Customer Reviews for

Geek Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

This book was twisted, comical, and touching all at the same time. The title, Geek Love, threw me off at the start, since I thought the storyline would focus on a romance between several socially awkward and rejected indivduals would take place; however, the term "geek"...
This book was twisted, comical, and touching all at the same time. The title, Geek Love, threw me off at the start, since I thought the storyline would focus on a romance between several socially awkward and rejected indivduals would take place; however, the term "geek" in this context refers to someone in a circus act who bites the heads off of chickens and is broadly labeled as a freak. Very clever and interesting book that kept me hooked despite the title's orginal reading.

posted by 9566209 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste you money or your time!

A more thoroughly disgusting book I have yet to read. We meet a man and woman who have encountered a shortage of employees for their traveling side show. They are parents of children whose in utero existence was purposefully tainted by viral, bacterial and toxic agent...
A more thoroughly disgusting book I have yet to read. We meet a man and woman who have encountered a shortage of employees for their traveling side show. They are parents of children whose in utero existence was purposefully tainted by viral, bacterial and toxic agents for the desired result of producing mutants/freaks to populate their circus. As an adult survivor of of physical abuse by my biological father, I had trouble sleeping after barely reading the first chapter. I tossed it into the rubbish!

Angi Sayles-Simon

posted by Angi_Simon on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Intriguing story of inner and outer beauty

    This is the second time I have read this novel. I love the descriptive imagery to help you picture the characters, not only their unique physical appearance but their personalities and demeanors as well. I also very much enjoy the back-and-forth between the past life of Oly's childhood in the Fabulon and present-day in the "real world".

    Dunn does an extraordinary job of comparing the term "freak"--Chick is the seemingly normal child but treated as the outsider in the family of genetically gifted offspring. Al and Lil create deformities for the allure (enticing patrons to their carnival), while Mary Lick creates deformities for the opposite purpose of causing repulsion (removing women's sex appeal); yet they all seek the human condition of acceptance.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Excellent read

    This book was twisted, comical, and touching all at the same time. The title, Geek Love, threw me off at the start, since I thought the storyline would focus on a romance between several socially awkward and rejected indivduals would take place; however, the term "geek" in this context refers to someone in a circus act who bites the heads off of chickens and is broadly labeled as a freak. Very clever and interesting book that kept me hooked despite the title's orginal reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    People REALLY don't get it...

    I can't believe any of the negative reviews. Obviously they were never an escape- starved 13 year old, dreaming of a more extrordanary life...Geek Love was my escape. Wearing a red wig and selling peanuts? I would do it right now. Here's to remembering your dreams....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!!

    I love this book. I got so wrapped up in this book,I felt I was living in the "freak show" world. I recommend this book to everyone who isn't afraid of a little perversity. Its about time I read it again,and again,and again.......

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Best book I've every read

    Story line is amazing, the descpriptions are great and the humor is dark like I like it. This book made ,e laugh out loud at times and also literally shocked me to read the next lines at others. I am forever on a journey to find another great read like this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    One of my favorite reads ever

    !!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Fascinating book. I would definitely recommend it.

    In this book, Katherine Dunn explores the levels of 'freakery' within a traveling Circus kind of setting. The layers of the book that shift from being in the present and the past make this book an amazing read. The dynamics of love, hate, and need as well as prejudice are thoroughly explored. Also, the plays on the senses, desensitizing, and sympathies of the reader are all masterfully manipulated for the best sort of result. If you're looking for something to shock you, at times disgust you, and altogether intrigue you until the very end, I would definitely suggest this work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED this book! Cannot say enough good things about it. Fascina

    LOVED this book! Cannot say enough good things about it. Fascinating, crazy, funny, and tragic. Beautifully written story - just great all-around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    great book; strange, offbeat, great characters... not for everyone

    due to life, it took me quite a long time to read this book. not like 3 months, more like over a year, haha! i only say this bc after such a long time not picking it up it was exremely easy to dive back into due to an original story line and memorable characters and once i started i couldn't stop. i like the strange reads and this really got strange. at some points i even felt dirty reading it. i felt for oly not feeling like her siblings and almost being "normal" even though she loved her brother in an not so brotherly way. arty made me so angry at some points but isn't that what a good book is supposed to do? if you like classic literature or even use the word literature, don't pick it up. you might get sick reading it. the story line is great going back and forth from past to present. i was only dissappointed with how fast the book ended, i felt a little rushed in the end and i wanted more of what oly was thinking and why she was going to do what she was going to do (hence the 4 stars). a great book that is out there but intriguing. i recommend to anyone who likes not so typical books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    My Favorite Book of All Time(for the moment)

    I am in love with this book. I love the amazing perspective on normality portrayed be the entire Binewski family, Olympia especially. And I love all of the deep thoughts included in it. One of my favorite areas is where comments upon adult ignorance to how deep a childs problem can be. I just very much enjoyed this fabulous book and belive that anyone who reads it can learn something from it. If not about society, then about themselves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    One of the best contempory fiction books I've read

    While the premise revolves around a cast of rather unusual characters, the focus is on the human condition whether you be geek, freak or norm and doing the best in life with what you've been given. I loved how the characters looked down upon 'the norms' as though they were the true freaks. I have read this book several times over the years and the story is just as fresh on the re-read as it was the first time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    I'll admit that I started this book as kind of a joke, poking fu

    I'll admit that I started this book as kind of a joke, poking fun at it silly themes, then all of a sudden BAM! It had me hooked. I'm a slow reader but I read Geek Love in less than a week. Very engrossing and a killer ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Wierdly awesome book about circus carnies

    :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    Delciously twisted. A rare find.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Don't waste you money or your time!

    A more thoroughly disgusting book I have yet to read. We meet a man and woman who have encountered a shortage of employees for their traveling side show. They are parents of children whose in utero existence was purposefully tainted by viral, bacterial and toxic agents for the desired result of producing mutants/freaks to populate their circus. As an adult survivor of of physical abuse by my biological father, I had trouble sleeping after barely reading the first chapter. I tossed it into the rubbish!

    Angi Sayles-Simon

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Not for the faint of heart (or stomach)

    There were moments where this book literally made me sick to my stomach... points at which I put it down and said, this is making me want to retch, I cannot continue reading this. I could not get the horrifying imagrey of the Arturans out of my head. Eventually my nausea overcame my curiousity...couldn't finish it, too gross.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    Disturbing, a Bit Disappointing

    Vividly descriptive and fairly well-written, this book seems to focus on the shock value in exploring the lives of this surrealistic family. Focus is given to cruelty rather than character exploration. Not a 're-read', or a 'recommend'--more of a curiousity. Like American Psycho, having read the book, I will give it away with no regrets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    fabulous!

    this is is only great if you have the stomach for the strange and abnormal!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Are you quirkey?

    "Geek Love" was recommended to me by someone who's clever, funny and very hip. So of course I had to read it...being 65 means I have fallen off the coolness wagon, and I don't want to go to dinner at 4:30 p.m. quite yet, if you know what I mean. ANYWAY...I was indeed pulled into this book and took it with me to read everywhere I had a sitting wait until it was done. It's very very odd, which I enjoyed...and I just had to find out how it ended. However, it left me emotionally unmoved, for all its familial twists and turns. Is it me, or the book? Or an author who would write these characters, who are such painful creatures, into life?
    I would recommend it to select people just because I want to discuss it with someone else who's read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Forever changed

    This novel has shaken me to my core. I strongley suggest reading it . It reminds us as readers what it means to be human. What you see on the surface is sometimes something different entirely underneath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5