Customer Reviews for

Generation Dead (Generation Dead Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Young Adult

To summarize Generation Dead, by Daniel Waters in one word- Clever! Daniel Waters resides in Connecticut with his family. Generation Dead is his first young adult novel.

All over the country an unusual phenomenon is happening. Some teenagers who die are not sta...
To summarize Generation Dead, by Daniel Waters in one word- Clever! Daniel Waters resides in Connecticut with his family. Generation Dead is his first young adult novel.

All over the country an unusual phenomenon is happening. Some teenagers who die are not staying dead. Isolated strictly to the United States and to teenagers, these young adults are labeled differently bionic or living impaired. All they are trying to do is fit into a society that doesn¿t want them and doesn¿t understand. The kids at Oakvale High School are no different. They don¿t want to eat with them, talk to them, or sit in class with them. They just want them to disappear. Phoebe has never been part of the popular crowd, not with her goth looks and attitude. So when she falls for Tommy, leader of the dead kids, no one can quite believe it. Margi, her best friend, has a fear of the living impaired which is rooted to an incident from their past she¿d rather ignore than face. And Adam, her next door neighbor and star of the football team, has recently realized his feelings for Phoebe go much deeper than the girl next door he always thought she was. But what if all Adam can do is protect Tommy to make her happy?

I only have two criticisms for the book. One, there were a few errors, but I had the advanced reading copy which is not the final publication draft. And two, I was sad when it ended, as I wanted more.

Generation Dead, by Daniel Waters is clever, witty, and downright genius. How on earth he came up with this idea I¿ll never know. But I am so very glad he did. He was able to get into the minds of teenagers and know what they are thinking, feeling, and their reactions to the world around them. Targeted for young adults ages twelve and up, I think parents and adults would benefit from this read, as they just might finally get into their teenagers psyche. From the star of the football team, to the cheerleader who seemingly has it all, to the lost soul who hides in the corner¿ every character is believable and convincing. The plot flowed well and was exceedingly difficult to put down. In my opinion, the greatest part of this story was the way Daniel Waters was able to throw out any and every notion we have about zombies. You won¿t find flesh eating monsters and gore beyond nightmares, but rather a brilliantly funny adaptation of what a world might be like should this phenomenon every occur. Impressive, very impressive!



Kelly Moran,

Author and Reviewer

posted by AuthorKellyMoran on October 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Generation Dead

I have to admit that I am a sucker for a eye-catching cover, but with this book it didn't go much beyond that. I had extremely high expectations for Generation Dead, and was sorely disappointed. Some of the characters were half-way believable,likable even, while others ...
I have to admit that I am a sucker for a eye-catching cover, but with this book it didn't go much beyond that. I had extremely high expectations for Generation Dead, and was sorely disappointed. Some of the characters were half-way believable,likable even, while others bordered on ridiculous. The plot seemed messy, and the characters were overly stereotyped. The dialog was awkward, and left you feeling like you just watched a bad accident. While again I have to admit the overall idea of the book was pretty genius, the execution was mediocre at best. There were several plot strands that simply fizzled out and left you feeling less than satisfied, and not in a good way. The end was predictable and well what was to be expected after reading half-way through the first chapter.

posted by 779878 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Young Adult

    To summarize Generation Dead, by Daniel Waters in one word- Clever! Daniel Waters resides in Connecticut with his family. Generation Dead is his first young adult novel.<BR/><BR/>All over the country an unusual phenomenon is happening. Some teenagers who die are not staying dead. Isolated strictly to the United States and to teenagers, these young adults are labeled differently bionic or living impaired. All they are trying to do is fit into a society that doesn¿t want them and doesn¿t understand. The kids at Oakvale High School are no different. They don¿t want to eat with them, talk to them, or sit in class with them. They just want them to disappear. Phoebe has never been part of the popular crowd, not with her goth looks and attitude. So when she falls for Tommy, leader of the dead kids, no one can quite believe it. Margi, her best friend, has a fear of the living impaired which is rooted to an incident from their past she¿d rather ignore than face. And Adam, her next door neighbor and star of the football team, has recently realized his feelings for Phoebe go much deeper than the girl next door he always thought she was. But what if all Adam can do is protect Tommy to make her happy?<BR/><BR/>I only have two criticisms for the book. One, there were a few errors, but I had the advanced reading copy which is not the final publication draft. And two, I was sad when it ended, as I wanted more.<BR/><BR/>Generation Dead, by Daniel Waters is clever, witty, and downright genius. How on earth he came up with this idea I¿ll never know. But I am so very glad he did. He was able to get into the minds of teenagers and know what they are thinking, feeling, and their reactions to the world around them. Targeted for young adults ages twelve and up, I think parents and adults would benefit from this read, as they just might finally get into their teenagers psyche. From the star of the football team, to the cheerleader who seemingly has it all, to the lost soul who hides in the corner¿ every character is believable and convincing. The plot flowed well and was exceedingly difficult to put down. In my opinion, the greatest part of this story was the way Daniel Waters was able to throw out any and every notion we have about zombies. You won¿t find flesh eating monsters and gore beyond nightmares, but rather a brilliantly funny adaptation of what a world might be like should this phenomenon every occur. Impressive, very impressive!<BR/><BR/> <BR/><BR/>Kelly Moran,<BR/><BR/>Author and Reviewer

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Story Siren for TeensReadToo.com

    You've heard of Generation "X" and Generation "Y." Get ready for Generation Dead -- Generation Dead being known for its, well, undead. Science can't explain it, and no one really knows why it happens, but American teenagers are coming back to life. Known to the living as differently biotic or the living impaired, these zombie teenagers try to "live" their undead lives, but as with any group of people that vary from the norm, there are always prejudices. <BR/><BR/>Phoebe, a Goth girl, finds herself unexpectedly drawn to one of these so-called living impaired students, Tommy Williams. Her best friend, Margi, thinks she is crazy, but Margi's feeling for the undead are more complicated than a general dislike. Then there is Phoebe's neighbor and childhood friend, Adam. Adam has finally realized his true feelings for Phoebe, but he still can't find the courage to tell her. Of course, it doesn't make the situation any easier when he discovers Phoebe is crushing on the dead kid. <BR/><BR/>Phoebe talks Margi and Adam into joining a work study at the Hunter Foundation, which is centered around the undead phenomenon. Unfortunately, not everyone tries to be as open-minded. There aren't any laws protecting these teens, and they are being singled out and sometimes killed again. When a student makes a personal vendetta to take out the living impaired and anyone associated with them, the situation can only end in tragedy. <BR/><BR/>GENERATION DEAD went above and beyond what I was expecting. Sure, it is about the dead, but there are so many underlying messages in this book. Prejudice is something that is very apparent, and is something that we deal with in reality on a daily basis. There is a part in the book where they have a guest speaker in their undead studies program. Basically, they are discussing how they can acclimate the undead into society. I have to say that the dialogue of the speaker totally blew me away. I think I read it maybe three or four times, and I just kept thinking, if only acceptance and change were and could be that easy, the world would be a better place. <BR/><BR/>As for the rest of the story, the characters were beyond three-dimensional. I felt like I knew these kids, and they continued to develop throughout the entire story, I mean literally up until the last page. I loved it! The plot was totally original and kept me turning pages until the late hours of the night. I love Mr. Waters' writing style, as it's engrossing yet simple. The story was full of wit and humor, and I was totally captured! <BR/><BR/>Obviously, I really liked/loved this book!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Judge A Book By It's Cover (or Title)

    The story is about a nice goth girl named Phoebe who has an outrageous goth girl BFF and a guy BFF (who happens to be her next door neighbor) that's on the football team, dating one of the school's snottiest girls and has secretly fallen in love with her. - Now picture a world where the teenagers of America come back from the dead, completely zombie-like.

    Weird? Definitely. I read this book only because of its high ratings and was very skeptical of the "zombies" - but the ratings hold true and I, myself, have rated this book with all-five stars. The title and book cover deceives readers into thinking that this book may not amount to much - but in fact the book contains more than just the typical adolescent misadventures of a goth girl. The book actually takes you through a whirl of unbelievable discrimination - providing a constant reminder of the racism that occurred during the 1950's.

    I don't want to give too much away - let me just say that there are moments that are comedic and romantically cute, but also moments that are confusing, outright disturbing, and sobering. This book will not only entertain and keep you glued to the pages but it will also leave an imprint on you when you are done.

    FYI - I bought the entire series before I got 1/4 of the book read; it's that good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    i luved it!!!

    I absolutely loved this book.I find it was insteresting and made u not want to close the book.i give it 3 thumbs up if i had three thumbs lol

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Almost as Good as Twilight

    This is a really good book. I was in love with Edward Cullen, but now I can't decide between him or Tommy Williams. I say that because there is no one out there like Edward but I could probably find someone like Tommy [except for him being a zombie though ;-) ]. Well, overall it was an amazing book, can't wait for Kiss of Death coming out on May 12. READ IT!!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I finished this book in one day... I couldn't put it down! Who would have thought that a book about zombies could be so good and relatable?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Generation Dead

    This book was really really good. That's enough said. just read it, it will do you good. Im seriously looking out for his sequel, Kiss of Life coming out in May. Woohoo!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome book

    I really liked this book. The end leaves you hanging though I found that the sequel is coming out in may 2009 and its called kiss of life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    More than 5 stars!!!!!!

    This book was great. I absoulutely loved it. I read it in 1 day! The plot was great because there's no other story like it, and trust me, you won't be even a bit bored. Read it and you will absoulutely love it! Trust my word on this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Meet the Living Dead

    Get ready for the next sensation: waking up after you've died. It started with one strange case, and now it's happening to more and more American teens. But having a second chance doesn't make living, or whatever their existence is called, any easier for these 'living impaired' or 'differently biotic' teens. They face much discrimination, fear, and hatred, and they don't have any legal rights either. That means anyone who hates them enough can destroy them - and the differently biotic won't be able to come back after their second death. Most people are terrified of the differently biotic, but Phoebe is actually attracted to their leader, Tommy Williams. This makes Phoebe's best friend Margi uncomfortable because of what happened to their other friend Colette. Phoebe's other good friend Adam is just realizing his deeper feelings for Phoebe, and he doesn't quite know how to deal with the fact that Phoebe likes Tommy. Add in Pete, a football player who hates the differently biotic with a passion, and you have the incredible novel Generation Dead. Daniel Waters proves himself to be an exceptionally talented writer with this debut. This story is fast-paced and incredibly unique, and I was impressed with how Waters took on the philosophical topic of death (or undeath, in this case). I liked how each character's past influenced the decisions they made and the mysteriousness that surrounded others. I can honestly say Generation Dead was one of the best-written and most unique stories I have ever read. Generation Dead was an incredibly amazing novel, and it has the potential to be made into a series, which I hope happens. I most definitely recommend this novel to anyone and everyone, especially fans of the Twilight series and other vampire novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    Simply Amazing!

    I picked up this book at BN because the picture of the 'dead looking' cheerleader on the cover cought my eye. I read the blurb and figured it'd be a good read. It wasn't something I'd normally read, but for some reason I couldn't resist buying it. I read Generation Dead in one day. I started it late at night and didn't finish until much later in the early morning. The messages that Gerneration Dead brought to the table weren't something that I haven't heard before. 'Don't judge a book by it's cover', 'It's whats on the inside that counts', and 'Just because two people look different it doesn't mean they can't be friends'. But it was just more then those typical themes. It was the WAY it was brought to the table. The story of an regular 16 year old girl who happens to fall for someone that is totally different than her..he's dead. Or atleast he was until he came back. They overcome many challanges from rumors, getting teased and learning to not care of what people think of them..together. It's a story that really makes you think why are these teenagers dying and coming back? How are they coming back? Why doesn't everyone come back? With the added crushes, heart-break, and regaining a lost friend-ship, this book with NOT dissapoint you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    Generation Dead is my kinda book!

    I did not have any clue at all what to expect when I bought this book. It looked good and I figured it would keep me interested for at least a little while. Well, I have to say, I finished it in 1 day. I started reading it one night, didn't put it down until 2 in the morning and then finished it the next day. I laughed and cried and, when I got to the end, I wanted more. I believe that there'll be a sequel and I hope that Phoebe stays with Tommy and doesn't leave him for Adam, just because she feels guilty that he got shot and wants to 'fully bring him back'. She doesn't truly love Adam. Deep down she loves Tommy. She and Adam may have been childhood friends and Adam may have feelings for her but Phoebe loves Tommy. It shouldn't matter that Tommy's dead! All that matters is that she loves him!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    Generation Amazing!!

    Genration Dead was very well written. It as also very suspenseful and entertaing! I rate this book a 5, because I was very pleased with it. I just finished the book about 3 minutes ago, and I coould not believe the ending! It was so sad, but it was also good. You really get attached to the characters, and you learn their personalities. I hope there is going to be a sequel! I really hope that Daniel Waters writes more books for teens because this was one of my favortie book ever!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    It was a very interesting book! I am glad that i read the whole series.... the only problem i had with it was the end; WHY DID ADAM HAVE TO DIE AND COME BACK?!?!?!?!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Cool

    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    i truly loved this book. i am a complete sucker for spooky stori

    i truly loved this book. i am a complete sucker for spooky stories and
    zombies. old school zombies scare me admittedly, but these &quot;dead
    heads&quot; as they were called in the book. made me smile. sadly, i
    found the character of Tommy Williams, the main &quot;worm burger/
    corpsicle/ dead head/ zombie&quot; to be slightly weak. yes, he dated a
    &quot;Breather/ beating heart/ bleeder&quot; (Phoebe Kendall) and played
    on the football team at his high school. but he also seemed weak in
    personality. Phoebe however made me laugh on just about every page in
    the book. margi sounds like one of my friends ( just without the crazy
    spiked pink hair) i really enjoyed the book all in all and i am really
    glad i read the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Lovw it

    I love this book and its sequil. Its so gripping it almost killed me to put it down. I hope you enjoy it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Great

    Such different book but so good!!! I cant wait for the next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Love it!

    This is probably the start to one of my favorite series. Somehow, teenagers all around America that die, aren't staying dead. Pheobe has mixed feelings for an undead boy, and her mistakes result in a shocking and terrifying ending. MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Love it :)

    I love this book!!! Is there another one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8