Customer Reviews for

Genevieve

Average Rating 4
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First reading of Eric Jerome Dickey...

    ...and it might be my last. The build-up, characters, and storyline were all good but the ending fell flat and left many holes and questions unanswered. I enjoyed the ride of reading it but only became frustrated that I spent all my time reading it when the ending wasn't that satisfying. It definetly could've had a MUCH better wrap-up and I think Mr. Dickey got real sloppy for whatever reason... So great read, but a sorry, regretful end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    I opened this book believing that it was going to be another ejd great. But boy was i wrong. It seemed like i was going fast but ending up no where. I mean don't get me wrong ejd is one of my favorite authors but this book was just all wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    Poor performance

    I have to say that I am a huge Dickey fan but this book was a waste of time. It had such a captivating start but ended up being a huge disappointment. I was not impressed by the author's attempt to provide such a poetic voice and was even more upset that the entire book was about a freakin family reunion!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    His worst to date

    This book has no plot, no reason, and leaves you unfullfilled. This book should have been a short story and not a novel. Eric, you have done better.... I guess you got a bit burned out trying to write this story....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    extremely boring book

    When I read about the book in the description i thought hey this is probaly a good book. This book was boring from jump boring old story about a man cheating with his sisters wife. people get tried of hearing about cheaters i guess if you are interested in that kinda stuff you would like it. but i thought it was not interesting enough to keep my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Disappointed

    I have read alot of Eric Jerome Dickey's books. I would have to say that this would be the worse. I really didn't like this book. It took me a week to finish the entire book. The reason because I just wasn't into it, I wasn't wondering what happens next. I just wanted to get it over with and I'm happy I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    Not Worth The Wait

    I am an avid EJD fan, but I must say that this novel was a slow read. I read it in a day, just because it was an EJD novel. However, it didn't seem interesting until the last maybe 2 or 3 chapters. It took forever to get to Genevieve's family and hometown. It's not as much a page turner like the others. Hopefully the next will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    EJD WAS BACKED UP ON THIS ONE.

    Sex, sex and not much of a story line. If it wasn't for the secret that came out, this would have been a total wash. I have read all of his books and they were excellent; I guess you can't keep it going all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    NOT AS GOOD AS THE REST

    I waited with bated breath for this book.. I have to say that this disappointed me. There seemed to be a whole lot of very detailed sex and a lot of very contrived prose without any real story. I don't think that I have ever read a book where none of the characters had any redeeming qualities. Having said all that there were enough small sparks of the old EJD books I've loved to keep me reading. Still a devoted fan and I will wait for his next offering with equally as bated breath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    Very slow read

    I just bought this book yesterday and usually when I buy a book by eric jerome dickey I'm done by now. This was a total let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Disappointed

    I am also an EJD fan, I have read every book, however, this is the worst book by him. The characters were boring, uninteresting and just plain boring. I didn't care what happened to them, and I finished the book so I could move on to something else. EJD go back to your roots, you old stuff, Friends and Lovers and Sister, Sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    slow read

    I am truly an EJD fan also. But i was very disappointed in this one. It was very erotic but not enough of a story line. I think he could have done more with this one. And also, there were some typos! :) Good luck on the next one, Eric....looking forward to it....and take your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1