Customer Reviews for

Geek Magnet

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

A girl loved by geeks. How can you not love a character that is loved by people who secretly drive her insane?

KJ Miller is a nice girl. She's nice to everyone. She doesn't have a mean bone in her body.

Until she meets Tama Gold. And becomes friends ...
A girl loved by geeks. How can you not love a character that is loved by people who secretly drive her insane?

KJ Miller is a nice girl. She's nice to everyone. She doesn't have a mean bone in her body.

Until she meets Tama Gold. And becomes friends with her. The popular girl. The girl who teaches her how to "stand up" for herself. Or, basically, more or less, teaches her how to be mean!

KJ finally gets the chance to go out with her wildly popular crush and realizes something. But what exactly?

Is Tama really her friend?

And is her crush really her crush?

GEEK MAGNET is definitely the 2008 summer must-read! I adored KJ right from the first page. There are serious issues in this book, but they are portrayed in the most fabulous way. Funny! A book everyone should read this summer!

posted by TeensReadToo on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

this story sounds like my life! well at least the beginning. i g

this story sounds like my life! well at least the beginning. i guess i will have to read it and find out what not to do!

posted by bookluvaSJ on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

    A girl loved by geeks. How can you not love a character that is loved by people who secretly drive her insane? <BR/><BR/>KJ Miller is a nice girl. She's nice to everyone. She doesn't have a mean bone in her body. <BR/><BR/>Until she meets Tama Gold. And becomes friends with her. The popular girl. The girl who teaches her how to "stand up" for herself. Or, basically, more or less, teaches her how to be mean! <BR/><BR/>KJ finally gets the chance to go out with her wildly popular crush and realizes something. But what exactly? <BR/><BR/>Is Tama really her friend? <BR/><BR/>And is her crush really her crush? <BR/><BR/>GEEK MAGNET is definitely the 2008 summer must-read! I adored KJ right from the first page. There are serious issues in this book, but they are portrayed in the most fabulous way. Funny! A book everyone should read this summer!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    SO CUTE!!!!!!!

    Its a page turner i couldn't put the book down i read it in 1 day i would recommand it to anyone!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved this book probably one of my favorite books after the twilight series. I would deffinately recommened it. It was funny and very cute.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    surprisinglyg good.

    i did not think this was going to be a good book. originally i didn't even want to get it, but i got it on clearance for 3 dollars, so i figured why not. and to my astonishment this book was really good. i definitely recomend it. my only complaints about this book would have to be about some of the characters' behavior. even the main character ocassionally got on my nerves with her actions. but altogether this book Geek Magnet was worth reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Wow

    This was one of the best books i have ever read. kieran scott has such a way of relating perfectly those innermost teenage feelings that most of us can't even grasp enough to make sense of ourselves. This book rocks! A great read from the first to the last page!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    This book was soo good, the ending was cute and i hope Kieran Sc

    This book was soo good, the ending was cute and i hope Kieran Scott writes another book similar to this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Love it

    This book is a most read! plus in dont lisson to the negitive comments they have no taste in good book. This book is full of suprises no matter what kinds of booku read u will love it! It can really relate to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    I looved this book so much!
    Everyone should read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    I love freddie!!!!

    Hellooo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    A great read.Highly recommended!

    Great book. Fun and fast to read. Excellent for middle schoolers, as well as high school students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Sounds like me...continued

    Ok so now I did read the book and I loved it. I don't really like to be mean to people so this gave me a good idea of how to deal with the "not my types guys" politely so I dont hurt their feelings. The one thing I didn't like was that I was able to predict who KJ ended up with by like page 50. But I guess that was one of the things that made the book so great, was that KJ got her fairytale ending after all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Da best book eva!!!!!!!!!~lildancer99

    Funny and goooooooood

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    i loved this book! it was cute and funny. definitely worth the money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    HIL-ARIOUS

    The perfect mix of romance, drama, comedy, and sheer terror. I've read this book an uncountable amount of times!!!!! I think lots of teen girls can relate to this, especially me xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    its totaly awesome

    what i liked about this book was that it was appropritate for teens and shows really good judgement and it has life in it also the way they describe characters is fantastic....so i highly recommend this book to everyone because its a really good and funny book to read....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, fun, perfect light reading

    KJ is the stage manager for her school's production of Grease, and while she loves the environment and the rush of being in charge of such a big production, the play also throws her in the way of Fred, Andy, and Glenn, three terribly geeky guys who are all but obsessed with her. KJ's interested in dating star athlete Cameron, but he never even notices her until Tama, the ultra-popular leading actress, decides to make it her own personal project to get Cameron and KJ together. If Tama's sudden act of charity seems suspect, that's because it is. Through all the social turmoil, KJ has to sort out her friend priorities, figure out how to deal with her geeky suitors, and make sense of her interactions with Robbie, an upbeat actor/musician who seems more appealing with every passing day.

    If you're in the mood for a romantic comedy YA that isn't pure fluff, Geek Magnet is a great pick. KJ is a behind-the-scenes artistic type who can herd actors and delegate tasks but is helpless about telling people to stop bugging her. She also isn't sure how to deal with her angry, alcoholic father who makes home life miserable for her and her mom and brother, so the novel shows KJ's development in all areas, not just romantically. She faces many of her biggest fears throughout the course of the story, and I'm proud of every new challenge she rises to meet. Of course, I'd prefer that KJ had immediately seen through Tama and known that she was using her, but it's realistic behavior. And I was pleased at what a true friend KJ was to Tama; she was never really a flunky, and that lent a sense of sweetness to her scenes with Tama.

    Robbie Delano is an excellent male lead, something I've come to expect from Kieran Scott's novels. He doesn't get a POV, but he has a major impact on the plot. He's instrumental in KJ's growing confidence, and he's a true original--he's amazingly talented but doesn't care about popularity, and he's into acting, singing, and band, when he could easily have stuck with the jock crowd he used to belong to. He's normal-guy romantic, so he'll wear a nicer shirt and pick out a single white lily for a first date instead of donning a suit and handing out a dozen red roses. There are few things more enjoyable to read than a couple of 3-dimensional characters slowly figuring out their mutual attraction (even though KJ and Robbie both think they're interested in other people).

    Fun romance, likable characters, and some deeper issues interspersed with moments of hilarity make Geek Magnet a winner for those looking for something uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2