dylan thinks other people are self-centered, but doesn’t see it in herself. Her slow awakening seems very real, and is equal parts sad and uplifting. Of course, this isn’t just about Dylan’s realizations; Josh is stuck in his film geek existence because that’s where he feels the most comfortable. He, too, has to realize that there’s more to life than spending all of his time in a movie theater or in front of the TV watching films. He has to live his life.




    I absolutely, both-thumbs-up, love the ending to the story. (Don’t read any more if you don’t even want a whiff of what goes down.) So real, so perfect. If it had been done any other way, it would have totally negated anything that either of the main characters had learned over the course of the book.




    The Bottom Line: A fun, sweet book that will warm the very cockles of your heart. Or whatever is the 2000s version of cockles.




    Geek Charming by Robin Palmer was published February 5, 2009 by Speak. Ink and Page picked this book up from the library, so no one had a choice about whether it was reviewed.




    Genre: Young Adult Fiction Contemporary Romance
    Ages: 12 and up
    You Might Want to Know: Some underage drinking

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    ??????????

    Today i saw the first have of the movie and thought it was a humungous load of both of my dogs diahrrea. Hows the book? I bet its just as terrible as the movie

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Miss Bliss

    Ive only seen the movie n it was awesome! I read the sample n it was 2! I highly recommend this book bcause dylan is the most popular girl at school but that changes cause she came face 2 face with a geek, Josh! Miss Bliss out ;-

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Saw movie

    It is so good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Cool

    Didnt disney channel make a movie out of this?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    I can relate

    Theres tthis realy popular girl on the cheer squad ar school and shes so rude to everyone... she does whatever she wants when she wants... i wish she was smart enough to read or watch this movie so that shed see its not aboiut being popular its about being true to yourself

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Liked this? Try Gallagher Girl series by Ally Carter.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Luv the movie!!!!#

    The movie is cute and adorable!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Anonymous

    This was a movie on disney channel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Good book

    I thought that tjis book was really good.......i love the whole geek and popular people become freinds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Dylan

    OMG! Dylan and geek boy so cute of a couple. If i could be dylan i would be so happy. Because she gets everything she wants no matter if she needs it or not. I like how she has 1pair of shoes for each day of the year... me and my bf (boyfriend) love them. Right? Yep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8