Customer Reviews for

Genesis: A Soul Savers Novella

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A perfect addition to the Soul Savers series! This is the preque

    A perfect addition to the Soul Savers series! This is the prequel that takes us back to the beginning of the Amadis, of Good versus Evil. Angel Andrew becomes a fallen Angel in the name of love. He then fathers two children, one good and one evil. Cassandra, the good, becomes the start of the Amadis and is akin to Alexis. We catch glimpses of her as Alexis goes through the AngDora. She helps Alexis in times of great fear. This is a perfect addition to the series, very well written!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    LOVE THIS

    Love this series, you are a fantastic writer. I can't wait for the next book, please keep us posted when it's ready to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Really enjoyed!!!!!!!!!!!

    read the first of the series free and bought the rest before I finished the 1st. Can't wait for the next, and will check out her other books!!!!!!Really enjoyed the series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Great!

    Answers many questions I had from the other books. My favorite series ever!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great origin story for the Amadis!

    Kristie Cook takes us 2,000 years in the past to when the Amadis got their beginning. The Angel Andrew was charged with protecting Zoe, but he did more than that. He loved her. When Zoe is attacked by Daemoni, instead of staying in the Otherworld and obeying the commands he was given, Andrew crosses over and reveals himself. As punishment, Andrew is sentenced to live 200 years as a human man. This is how Cassandra and Jordan came into being. Upon Andrew's death bed he reveals the truth to his children. But Cassandra and Jordan see completely different visions: Cassandra sees her father as an angel ascending back into Heaven; Jordan sees his father as a demon descending into Hell. And that's where the divide between Cassandra and Jordan begins. Cassandra is such a kind and caring person. She shows amazing devotion to what she believes. She never gives into Jordan's attempts to get her to join the Daemoni. Someone with that kind of strength and her compassion for those in need makes Cassandra the perfect person to lead the Amadis. Because Jordan believes whole-heartily that he and Cassandra are half demon and that it explains the darkness that he's felt building inside himself, he's become blinded to the truth. Once he finds the Daemoni, Jordan becomes obsessed with not only the power he can gain, but also with getting Cassandra to come with him. Jordan becomes so steeped in evil that it just oozes off him in waves. I have come to love this series so much and I really enjoyed having the chance to read where everything began. Genesis is such a bittersweet tale. I didn't know whether to be happy or sad by the end. I think it's best to read Genesis after Purpose, because at the end of Purpose Alexis is reading her book and the history of the Amadis. So it's like we're reading the Amadis origin with her. I have to say that sometimes the purposes the characters in the Soul Savers series have are kind of sad. In Genesis, Jordan's purpose was to join the Daemoni and create a potion that would not only make the Daemoni more powerful, but give Cassandra the power to create the Amadis. And it was so heartbreaking when Jordan realized the truth. But that's part of what makes Kristie's writing so amazing. She know how to draw in her readers and make the feel something for her characters. I'm so emotionally invested in this series that I'm definitely going to see it through to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Very intreresting.

    Loved the book. Cannot wait to continue the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How it all began....

    My Thoughts:
    If you've seen my review of Promise, the first book in the Soul Saver series, then you know it's my current obsession. And there is nothing my inner nerd loves more than to go back to the beginning, to where it all began, who was involved, and WHY. If you were to ask me if you should read Genesis first, I myself am a little surprised by my answer:

    No. I don't think you should know more than Alexis does when you get into Promise, or I feel like the impact of her frustration and confusion loses its punch. I feel like it belongs where I haphazardly read it, and that's between book 1 & 2. But on to Genesis!

    The prologue sets us up in ancient Thessaly, where the angel Andrew guards his charge, a human woman named Zoe, for whom his feelings are strange and new. When three minions attack her, a demon also attacks Andrew, and they battle for her soul. Andrew wins but the vampires have done their damage. Andrew crosses the veil between the human realm and the Otherworld to prevent them from changing her or silencing her faint heartbeat. He feeds her his golden blood and heals her, only to be punished by the Higher Angels by being cast out of Heaven, but not as a demon, for his sin was of love, not greed or hate or pride.

    Interested yet?

    This story mainly focuses on Cassandra, and her twin brother Jordan, 200 years later. When their father dies, they both experience his jaw dropping news that they are descended from angels differently. Jordan has always been restless, a little dark and chooses to believe they are part demon. Cassandra, the healer, believes their father. They fight and part ways, Jordan to seek answers from some very nefarious characters, and Cassandra to journey alone and find her own truth.

    Their story reaches an epic climax as the siblings, each having acquired powers, battle it out, for family, for supremacy, for love and for our souls. This is the beginning of Daemoni and the Amadis....And lead right into the prophecy regarding Tristian and Alexis.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Great book series

    This kept me on edge. The storyline was good. Read this first then read the series. Cannot wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It was a good read, but not nearly as good as the four books in

    It was a good read, but not nearly as good as the four books in the original series. This one doesn't focus on the main characters but instead on their ancestors. A good back story, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Really enjoyed this series and totally fell in love with Tristan

    Really enjoyed this series and totally fell in love with Tristan and even Owen. Loved all the characters and was very well written. Can't wait for the next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    Deliciously sexy addition to the soul savers series!

    Deliciously sexy addition to the soul savers series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    A little too pat

    Well written but nothing new added to the story or plot...just fleshing out background...but i am eager for 5 in series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Wow

    Wow, I loved this book, it took about 2 chapters to get into but after that I couldn't put it down. The characters were wonderful with their stuggles of good versus evil, brother versus sister and heaven versus hell. The story and writing style of this book sucked me in completely and I can't wait to read the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of answers and how it all began ;)

    Genesis takes us back to where it all began, fills in all the questions that a reader may have after reading Purpose and Promise and gives us strong characaters that Im sure you will admire and enjoy !

    A fantastic Novella - filled with action, adventure, suspsense and mystery !!! And the cover whats not to love right ! lol.

    Genesis enlightens us as to how the Amadias and Daemoni became about a battle of wars between Good and Evil . Where we see the action and fight with Tristan and Alexis in the all three novels.

    Genesis takes us all the way back to the first of the people - Casandra and giving us reason into why she is like she is and became the way she is. Kristie has included alot of information and insight also has to how things become about and the connections involved.

    Reading all three novels first I find that Genesis would be a great read after purpose as it fills in any questions that you may have after reading Novel one.

    Kristie has once again woven her magic in the novella , keeping the reader intrigued from beginning to end. !! A must read that wonderfully blends in with this SOul series leaving the readers mind filled and content !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Angel

    Its a good book. It could have been a little longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Good vs evil mix

    A must read for this series! 401 pages. Hope you enjoy as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2