Customer Reviews for

The General's Daughter (Paul Brenner Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    A real page turner

    I have read a dozen of DeMille's novels, and I must say this was the best of the lot. The action is almost non-stop, and the plot takes so many intriguing and unexpected turns that it is hard to put the book down. Being retired military, my only comment was that the flippancy of the CID investigator in dealing with senior officers, was a little hard to swallow. I'm looking forward to ordering another DeMille novel in the near future.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Very entertaining read!

    I am a big fan of Nelson DeMille novels and also of the main character in this book, John Corey. Very easy and entertaining read...it keep you guessing for quite some time and John Corey is simply hilarious! Definitely recommend this book and the other one with John Corey, Up Country...it's also a great way for a non-military person to get a glimpse into some parts of what it's like to be part of this group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Good

    Exciting, twists and turns. Main charachters could use a bit more development, but an all around good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Nelson DeMille is a must read author

    Only recently had I begun to read Nelson DeMille's books. (Where the heck have I been???) Now, I'm addicted. I'm trying to read them all. I loved the General's Daughter, part one of the Paul Brenner series. I loved Up Country, the sequel, just as much if not more. (I had read UpCountry first which compelled me to purchase the General's Daughter and many more.) No matter which of Mr. DeMille's books I read, I am intriqued. His attention to detail is amazing without being overburdening. I learn something about the wide world or my own little galaxy. I remember things from years ago but now they are in a perspective that I didn't have before, and I laugh a lot. Mr. DeMille's timing and delivery is great. Mr. DeMille is truly an incredible author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Well written, kept me guessing. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Fantastic as always!

    Love this book and series, looking for another Paul Brenner book, but I have not seen one - ugh!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Great read. Very detailed and descriptive. Easy to get involved in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Demille at his very best!

    I have read every Nelson Demille book and this certainly takes the prize as his best. Packed to the rim with suspense, playfulness, and developed characters, The General's Daughter is an addictive crowd pleaser all the way. Good luck trying to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I enjoyed this book and glad I read it before I saw the movie. Usually the books are better than the movies because some things get lost in translation. This book was well written and kept me on my toes. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting a good mystery/thriller.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    GREAT

    i liked it great entertanment great narrating gripping all that a good book needs im getting back into reading and this book was a great start the charm school is next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2001

    great book

    i thought this was a great book. it made you think and wonder who could have done it. it wasn't a slow moving book and is one of my faves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2001

    Intriguing Thriller

    Great book with much attention to detail. This is a book that will keep your interest and add some insight into the male chauvenistic world of the military and it's warped since of honor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2001

    A wonderful read

    This is an excellent book. If you only read one book this year..read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 1999

    HEY OK

    This book is fantastic I just must read it in the original Lanuage. I'm from Sweden so I've just read the translation and often the translator hav missed something so it will be fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2