Customer Reviews for

Generation Kill: Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the New Face of American War

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What really went down!

Generation Kill is a daunting and eye opening account of the invasion of Iraq in 2003. I as well as most people in America I'm sure, thought of the invasion to be an easy sweep across the desert country. It was compared to other military invasions, but when you get do...
Generation Kill is a daunting and eye opening account of the invasion of Iraq in 2003. I as well as most people in America I'm sure, thought of the invasion to be an easy sweep across the desert country. It was compared to other military invasions, but when you get down to the nitty gritty of it and experience what the individual soldiers experienced you see just how special these men and women are. This book details the atrocities a group of special marines had to go through on their way to Baghdad. The buildup of the characters in important in portraying the events as real. You don't want to see them get hurt. You want to relate to them or put yourselves in their shoes. I have never seen the HBO series, but I don't need to. This book does enough to illustrate the strong will of these men and what it took to take over Iraq and occupy it. A good read would be an understatement.

posted by Raven_Nevermore2004 on November 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Totally negative account of the war

Never read one positive thing about Wright's coverage of the war in this book. All was negative, commanders incompetant, marines a bunch of misfits. I think Wright took too much 'creative license' in his coverage.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What really went down!

    Generation Kill is a daunting and eye opening account of the invasion of Iraq in 2003. I as well as most people in America I'm sure, thought of the invasion to be an easy sweep across the desert country. It was compared to other military invasions, but when you get down to the nitty gritty of it and experience what the individual soldiers experienced you see just how special these men and women are. This book details the atrocities a group of special marines had to go through on their way to Baghdad. The buildup of the characters in important in portraying the events as real. You don't want to see them get hurt. You want to relate to them or put yourselves in their shoes. I have never seen the HBO series, but I don't need to. This book does enough to illustrate the strong will of these men and what it took to take over Iraq and occupy it. A good read would be an understatement.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    Generation Kill - Evan Wright SIA review : MC

    This book i thought was every good. This is a great book about the early war in Iraq. This book that Evan Write wrote and expericed gave so many details. It was one of the best books I've ever read. Honestly I don't know how he did this I would not be able to do this. This book helped me relize how serious the war is in Iraq and who the people are dying for no reason at all just being at the wrong place and the wrong time. This book makes me relize these guys are not friends strangers or bestfriends they become brothers. They have to count on eachother to stay alive. Evan Wright is a brave man. He put his life on the line to go to Iraq to report it and wright this book and show Americans war is no game it's the real deal, inocent people die. It's not like ok evacuate this town so we can bomb the terrorists, no it's if your there you dead. Well i would recommend this book to anyone one of the greastest war books ever!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2007

    A Great book

    I found it very hard to put this book down once I started reading it. Actually I have not yet finished with it, I'm stretching it out to last as long as possible. If you want a realistic and accurate impression of the start of the current war in Iraq, this tome is for you. Sometimes happy, sometimes sad and tragic, many times funny. The dialogue is very catchy, for instance you don't say fire when you want to engage the enemy, you say 'light em up'. Also included are many good photos of the cast of characters. It gives you the feeling you almost know these Marines, most just out of their teens. So if you like reading about the Military and Military conflict as I do, I recommend that you buy, beg, borrow or steal this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Who better qualifed to write such accounts?

    Just a question for the reviewer who does not like books written by vets about their expierences or by reporters writing about them. Just who do you think should write such accounts if not the people who lived them or those who observed them? Who is better qualified?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Great book!

    Very entertaining and well written. I throughly enjoyed reading every single page in this book. It offers an interesting perspective on the war in Iraq.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Highly recommended

    As a former Marine NCO, this book reveals alot about the basic day to day facts of life that Marines endure when deployed over seas. This is one of the few books that actually protrays life in a line unit. Both the good and the bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Totally negative account of the war

    Never read one positive thing about Wright's coverage of the war in this book. All was negative, commanders incompetant, marines a bunch of misfits. I think Wright took too much 'creative license' in his coverage.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2004

    A Revelation!!

    What a revelation!! Young combat Marines being emotional and speaking their minds to a willing Walter Mitty. Just kidding about the revelation thing. I was in the 1st Marine Division during this time period and believe me all these men are interchangeable with every other Marine...at least in thought processes if not qualifications. The only exception was that the other Marines were well led. Too bad the author got stuck with the moronic leadership of that company and in that battalion at that time. Although his agenda was clear, and would have been for any other unit he embedded with, the book leads one to believe that malcontents stumbled their way to victory. Obviously not the case. This leads me to believe his goal was to appeal to the 'wanna-be' commando types like some of the reviewers below who believe everything written to be fact. Add this book to your soldier of fortune hero collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    Must Read, you will not put it down!

    I've been trying to read first hand accounts of the Iraq War, as many of you have, to experience (through reading only) what the enlisted man went through as a soldier in this war. Politics has totally corrupted the current events genre, and the politics of this war are particulary disrupting. This author, Evan Wright, has NO BONES TO PICK. (the most important thing right now). The reviewer before who gave this book one star is completely incorrect, the platoon never does anything more than complain about the grooming standard, or the commander of first Recon who administors it. The author states they respect him (Ferrando) although they think is going to get them killed through his aggresiveness. However, they do rebel against their company commander (Captain America). I suggest the previous reviewer did not find the book supportive enough of his/her opinions of the war and he/she should stick to accounts of the war by partisans who parade as military historians/reporters such as Ollie North, and not a real non-fiction novel. A real telling of the war would have to include plenty of ammunition against the war, because after all, we do not live in a black and white world, and war is one hell of a policy. The best thing about this book is it's depiction of the soldiers who fight in it. You will not find more vivid and real characters. With those characters, tells the story of a new generation who bring new dimensions to the battlefield such as 'gameboys', rap music, and digital video cameras. MUST READ. I PROMISE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    Generation Trick

    Searing? Powerful? New face of American War? Hardly. Any combat veteran will tell you these are the musings and voices of any and all young combat troops of any era. The bluster, bravado and complaining are part of the mental process of dealing with fear of the unknown. What the author has done at almost the smallest tactical unit level is record that process having been unwittingly duped by an effort reminiscent of the classic movie 'The Sting.' What young Marine would not want his banal and purposely provacative boasting recorded by an eager battle neophyte who thinks he has uncovered a 'Deep Throat-like' revelation. He was like putty in their hands. For example, his continual reference to the men belittling their battalion commander's adherence to grooming standards is made to sound as if there were nearly a mutiny over the issue. In reality this is part of military discipline and always a source much amusing banter and speculation of how long it will be before the Gunny makes you shave. This book was written like the genre of VietNam War era experiences books of dubious validity. A very narrow focus with a continual hackneyed denegration of leaders. Not destined to be a classic of the period. Merely amusing.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Drug Training Room

    Train your dog to smell out drugs

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Difficult

    Since I am not of the military, the jargon could bog me down at times. As a mother of two men, I am saddened at what our young men appear to be turned into: cold hearted killers who are just doing their jobs. Theysound so young, so immature and then I remember that is what they are: kids put into unthinkable positions. This story pretty much helped me realize that there never has been anything noble about war. What was our mission in this country? I dont think I know any more than these young men knew: nothing From the Vietnam books I have read on the ineptness and waste in that useless war, to the awful March 2005 rape and murder
    of an entire innocent family by an out ofcontrol unit, I simply cannot fathom why we send anyone into war when many of our own commanders are inept, egotistical, narcissists who simply play a game of gotcha. I am appalled at the likez of Capt America and that he was allowed to continue. My heart aches for every kid and I mean that literally called upon to be killers in a world that leaves them with what? PTSD as well as questions about their own humanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    An eyeopening novel that is a must read!

    As someone who knew little to nothing about the war in Iraq, I can honestly say that this book was such an eye-opener. Even Wright, a columnist for Rolling Stone, takes us on his journey with the First Recon Battalion Marines to invade Iraq in 2003. These Marines are well trained and highly motivated and, through Wright, we have the opportunity to not only get a first-hand insight to the war, but we get to learn about the men under the uniform.

    What's so great about this book is that the majority of it is fairly unbiased. Wright sticks to the facts and uses his writing skills to paint a picture for the reader. His use of allusions was specifically helpful to me so that I could relate to the events in the book as best as I possibly can.

    I did a little research on the book after reading it and found that some of the soldiers mentioned in the book were outraged, saying Wright's account on what happened was warped and insulting. But after a little more research, I found that most of the soldiers mentioned found the book to be a fairly good account of what happened. They mentioned that Wright may have embellished some parts of the book and taken some things out of context but overall, this book is accurate. But even so, that's something to keep in mind while reading it.

    I think anyone should read this book. Even if you know nothing about the war or have to interest in it, this book is enlightening and it's worth knowing what our citizens our doing overseas. You may not like this book if you don't like to hear the truth. There is brutality in this book, there is friendship, there adventure, there is sorrow. This book will take a toll on your emotions. But every American should know the facts.

    Like I said before, I didn't know much about the war so I hadn't read any other novels to recommend but I did watch some of the HBO mini-series "Generation Kill". It's 7 episodes and based on this book and stays, for the most part, very true to the book. It's a good series and I would highly recommend it - especially if you don't want to read the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    Excellent book

    I am not one who is usually interested books about the military at all, but my cousin, a marine, told me that this book is a great depiction of what went down in the first soldiers Humvees' as they swept through Iraq looking for weapons of mass destruction and Osama. While my cousin wasn't in First Reconnaissance battalion, he said he encourages anyone and everyone to read it, so that they can maybe begin to realize what it was like over there. First Recon is what Evan Wright called the first disposable youth, the generation that was raised on Marilyn Manson and Grand Theft Auto, there was no hesitation for shooting people from these soldiers. They are pretty much left in the dark as to what their assignment is the entire time, but they soon figure out that they are led, more or less, on a suicide mission, but it has to be done, their success is essential to winning the war. As soon as they realize this they craft a nick name for themselves, "First suicide battalion". Evan wrights about all of this very well, adding commentary from the soldiers, and vivid descriptions of everything that is happening at once. Very seldom i find books that i enjoy so much that i read in 3 days, but this was one of them, and i will for sure read it again. 5 out of 5 stars, for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Did two tours

    Great book, but its still missing something.

    The book Generation Kill is the story of a group of guys in a battalion nicknamed 'First Suicide Battalion.' They are the group that goes in there and stirrs up the bees nest. The book is good in that it captures the reality of the situation and the different soldiers, fromt the trailer park trahs, to the drug addicts, to the Highbrow Harvard and MIT graduates. The book is all about how the soldiers cope and deal with the battles and struggles they go through. It's funny, good humor and Wright goes into good depth the different aspects of war and its not just another fluff piece, but I guess I am just biased against vets writing about their experiences and journalist writing about the vets and their experiences, something becomes lost in translation. But for a journalist, Wright does do a good job, and a good book for a soldiers perspective is also,"Mass Casualties: A Young Medic's True Story of Death, Deception, and Dishonor in Iraq"; maybe like a medical, Army version of.

    But wars are all different. I went there in 2003ish and again in 2006. Both times it felt like different wars and i think it probably changes between people, deployments and bases. Wright's book was good for his time during war and for being a journalist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    good book

    i'm not a book reader but am now. easy to read and very absorbing. i couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    FULL OF ACTION!!!

    Derek Gruis Review

    In the novel, generation kill, Evan Wright writes about a eye-opening, and brutal account on the war in Iraq. He writes about a group of guys and there actions and thoughts in the war.

    The book Generation Kill in about the story of a group of guys in a battalion called First Recon or its nickname "First Suicide Battalion". There the highest most talented group in the military, there the first to go in, the tip of the spear and the last to go out. But in real life there a mixed group of people from white trash trailer park, drug addicted people, to even Harvard students. This book tells about all the battles there in but mostly how they coupe in the war, and try to stay together as a brother hood. Some of the problems they have are how to tell between civilian and from enemy fighters. Many people don't like looking past the fog of war, but Evan Wright leaves no details out of all the death and destruction.

    The book is full of action, brutality and a lot of black humor. But Evan Wright did a good job describing the characters in the book, and how the coupe though to get though the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    Generation Kill-SIA Review M.B

    One of the most powerful books I have ever read. You can't get any closer to war unless you're in it. It leaves nothing out; every image, word, and action that happened is there. All their interactions with the Iraqi citizens, to the fightings, accidental killings, its all there. You can feel the bond these Marines have for each other, and how, whether they like it or not, they do their job. It surprised me how under-equipped the Marines were. Most impressions of the U.S military is that of an invincible giant, but these guys had to fight with weapons that constantly jammed, equipment that they didn't have batteries for, and leaders that were complete and utter morons. This book really doesn't have an opinion on the war; the only opinions voiced are that of the soldiers, and they varied. I highly recommend this book to everyone who wants to know warfare today.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    Generation Kill- SIA Review: LF

    This book was extremely interesting. The commaraderie between the men almost makes them seem like brothers, going through the good times and the bad together. It shows that Americans don't really know who they are fighting because most of the times in the book the enemy was in street clothes blending in with the civilians. The book also showed that even the United States' Armed Forces which to many seems invincible, has many flaws in the system including leadership and equipment. I believe Evan Wright is one of the best aithors of our time because of the fact that he went to the frontlines with theses men, trained with them, fought with them, and became one of them all to write a book. It is also amazing to see the changing relationship with the Fedayeen went from being on the same side to fighting and trying to kill eachother. Generation Kill was a very interesting book and showed Americans the harsh reality of war and the dangers faced by Americans in Iraq everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Provides Great Insight for the Untold Story of the War in Iraq

    This book can show any reader the true story of the War in Iraq. We are constantly told that the War in Iraq is going well and that it is very organized by our leaders when really, things are awfully falling apart. The soldiers are demoralized and totally brainwashed to be killing machines. This book can equally serve as a prequel to All Quiet on the Western Front. The soldiers in this book are the amped up and confident soliders who eventually become depressed and traumatic as the soldiers are portrayed in All Quiet on the Western Front. Several times in the book, the reader is shocked with the obscure and opposite viewpoint that is presented. At home, we watch this war on television and read about it on the news. That gives you the facts that may very well not be true. Reading this book gives you the pure experience of Iraq. Reading a New York Times article and watching Fox News will not give you the experience of being in Iraq during this war. Furthermore, this book shows how war crushes a person. The soldiers in this book will never be the same again. They are perverted, brainwashed, and have no sense of formality. This is because they are brainwashed by the United States Armed Forces. For anyone who is thinking about serving in the Armed Forces, reading this book will help you decide if you really want to go through what these men went through. They witnessed children's heads being blown off. They witnessed grown men being scared to the point of near tears from the terror of their fellow Iraqis. This book puts the reader in Iraq with the members of the First Recon Unit in the Marines. There is only one way to experience the War in Iraq more than the experience of this book, and that is going to Iraq and jumping right in the middle of battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9