Customer Reviews for

The Genie Scheme

Average Rating 5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Awesome

    I finished reading it and best book ever!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    my review

    i think this summary is really good and i think ill enjoy this book because im gunna be 13 next month and i love reading!!!1 Thank-you for taking your personal time to read this!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    The best book i ever read

    I went to the library with my mom and she found this book . i read the first page and was in luv once i read it i was memorized i got it from a teacher after and niw have read it 21 times and im still not tired of it¿!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Janna hates being poor. That's how she sees herself. Her mother makes her shop in second-hand stores. And the car that her mom drives, nicknamed Maybe (maybe it will start, maybe it won't) has definitely seen better days. It's on the afternoon that her mom takes her shopping for a new (used) coat, that Janna's world changes.

    When she witnesses the store clerk refusing to sell a used purple hat to a bag lady that doesn't have enough money, Janna takes the money she was going to use to buy The Secret Princess, the latest book in her favorite Medieval Maids series, and buys the hat for the bag lady. It turns out that Janna's selfless act has consequences. Those consequences show up in her bedroom hours later.

    A genie appears on her top bunk out of nowhere. Apparently, the bag lady had been wandering around waiting for someone to show her an act of kindness. It had taken a while, but to show her gratitude, she is now indebted to Janna.

    As would be the reaction of anyone, Janna begins wishing for everything she's ever wanted. Her first wish is to have a wardrobe like Elizabeth Newby, a popular neighbor girl. But it turns out there are "rules" with wishes. She literally gets Elizabeth's clothing. Elizabeth's family freaks out, thinking Elizabeth has run away because everything is suddenly gone in her bedroom. Janna retracts the wish, and tries to learn the rules of genie wishing.

    Eugenie (the name Janna gives her genie) explains that she is only allotted 1000 Genie watts. When they're gone, that's it. But Eugenie has a conscience, and soon makes Janna realize that her wishes are silly and meaningless.

    THE GENIE SCHEME uses a similar concept found in PAY IT FORWARD. When Eugenie makes Janna aware of the world around her, it's up to Janna to do something with that knowledge. Taking her Genie Watts and using them for something good creates a cascade of events that even Eugenie and Janna couldn't foresee.

    Told in an enchanting and non-preachy way, THE GENIE SCHEME will make everyone feel good by the last page. And maybe, it will have a magic of its own...making everyone that reads it want to do a random act of kindness themselves.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Amazing!

    I read one of her other books "11 Birthdays" and i loved it! I did it for a book report and i sent a letter to her and she replied!! I love both of the books she has written and can't wait to read others in the future. I will definatly read this again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    R

    Libraty awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Hi

    It was a great book ! Be sure to buy it next time you have money !



    ; )




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1