BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Genghis: Bones of the Hills (Ghenghs Khan: Conqueror Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great historical yarn

Historical fiction at its best. Genghis really comes alive in these pages, along with many of his contemporaries. A tour de force.

posted by arniereadsfiction on December 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

E-book pricing sucks!

Before anyone get inflamed about me rating a book on pricing, hear me out. The way e-books are being priced is absolutely disgusting. I can understand it when a hardcover is initially released if they want to keep the prices high. Pricing it higher than a paperback - t...
Before anyone get inflamed about me rating a book on pricing, hear me out. The way e-books are being priced is absolutely disgusting. I can understand it when a hardcover is initially released if they want to keep the prices high. Pricing it higher than a paperback - that is insulting to the customer.

1. You pay money to buy an ebook reader
2. There is no resale value for the ebook
3. There are no printing costs and minimal distribution costs for ebooks.

What the heck are the publishers thinking? This is going to be my last eBook from B&N. My Nook is going to be purely used to rent books from the library till they fix the pricing model.

posted by Vkal on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    E-book pricing sucks!

    Before anyone get inflamed about me rating a book on pricing, hear me out. The way e-books are being priced is absolutely disgusting. I can understand it when a hardcover is initially released if they want to keep the prices high. Pricing it higher than a paperback - that is insulting to the customer.

    1. You pay money to buy an ebook reader
    2. There is no resale value for the ebook
    3. There are no printing costs and minimal distribution costs for ebooks.

    What the heck are the publishers thinking? This is going to be my last eBook from B&N. My Nook is going to be purely used to rent books from the library till they fix the pricing model.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    A great historical yarn

    Historical fiction at its best. Genghis really comes alive in these pages, along with many of his contemporaries. A tour de force.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    thumbs up

    not only a good read, but a mind teaser as well. after reading this book i immediately had to read the next in the series, then the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Genghis

    This third in a series, should not have been the last ; but was well written. It made you want to see the future Khan's in writing, and how they made a impact on the future of thier times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spellbinding

    As with the precedent novels of this series, Conn Iggulden brings an age long gone by back to life in all its terrifying splendor and does an incredible job of it. From the very beginning to the end, he gives his audience an unsurpassable realistic plunge back into the past, to how the world worked at that time and how those who lived at that time saw it. Even those characters who stay in the novel only for a breadth of time are concretely imagined and solidly rooted in Iggulden's realistic setting, only giving the book more life.
    Yet perhaps the most distinguishing trait that stands out is the fact that Conn Iggulden gives one of the greatest conquerors in history every human characteristics a man could possibly posses, making him seem much more than the cruel khan who ordered the deaths of millions and bathed in destruction and blood eveyrwhere he went. For indeed, while Genghis is revealed as an extroardinary man who did the unprecedent, Conn Iggulden also reveals him as a man with his own pains and troubles and how he deals and surmounts them--that which made him legendary. The author interweaves these two characteristics together so well that the reader actually finds himself rooting for the mongol khan and his fellow kin along the book, asking for more destruction and bloodshed.
    Demanding more destruction and bloodshed.
    Combined with the author's suspense and thrilling pace, this is one book the reader will enjoy wholly to the last page and devour eagerly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I listened to the story as an audiobook, narrated by Richard Fer

    I listened to the story as an audiobook, narrated by Richard Ferrone, so my review is based on that version.

    I first read this book several years ago and liked it so much that I got the audiobook version for my husband to listen to during his commute. Now I discovered that there are two more in the series out, Khan: Empire of Silver and Conqueror, so I decided to go back and listen to this third in the series to help remind me of everyone’s names and the places Genghis was conquering.

    This book starts out with Genghis’ army, his brothers, and his sons fighting against the Arab warriors. These Arab warriors were some of the toughest the Khan had ever faced and their numbers were overwhelming. The Arab warriors were not easily defeated and it would take all of the Khan’s armies to defeat him.

    This story is also the story of how Genghis’ sons have grown into generals and are still working to impress their father. The oldest son, Jochi, is not accepted as a true son because his mother was captured and raped around the time he was conceived. Although Genghis doesn’t openly say he doesn’t believe Jochi is his son, it is clear by his attitude and actions toward Jochi that he isn’t wholly accepted. Genghis’ second oldest son, Chagatai, believes that he will be chosen as heir over Jochi and goes out of his way to make Jochi’s life miserable.

    Although some of the things in this book are works of fiction, Conn Iggledun sticks mostly to the Historical Fact to create this book. Most of what we know about Genghis is based on second and third hand accounts anyway because there was no written record of the rise of Genghis. If you enjoy historical fiction and want to learn more about Genghis Khan, this is the series for you!

    The Narration Review
    This audiobook was narrated by Richard Ferrone and he does a great job narrating this story. I think his voice is perfect for the whole historical fiction genre, but especially for these stories of Genghis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Awesome and savage.

    This incredible and barbaric man evokes emotions of admiration and hate, simultaneously. I could not put this book down and can't wait to get to the next in the series KHAN, Empire of Silver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    A Must-Read, even for the fairer sex!

    Not being a fan of war games or battle tactics, I never thought an historical recounting of one of history's greatest conquerors would ever appeal to me, but picked up this book on holiday and couldn't put it down. Even though this is the final segment of Genghis' fascinating life as a nomadic warrior leader, the book comes together beautifully. Put away any thoughts of the Mongol tribesmen as ignorant barbarians - they may have opted for a more rudimentary lifestyle, never possessing more than they could carry with them, but were nothing short of resilient, determined masters of strategy. Genghis Khan spawned an empire that spanned centuries and continents, and Conn Iggulden's writings are based on fact, with very few digressions. He includes historical notes at the end of his books, giving more insight to the reader, and offering alternative reading material for those who wish to delve further into the period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting novel of the peak years of Genghis Khan's life and conquests.

    Conn Iggulden's Genghis Bones of the Hills was an enjoyable light read about a generally little known historical figure. The book is the third in a trilogy telling of the life of this world conqueror who devastated China, the Middle East, and parts of Europe. It is largely a work of fiction that takes considerable liberties with the true facts and people of that time; nevertheless, it was fun to read and still educational concerning the life and times of the Mongol people in their heyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Genghis

    More of the same. Lost me mid stream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Great melding of history and fiction

    The description, of the times and attitudes, of the power and social structure of the times makes history come alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book one of my favorite Authors

    This series has been such a great escape. Who would have thought you could learn so much history and be so entertained. I waited with for each new one with little patience. Conn Iggulden is definitely one of my favorite writers!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Iggulden does it again.

    I really like Iggulden's style, especially in these "historical" looks at the Mongol empire of Genghis Khan. I am not an historian of this era or knowledgeable of this particular region's history then, but the story tracks closely enough with the growth of the empire for me, so I was able to sit back and enjoy the story and the richness of detail Iggulden brings.
    It is fast-paced, swash-buckling and a quick read. It should be longer. If you liked his first two Ghengis Khan books, you will like this one, for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Final book in trilogy.

    Again, Iggulden takes you there. A must if you read the first two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6