Customer Reviews for

Genghis: Birth of an Empire (Genghis Khan: Conqueror Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Ride Across the Mongolian Steppe

    I really enjoyed the first in Conn Iggulden's "Genghis" series. He created a lot of depth of character for Genghis (or Temujin as he's originally called) and his family, a solid foundation for his motives, and his core cadre that make up the base of characters for all three books in the series.

    In broad strokes, "Birth of an Empire" traces the rise of Genghis Khan from his birth through his first melding of tribes to unite against a common Asian foe. It's a bit of your typical rags-to-riches: Temujin grows up as son of a mongol tribe leader who's deposed (and probably murdered); he and his family are then exiled and hunted and he's forced to grow up sooner than he should, but because of it is stronger. Come to think of it, the story is less rags-to-riches, than it is rags-to-different-rags-and-charismatic-brooding-power.

    The story is rife with action and adventure and Iggulden creates an enjoyable ride out of the snippets of his early life that motivate a young Temujin to emerge leader of the Mongol empire

    Iggulden freely admits that he takes liberties with history to make better fiction. I don't have much background on Khan, but in a couple of quick comparisons, I didn't feel that Iggulden stretched too far to make his story work well. I also believe that there are relatively few solid historical resources on the young Genghis which leaves a lot of space for Iggulden to explore.

    By comparison, I struggled to get through the author's first historical fiction series on Julius Caesar. Caesar's motivations were mild at best, and the changes in history seemed rather random and unnecessary. But such is the nature of historical "fiction" - the extent of "fiction" will have varying appeals based on the pre-existing knowledge and interest of the reader. So, to my taste, I didn't mind the liberties taken with Genghis, but found the liberties taken with Caesar bothersome.

    I thoroughly enjoyed "Birth of an Empire" and was taken in enough by the story to gobble up the second in the series "Lords of the Bow" and buy the hardcover 3rd in the series "Bones of the Hills" as soon as it was released. I even jumped into Mongolian non-fiction with Weatherford's "Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World".

    Iggulden hit on a number of recommendation-worthy elements with his book: 1) as a standalone novel it is fun, engaging, exciting and contains solid depth of character; 2) I was drawn into the storyline enough to want to read the rest of the series; 3) the historical nature of the story was strong enough to draw me out of the Genghis fictional realm and into non-fiction.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A riveting read

    Never really knew about this series before so thought I would pick this one up before checking out the second one, and am glad I did. Historical fiction can be done very well, or very badly, this is one of the former. At times it was hard to put down, I was pulled into the story and lived through the life of Temujin feeling his pains and his joys. I wanted to get through the last chapter in one so I wouldn't miss any of the battle, I was glad I did and though sorry to see it end I was glad it ended where it did - making me want more. I'm definitely going to get the next one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent historical fiction

    Genghis ¿ Birth of An Empire is a well written and fascinating account of the early life of Genghis Khan. Written with great skill the author keeps the reader¿s interest in this page turner novel. <BR/><BR/>With a keen eye to historical accuracy Iggulden creates a magnificent tale full of intrigue and betrayal, tragedy and triumph worthy of the subject Genghis Khan. <BR/><BR/>The characters are real and personal, by the end of the book the reader is not sure whether to like or fear the man that takes the name Genghis. He is ruthless and brutal but you are compelled to cheer for his triumphs and lament his sorrows.<BR/><BR/>I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of historical fiction, this is one of the best examples I have had the pleasure to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    A Great Read

    I enjoy reading Mongolian History and I am always looking for the next best book about the time of Genghis Khan and the Mongolian Horde. This book was outstanding from beginning to end, though I've read the story numerous times it was captivating and exciting. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in Historical Fiction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Genghis: Birth of an Empire by Conn Iggulden is a his­tor­i­cal

    Genghis: Birth of an Empire by Conn Iggulden is a his­tor­i­cal fic­tion story fol­low­ing the young man who will even­tu­ally become Genghis Kahn. This is the first book of a series which at the time of the writ­ing of this post num­bers five nov­els known col­lec­tively is the Con­queror series.

    Temu­jin is a son of Mon­gol tribe leader who has been killed. Temu­jin and his fam­ily get exiled, hunted and forced to aban­don their child­hood and inno­cence. The charis­matic Temu­jin grows stronger and soon takes con­trol of his father's tribe to become Genghis Khan.

    I had waited a long time to read Genghis: Birth of an Empire by Conn Iggulden, I bought it while it was on sale one day and it sim­ply resided there until I had a chance to read it (there are many other books suf­fer­ing the same fate). Once I got started though, the book was dif­fi­cult to put down.

    Mr. Iggulden weaves a good story with fas­ci­nat­ing his­tor­i­cal detail while keep­ing up the drama in the story. As bru­tal as life was in the plains of Mon­go­lia, Genghis man­ages to mix bril­liance with vio­lence, respect with strength and under­stands the neces­si­ties of sur­vival in a community.

    Unlike other Mon­gol lead­ers, Genghis Kahn under­stood the impor­tance of the tribes unit­ing, both for secu­rity and strength (even though I'm sure many saw them as one and the same). While the book is cer­tainly not an encom­pass­ing biog­ra­phy of the famous leader, the author does won­ders with his story-telling.

    Aside from the his­tor­i­cal aspects, this is mainly an adven­ture story of a young boy who grows up to be an incred­i­ble leader. This is a &quot;man's book&quot;, not that I don't rec­om­mend it for women, but the author is clearly writ­ing for males, under­stands males and shapes his story to that affect.

    Genghis is an excit­ing, fast paced story. The char­ac­ters in the novel are won­der­ful, the his­tor­i­cal detail fas­ci­nat­ing and the author's affin­ity to Mon­go­lia is felt on every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    5

    Benim adim amarmend.benim babanin.babaninbabaninbabaninbabaninbabaninbabanibabanin Chenghis khaan

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Wow

    If you don't like History, this book isn't for you. If you're not interested in a good story, this book isn't for you. If you like to read about history through superb story telling then buy the book.

    One aspect I enjoyed about Mr. Iggulden's story telling is that he takes the time at the end to explain what he changes about about history to make for a better story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Amazing read!

    Amazing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    highly recommended

    very good story, an easy read. the early years of his life and the hardships made him what he became

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Born to Lead

    WOW,so well written, it was like I was transformed back in time! Compelling drama of one man dream to unite all the Mongols tribes, then Genghis has the intelligence to carry it off and make it a part of history. Of course, it helps that he fathers many sons from more than one wife! Bought all four series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Anything by Conn Iggulden is excellent.

    I have read the entire Genghis Khan series and loved it. The author puts you in the mountains, in the plains, battles camps and setting around the meal in a "GER". Intense reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Ruthless, Raw and Exciting

    Love love loved it. Couldn't wait to start the next in the series. You hate to love the Mongol "way of life", but admit it, you will. This is up there with Aztec and the Journeyer by Gary Jennings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    As soon as I get some $, I will buy the rest!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Got it on Free Friday and loved it

    A whole new perspective and and a totally engrossing read. Would make great movie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprising!

    I got this ebook when it was offered on a Free Friday I just read it and I'm totally surprised. History buffs will probably enjoy this as it portrays Genghis in a different view. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Emperor Fans - don't miss this next epic saga! Must read.

    This series is as amazing as the Emperor. Iggulden does not disappoint in this next epic historical saga of the life of Genghis Khan. The detailed depiction of the tribal battles was riveting and the insight into the camp life on the plains fascinating. I literally felt like I was there on the battlefield and in the gers among the warriors and had a stake in it all. If you are already a fan you have to read the Genghis series. If you are browsing around and stumbled on this title, don't pass this up.

    Genghis is one bad mamba-jamba and a fascinating figure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    read it

    could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    You might even get reluctant young male readers to read this!

    Well-written and easy to read. I believe that most mid-ability readers who like these kinds of movies or video games might really enjoy this. It is a little long for weaker readers, but with the right kind of encouragement, even a hesitating reader may find a new hobby - reading about this amazing culture!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Outrageous

    I am not a fan of history of any kind. It always seemed to bore me. Conn makes this pice of history interesting and enjoyable. I loved it so much i read all 4 books in the series in one week. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good story. I am going to use it in my HS classroom as part of my non-fiction curriculumn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12