Customer Reviews for

Generation Me: Why Today's Young Americans Are More Confident, Assertive, Entitled--and More Miserable Than Ever Before

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great read probably one of the most entertaining books I've read in a while!

    This book completely made me rethink about our individualistic culture.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Hilarious and Informative

    I began reading this book while working on a project for class. Even though the information in this book was a very small part of my project, I found myself reading the entire thing.

    Jean Twenge puts a really fun spin on some serious generational issues. Yes, I am a part of "Generation Me" and proud of it. This book made me laugh at myself and also gave me some insight into the generation of my parents (the Baby Boomers).

    This book is quite a delightful read as it is informative as well as funny. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Review

    Great read, Eye opener for those questioning what the bleep is going on in the heads of our younger generations

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    Interesting

    This book was informative and was very appealing to me. I had to choose a book for my senior project at school and this book caught my eye. After reading the back of it because I wanted to make sure it was something id like to read I decided to choose it and I red it. Upon reading I found out about some pretty odd stuff even to me who is apparently a part of this "Generation Y". I have never participated or even heard of a "rainbow party" and I do not think I am special over somebody else. I do feel this book is somewhat a statement of the authors opinion over fact and it lumps this generation together due to a small group who the author has talked about. There is some fact however to some of the things stated in the book such as stress and marriages. If I could recommend this book to someone I definitely would.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Everyone needs to read this book!

    I used this book as a textbook in my college research class. My students could not stop talking about it. Very well researched and well written, it is an interesting read as well. My students told me that this was not only one book that they would not be 'selling back to the bookstore', but that they would be leaving it 'around' for their parents to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    A Must Read for Managers

    When coaching managers on how to assimilate the newest generation into the workplace, I add this book to their reading list. Gen Y has upset the balance in organizations, and management must understand where these new professionals are coming from. One thing is certain, they are not going to change! Dr. Twenge does a great job of describing what this generation looks like, what they want and what they need. Unlike other authors, she has the courage to point out not just the good and the bad, but also the ugly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    A must read

    Wow! Dr. Twenge has provided an entertaining in-your-face book about the values we are teaching our children. Her ability to weave fact into a coherent and entertaining storyline is incredible. I see examples of Dr. Twenge's research everyday. This book has really helped me understand others' values. Thank you Dr. Twenge

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    Definitive book for today's young generation

    This book was a lot of fun to read. It discusses topics ranging from the self-esteem movement to changes in dating behaviors to general attitude changes (and much more) over the past several decades while incorporating many pop culture references. Every time I pick up this book I keep reading because every page has an interesting statistic on it. It's refreshing to see a book about generations that uses so much actual hard data to back up its claims.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Highly informative, recommended read for thoughtful parents and grandpsrents

    Illuminating, but breezy in style, not enough critical analysis and references. Somewhat unsettling, but a must read to gain some understanding of where our civilization is heading culturally. Should be read together with the classic: "The Lonely Crowd" by David Riesman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Author doesn't know what she is talking about.

    This book is rampant with gross generalizations and oversimplification. She lumps in all young adults from the 1970s onward which have shown to have rather different outlooks from one another. Secondly, the author misunderstands the differnce between refusing to buy into the collective cultural illusions of generations past with being spoiled -ridiculous. This is just another attempt to whitewash the truth and blame it on the next generation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Read with a grain of salt.

    Not very well-written with questionable research methodology.

    The author uses the most extreme examples from "Generation Me" and cites them as fact. She asserts that "Generation Me" comprises people born from the 1970s to the 2000s, a span of roughly thirty years. Most sociologists have seperated these into three individual generations (X,Y, and Z) due to their cultural differences. To combine them into one group and pass them off as the same is misleading.
    The mean age of members of Generation Y was approximately 15 and the eldest of Generation Z was still in grade school when this book came out. The author focuses primarily on people in the late teens to early thirties, yet claims that her research includes members of Generations Y and Z.

    This book is unreliable pop sociology and should be regarded as such.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Generation Me Too

    As many of other reviewers have pointed out, this is an interesting book with a good premise, but ultimately frustrating and full of shortcomings. The basic premise of the book, that the recent generation of people is more self-centered and self-confident, is well argued in the first few chapters of the book, with plenty of empirical evidence and detailed statistical analysis. If book had focused on those claims and chapters, it would have been very convincing and interesting. Unfortunately, Twenge takes off after that in all sorts of directions, talking about all the ways that the culture and society have changed in the past couple of decades. Some of that stuff is interesting, some of it is rather trite and familiar to anyone who has not been living under a rock over that time period. The book loses focus, and never recovers to the quality of the earlier chapters. This could have been a much better book had the author focused on a much narrower set of issues. This way, it still makes for an interesting read, but not something I would necessarily go out of my way to recommend others.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Generation Me.

    I just recently read this book. I was born in the 90's. I do feel in a way the author, Jean Twenge, Is bashing the younger generations, because when your young you do need incouragement if your going to get anywhere, and I feel that Jean Twenge is saying that Generation Me is lazy, and that we won't get anywhere if we don't get over our self- rightious attitudes! I did not like the book because of that acpect.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    "Generation Me" was not for me.

    Many books are written talking about the drastic change in culture in recent years. "Generation Me" is one such book, that makes a comprehensive attempt to explain why the younger generations of today are different from what once was. However, I feel that this book misses the point. It goes into great depth and research regarding the most recent generations change from the typical beliefs of society into something completely new. Though this can be useful and points out many key points of this generation, it seems to focus almost entirely on the negative.

    By doing this, the author sets a condescending tone that can put off the reader. It also often makes the comparison that many of the bad things that are happening in the time of "Generation Me" were not in the time of previous generations. This allows me to infer that the author feels that the previous generations are better and this newest generation is inferior. Being placed within the definition of this so called generation, I felt insulted by these assertions. This leads me to bring up the fact that this book hardly, if ever, brought up any positives about this generation. It often suggested things that most would consider positive such as individuality, and self-respect, but always provides them with a negative connotation.

    This book lead me to believe that the author is greatly troubled by the younger generation and that they believe there are few if any positives about it. I feel the author is wrong in this assertion and that she should stop living in the past and cherish the present.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Twenge on the latest Generation

    I was very excited about reading this book for a theological class. As a Member as what Jean M. Twenge dubs as ¿Generation Me¿ I was thrilled to learn about shifts in society that occur as different generations take command. In the beginning chapters Twenge discusses the Groupieness of the Baby Boomers which had started in the 60¿s. our generations values independence and individualism. What really makes Generation Me such a convincing book is how Twenge presents her theories which are well refined. She does not only make her theories convincing but also provides more then ample statical information to back them up. All of her stastical information has come from proven evaluations created by some of the best Behavioral Specialists to have ever lived. In the final chapters of the book, Twenge recommends several solutions we can deploy to fix the flaws in our ¿Generation Me¿ which is, creating nationalized child daycare, extending public school into the college years and pushing back the start of a school day to 9 AM. Although her solutions are convincing, I question the relevance of this to the main theme. Rather, she is complaining about how she believes that college graduates can not make enough money out of school to raise a family at the average age of 30 because the cost of living is simply too expensive. She describes our new generation as one expecting privilege and entitlement, ironically she proves it though her asinine solutions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Another book identifying problems

    You know this is about the 8th book on Generation Y that I have read. Thus far the only book that offers any solutions to the way kids act and behave today is a book titled 'Save Generations Y and Z' by Hopkins. If you are a parent and want solutions or ideas, start there first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2