Customer Reviews for

Geek Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

This book was twisted, comical, and touching all at the same time. The title, Geek Love, threw me off at the start, since I thought the storyline would focus on a romance between several socially awkward and rejected indivduals would take place; however, the term "geek"...
This book was twisted, comical, and touching all at the same time. The title, Geek Love, threw me off at the start, since I thought the storyline would focus on a romance between several socially awkward and rejected indivduals would take place; however, the term "geek" in this context refers to someone in a circus act who bites the heads off of chickens and is broadly labeled as a freak. Very clever and interesting book that kept me hooked despite the title's orginal reading.

posted by 9566209 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste you money or your time!

A more thoroughly disgusting book I have yet to read. We meet a man and woman who have encountered a shortage of employees for their traveling side show. They are parents of children whose in utero existence was purposefully tainted by viral, bacterial and toxic agent...
A more thoroughly disgusting book I have yet to read. We meet a man and woman who have encountered a shortage of employees for their traveling side show. They are parents of children whose in utero existence was purposefully tainted by viral, bacterial and toxic agents for the desired result of producing mutants/freaks to populate their circus. As an adult survivor of of physical abuse by my biological father, I had trouble sleeping after barely reading the first chapter. I tossed it into the rubbish!

Angi Sayles-Simon

posted by Angi_Simon on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    Definitely one of the strangest books I have ever read. Very dis

    Definitely one of the strangest books I have ever read. Very disturbing yet meaningful. A little bit hard to read and keep up with back and forth dialogue, but the imagery will definitely stay in you mind forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    The weirdest sickest puppy book I have ever read!

    Stephen King recommended this book as a great summer read. So one day when I wasin BN I did my free hour read in this book while enjoying a StarBucks coffee and just had to buy it. This is by far the sickest weirdest book I have ever read and I have reada few. But I just could not put it down! Its about a husband and wife who r in the carnival busniss sice birth. They deside to have a family of freaks and go about trying to make birth defects in by doing things while pregnant. Then comes the story of these kids and their lives in the carnival and after . If u like sick puppy book u will like this one but fair warning it is not for everyone, I myself love si k puppy books and this was a 5 star winner for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    This is without a doubt, the most bizarre, extraordinary book I'

    This is without a doubt, the most bizarre, extraordinary book I've ever read.  I couldn't put it down, nor could I look away.  This is a very dark book and certainly not for everyone.  I loved it.  It's unlike anything I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Recommend if you like weird books.

    Was a super wierd book but I couldnt put it down. Needed to find out what happens. Putting the wierdness aside it was well written book and I enjoyed reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic! Couldn't put it down!

    Fantastic! Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Please

    Will some one please explain the chravters? And is the sister in love with the brother?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    One of the worst reads ever! It wasn't the crazy content that t

    One of the worst reads ever! It wasn't the crazy content that turned me off, it was honestly hard to follow. I had this book recommended to my by a good friend who loved it. We usually like the same books, but man, this book took me forever to read!! It really did not hold my interest at all. I was determined to give it a chance and I did finish it, but would like to have back all the time I wasted on it!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Star wars/star trek

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    For the "don't waste your time" faggot person... your wrong.

    This book is just people experimenting in different ways. Yes it was... odd, but that's the type of children they wanted. And being in such a family as that, they all love each other... even though the idea of this book is odd again. It's still an interesting read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Thumbs up!

    Love love love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    The Unexpected

    I am so glad I read this book without knowing anything about it. If someone had tried to explain it, I would not have read it. Thanks to my daughter for leaving this behind when she went back to school.
    Do not be put off by the topic. You will miss a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I have bought this book twice

    Lent out my paperback and never got it back, I have been waiting nine months for it to be availablefor download on my nookcolor. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A strange, engrossing tale

    Worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    All Time Favorite Book!

    I read this book years ago on a whim and it quickly became, and still is, my favorite book. Quirky, wholly original and often cringe-inducing, Dunn's novel is worth reading and re-reading to find something new in the details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Disturbing

    To date, this is the most disturbing book I've ever read. However, it is extremely hard to put down (some of us are attracted to the unexpected and disgusting.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    I will admit that I love any disturbing book, and upon looking at a list of the oddest/most disturbing books of all time, I noticed "Geek Love", picked it up from my local bookstore, and read it. At first I wasn't that impressed - there were some interesting characters, but the first half of the book as told by Oly was slightly disturbing and somewhat boring. It wasn't until the back story about the family circus that I really started to get into it.<BR/><BR/>Overall, I liked the book. Dunn has a talent for disturbing the audience with odd but likable characters, and most importantly, keeping the book original. The ride is slow toward the beginning, but once the reader hits the book becomes hard to stray from. <BR/><BR/>I'm not exactly sure if its a book I want to reread or have in my library, and I don't think I'd recommend it to anyone due to some of the concepts included. It teaches a good lesson, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ??

    I don't know what the big fuss is about this book. It was the only book I wanted to stop reading in the middle of it. I kept wanted something more from it. I normally like books with strange characters, but this book had a lame story line to go with it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Wish I'd read it sooner

    I remember hearing about this book when it was new but never got around to reading it until now. Fascinating story and well written. I was sorry to come to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Must Read!!

    Geek Love was a book brilliantly written. I was reading Fugitives And Refugees when he mentioned Geek Love. I'm a huge admirer of Chuck's work. And he was correct about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Astonishing

    This novel is astonishing in more ways than one. The first (and most obvious) way is in its (somewhat) shocking perversity. There's actually a little overkill in this area on Dunn's part, and if it had been more subtle and less overt, this book would have gotten fives stars. Among the moments of sheer perversity, however, are moments of sheer genius and beauty, that make this novel ENTIRELY worthwhile to read. Sometimes her prose rings of Melville, without smacking of imitation, as so many books do. Dunn is a wonderful, extraordinary, creative writer (though her authorship depends a little too much on shock value), and has crafted near-masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5