Customer Reviews for

Geek Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

This book was twisted, comical, and touching all at the same time. The title, Geek Love, threw me off at the start, since I thought the storyline would focus on a romance between several socially awkward and rejected indivduals would take place; however, the term "geek"...
This book was twisted, comical, and touching all at the same time. The title, Geek Love, threw me off at the start, since I thought the storyline would focus on a romance between several socially awkward and rejected indivduals would take place; however, the term "geek" in this context refers to someone in a circus act who bites the heads off of chickens and is broadly labeled as a freak. Very clever and interesting book that kept me hooked despite the title's orginal reading.

posted by 9566209 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste you money or your time!

A more thoroughly disgusting book I have yet to read. We meet a man and woman who have encountered a shortage of employees for their traveling side show. They are parents of children whose in utero existence was purposefully tainted by viral, bacterial and toxic agent...
A more thoroughly disgusting book I have yet to read. We meet a man and woman who have encountered a shortage of employees for their traveling side show. They are parents of children whose in utero existence was purposefully tainted by viral, bacterial and toxic agents for the desired result of producing mutants/freaks to populate their circus. As an adult survivor of of physical abuse by my biological father, I had trouble sleeping after barely reading the first chapter. I tossed it into the rubbish!

Angi Sayles-Simon

posted by Angi_Simon on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    Good, but needs more

    Geek Love had a great plot, but it lacked in author presentation. The tone was eerie with dark humor. Reccomend it to those who want to see something that deviates from the 'norm'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    Not your typical novel

    This book is a bit hard to get into, I finally got what was going on after about 50 or so pages. However, after that, the book was awesome and I devoured it in a weekend! It is a page turner, so bizarre, and you want to keep reading it to see what strange things happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    An Extraordinary Read

    Geek Love was one of the most interesting yet addling books I have ever read. The characters were so disfigured and somewhat distant from what we call 'normalcy,' but they exhibited very human emotions...what we would call 'normal.' The claim made by many characters in the book that they were freaks and anything BUT normal was contradicted over and over (I'm assuming the desired effect by Miss Dunn.) Geek Love exemplified all the razors of being human and the struggle to be everything to everyone. The book in essence stripped human nature naked and left it, completely bare and shivering in the wind. It was an extraordinary read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    Didn't really care for the writing style...

    or the story, for that matter. The premise sounds good, but the book leaves much to be desired.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    Some people just don't get it.

    This book will challenge and shock you, it may even revolt and disgust you. If you go along for the ride and allow yourself to be moved, you will be richly rewarded. If you liked Todd Brown's movie 'Freaks', this will also be right up your alley!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2002

    An ok book

    This was an ok book, but nothing to write home about. I guess it had a pretty good overall message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    Incredibly perverse

    Yes, incredibly perverse, but interesting in story. The ideas are, however, almost cliche. It was not a waste of a read, but this could never be considered a true masterpiece because it resorts to utter perversity (which is very easy, not 'imaginative' like commonly believed) to get its ideas across. This book is almost equal to watching 'garbage television' at some points, but the book does have a point; not a very original one however, which is the point, isn't it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    As good as a book gets!

    Geek love takes us as a society into the place where, depite or normalcy, we are as twisted and as lost as the Benewskis. I am conviced this book is too real and too gripping for the average fiction reader to handle or comprehend. The author dishes out the shocking realism of a family of carnival freaks on a platter heaped with the genuine horror of the human mind. I loved this book with no bounds and have read it four times. It is my highest recommendation and most of the readers who have taken my lead love it as well. If a reviewer has anything but raves to say about Geek Love, they missed the point. Ugly, shocking, mesmorizing and often frightening, this book calls all writers and reviewers to task. We must look away from the conventional and ignore our need to demand things make sense. Geek Love is the finest in alternative fiction and I will probably read it four more times! What most miss, I believe, is the delicate way the story parallels life, describes the most common of human conditions and hides them behind the mask of freakism to protect the less sharp from having to relate. But that is the genius here, every man, woman and child in the world has no choice but to relate, this story draws the reader to realize we are all freaks, THAT is the human condition. Wonderfully written, a beautiful contrast exists between the flowing word and the ugliness of the characters physical and emotional states. I may not have a hump, a fin or an attached twin, but I belong among the ranks carnival of life, as we all do to a degree. This book is a treasure, read it and enjoy your own kind of Geek Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2000

    My all-time favorite

    I have read GEEK LOVE 4 times and it is almost time for another reading. Every time I read this book I find something new that blows me away. Katherine Dunn creates characters that are so full of life that you might as well give up, crawl into bed for a couple days, and commit yourself to this incredible tale of- ultimately- love. My only question is- when will Dunn write again?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    this is a GREAT book

    This book is amazing. You become so captured by this book that you will find it so hard to put down. I picked this book at random, and I was shocked at how good it was. I would recommend to to anyone who is interested in viewing life through the eyes of our narrator, a bald dwarf albino woman, who see the world clearer than anyone I've ever listened to. You learn to view beauty in a whole new way. I love this book. Defintly worth reading! I can't praize this book enough. I mean look at the rating!! : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2000

    Geek Love Will Rock Your World

    In Dunn's novel Geek Love, so many issues are approched, and in many cases the way I thought I felt about them were changed before I was half way done with the book. I came way with a better understanding of my role in the world, and the worlds role in my life. I will forever think differently when I go to the circus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5