Customer Reviews for

Gentleman Says "I Do"

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed

Posted on Romancing the Book's blog
Reviewed by Bri
Review copy provided by Netgalley

Amelia Grey really won me over as a long time reader with A Gentleman Says “I Do”. This was my first book to read by her and I was just riveted. The characters she created were ea...
Posted on Romancing the Book's blog
Reviewed by Bri
Review copy provided by Netgalley

Amelia Grey really won me over as a long time reader with A Gentleman Says “I Do”. This was my first book to read by her and I was just riveted. The characters she created were each so three dimensional I want to have novels for all of them! From the flighty father, to the tipsy aunt, to the front door maid who used to work in a brothel this household is very dynamic and slightly scandalous for Regency England. Normally with secondary’s this engaging they can threaten to take the story away from the protagonists.

They didn’t.

Grey proved her craft is one of organization, talent, and follow through. Iverson and Catalina are a hero heroine you will just fall for. My favorite method of the whole story was learning who Catalina was through Iverson’s eyes. Truly an experience to enjoy.

posted by RtBBlog on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sweet! This was a sweet and fun book! I didn't read the first on

Sweet! This was a sweet and fun book! I didn't read the first one but i liked this one. It is not wonderful but still nice and fast pace to read.

posted by 5044543 on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed

    Posted on Romancing the Book's blog
    Reviewed by Bri
    Review copy provided by Netgalley

    Amelia Grey really won me over as a long time reader with A Gentleman Says “I Do”. This was my first book to read by her and I was just riveted. The characters she created were each so three dimensional I want to have novels for all of them! From the flighty father, to the tipsy aunt, to the front door maid who used to work in a brothel this household is very dynamic and slightly scandalous for Regency England. Normally with secondary’s this engaging they can threaten to take the story away from the protagonists.

    They didn’t.

    Grey proved her craft is one of organization, talent, and follow through. Iverson and Catalina are a hero heroine you will just fall for. My favorite method of the whole story was learning who Catalina was through Iverson’s eyes. Truly an experience to enjoy.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    A pretty good book. I liked Catalina and Iverson as characters

    A pretty good book.


    I liked Catalina and Iverson as characters, but her father seems to be an annoying person. He is mostly talked about, but only makes an apperance at the end of the book. It is good enough that I will want to read the next book in the series.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A GENTLEMAN SAYS “I DO” by Amelia Grey is a wonderfu

    A GENTLEMAN SAYS “I DO” by Amelia Grey is a wonderful Regency historical romance, It is book #5 of the “Rogues’ Dynasty” series,but can be read as a stand alone. See, “A Duke To Die For”,”A Marquis to Marry”,”An Earl To Enchant”,and “A Gentleman Never Tells”. Written with humor,witty banter, charm and a comedy of error you can’t go wrong by reading “A Gentleman Says “I Do”. Catelina Crisp has a father who has disappeared,an alcoholic aunt,and finds a Knight in shining armor.Catelina and Iverson Brentwood find passion,love,and romance,all while evading a scandal. A cast of characters who will capture your heart. Catelina trying t o stay one step ahead of debtors,while her beloved father has run off again. Catelina finishes her father’s work only to find Iverson “A Tale of 3 Gentlemen” is furious with the story. She soon realizes the story is hurtful to the family and could cost her the love of her life. A tale of love,and secrets. Ms. Grey has written another entertaining romance. I enjoy this author’s work. She creates a fun read full of surprises and romance. A must read for anyone who enjoys historical romance with a few twists and turns. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at the author’s website,Sourcebooks Casablanca,and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: Mild: Mild detailed scenes of intimacy,mild violence or profanity.

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Sweet! This was a sweet and fun book! I didn't read the first on

    Sweet!
    This was a sweet and fun book! I didn't read the first one but i liked this one. It is not wonderful but still nice and fast pace to read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    good romance story

    This was a good romance with a good story line and very easy to follow,I will go back and read the first book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Slightly Boring, Not Historically Based

    This was suppose to be historically based, but the tone and language of the story was too modern, and the some of the details did not fit the time period of the book. It also, was a little slow moving. If you don't really care about historical accuracy, and are only looking for a love story then this book would be a 3.5 star book not a 2 star book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2014

    A Gentleman Says "I Do" by Amelia Grey: Enjoyed the bo

    A Gentleman Says "I Do" by Amelia Grey: Enjoyed the book very much.
    Catalina Crisp is the daughter of a famous writer and she helped him finish a parody not knowing that it would cause so much trouble.
    Iverson Brentwood was not happy at all and stormed into Catalina home, demanding satisfaction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Fifth book in the Rogue series. At first Iverson comes across a

    Fifth book in the Rogue series. At first Iverson comes across and big and bad. But is tamed pretty quickly by Catalina. The father wasn't fair to leave Catalina to take care of his problems. The aunt had an addiction that Iverson was brilliant in fixing in the end. There was humor and lots of mistakes on their part to finally find the love they did find. Having Matson the twin brother was delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Snowflakekit

    Noones here ;D! *sneaks out back to the orphanage*

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    NURSERY

    A BIG BUSH THAT HAS ALT OF NESTS AND PLENTY OF ROOM AND HAS FRESHKILL

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Fun

    Nice read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Not highly recommnded

    It was OK. Not highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Sweet story.

    Nice regency, sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    You can get into this story about passion and poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    This book grabbed your interest and I was excited and really enj

    This book grabbed your interest and I was excited and really enjoyed the ride to watch these two characters "find" each other.
    I am a huge fan of Amelia Grey and this was just another installment of her own brand of a wonderful "read" for anyone who loves this era and the love stories. I liked the suspense of where her father was in this novel and think I can see another book in the works with him in it too!

    The characters and their friends and relatives are all drawn out so well that you "know" them and can understand the character's feelings every inch of the way! I recommend this 100% !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Rt

    Sits

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    One of the worse books ever

    I thought this book was dumber than dumb! Completely unbelievable and lame. Do not waste your time on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Boring

    Drivel a prepubecent teen would write

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    A love story.

    Well written with engaging characters. A little redundant with descriptions of characters and their behaviors. Love triumphs of course after the usual will they or won't they. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3