Customer Reviews for

Gentleman of Her Dreams (Ladies of Distinction): A Ladies of Distinction novella

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

This is a quick and easy read. This novel interesting but only 58 pages. Wish it were longer. The story portrays a young woman who is looking for a husband and a young mzn who in love with her yet afraid to tell her.

posted by Hope42Day on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better

I hate giving this three stars. The thing is that i found the main character to childish.

posted by piaf on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Light entertainment

    Pleasant little story with predictable plot and characters. Easy reading for light entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Charming, but too short

    The characters were entertaining and the writing was good. I was just disappointed to discover it was only 57 pages long, short even by novella standards. The female lead character came alive but was a bit too immature to be real, even for her young adult age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Sweet story

    Old saying proved true that grass looks greener on the other side and what you are looking for across the fence is in your own back yard. Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Could have been better

    I hate giving this three stars. The thing is that i found the main character to childish.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Witty and delightful!

    A short, easy read - wished it had been longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Short and Predictable

    Short, Christian romance with predictable plot. A bit of history but without a lot of depth Yet still a fun read. Would like to read a full book by author before deciding if I enjoy her books. Ah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    A good first start to the series...

    I received this novella from the author in connection with a Shelf Awareness giveaway.

    Star-crossed lovers, or actually more like two very good friends at cross purposes, define the relationship of these two people, Henry and and Charlotte. Charlotte is willful and independent (and fearing impending spinsterhood) and has set her sights on Hamilton Beckett while the man she loves thinks of her only as a friend, or so she thinks. The same is true for Henry. He loves her, but thinks she thinks of him as a friend only. Will they ever realize it? And speak their minds (aloud)?

    It's a cute romance, but it seemed a bit unhistorical in the facts department, it seemed. Word usage and authenticity seemed a bit flawed. Hudson Bay...is there one in and around New York? I know of the one in northern Canada. Ready-to-wear or off-the-rack clothing shoppes during this time-frame? I thought most things needed fittings. Backup plan...is that within the vernacular at the time? These things bothered me, and it made me question so much, but overall not a bad start to the series. I have now read the second book in the series and enjoyed it (it didn't seem to have the same flaws, or if they did, I didn't notice them).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    nice story

    a nice story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    For a novella it is a good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    good read

    Quick & easy reading. Good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Okay

    I thought it was going to suck but it got better as the book passed on. I only wish it wasn't as short. That would be nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Short but interesting

    would liked it to be alittle more story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2