Customer Reviews for

A Gentleman's Honor (Bastion Club Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back in her form

Ms. Laurens is back to her usual style, flair and fun of the Cynster series with this second in the Bastion Club series. I did not think 'The Lady Chosen' (Bastion Club number one) was worth the time, but this book has all her hallmarks. The characters are developed, ...
Ms. Laurens is back to her usual style, flair and fun of the Cynster series with this second in the Bastion Club series. I did not think 'The Lady Chosen' (Bastion Club number one) was worth the time, but this book has all her hallmarks. The characters are developed, the story is a little hard to buy, but she puts it together with enough plausibility so you don't have to think too much. And, it has plenty of the sensual scenes to keep you turning the pages. The only thing I think is a little too far is the inclusion of the Cynster characters in the book, which don't actually add anything to the story. I want more like this!

posted by Anonymous on October 12, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not the Best...

so the whole story in context was good, but every time there was a rise of excitment it was like it didn't go high enough and it lets you down way to fast... also the whole step by step sex/love relationship just got old after a while... this is probably the first book ...
so the whole story in context was good, but every time there was a rise of excitment it was like it didn't go high enough and it lets you down way to fast... also the whole step by step sex/love relationship just got old after a while... this is probably the first book i have skipped so many pages in my whole life... if you wanna read about sex, this is your kind of book... i think the author focused too much on the sex rather than how good the story could have been... still the idea of the story was good... i just think she could have made it more exciting...

posted by 716714 on March 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    Back in her form

    Ms. Laurens is back to her usual style, flair and fun of the Cynster series with this second in the Bastion Club series. I did not think 'The Lady Chosen' (Bastion Club number one) was worth the time, but this book has all her hallmarks. The characters are developed, the story is a little hard to buy, but she puts it together with enough plausibility so you don't have to think too much. And, it has plenty of the sensual scenes to keep you turning the pages. The only thing I think is a little too far is the inclusion of the Cynster characters in the book, which don't actually add anything to the story. I want more like this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the Best...

    so the whole story in context was good, but every time there was a rise of excitment it was like it didn't go high enough and it lets you down way to fast... also the whole step by step sex/love relationship just got old after a while... this is probably the first book i have skipped so many pages in my whole life... if you wanna read about sex, this is your kind of book... i think the author focused too much on the sex rather than how good the story could have been... still the idea of the story was good... i just think she could have made it more exciting...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Chrissy

    Here?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    5 stars for the entire series

    5 stars for the entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    As Always, A Great Read

    This is one of my favorite books. I like the main characters and the story line keep me wanting to read more. Stephanie Laurens is one of my favorite authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    So Good!

    Gotta love a good romance mixed with a little action!! I love this series and can't wait to read more about the Bastion Club!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    Poor Read

    If you like your fiction to read like a how-to sex manual, this is your book! About half the book is sex scenes, which by the middle of the book I was skimming over. The plot was engaging enough to have me finish the book, but I still regret having wasted my time and money on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    True to its title┬┐.Romantic

    This is truly a wonderfully written, stimulating, mature romantic story. The various scenarios and subplots are also true to the pre-Victorian era it¿s written in respect to several social issues it touches upon. Julian Hampton, `The Romantic¿, is a well respected and trusted solicitor for the Laclere family. Throughout his adolescence and adulthood, Julian Hampton clandestinely desired the affections of Penelope (Pen), the Countess of Glasbury. His safest discourses of expressing his pent-up desires are passionate love letters and poems addressed to her, but never dispatched. He carefully wrote and hid them away for over ten years ¿ since he was 16 yrs old. Pen¿s mother, in an attempt to save her family from financial ruin, as well as fulfill her young daughter¿s excitement and fantasy of having a husband, coyly encourages Pen to marry a presumably respectable Earl, Count Glasbury ¿ who agrees to give her family a significant endowment to wed her. After a year of marriage, Count Glasbury introduces his naive wife to the darker side of his sexual passions and lusts. Needless to say, due to her lack of experience and isolation from people outside of Glasbury, Pen believes these new versions of bed play are `natural¿ ¿ although they were emotionally upsetting and physically painful for her (i.e. whips and chains, bondage, crawling, etc.) Pen eventually confides in ¿Mr. Hampton¿ (Julian), and discloses the embarrassingly sordid secrets of why she wants a legal separation from her husband. Discreetly, Julian secures her a separation from Count Glasbury with alimony ¿ by threatening to publicly expose his sexual appetites to the ton. Ten years later, upon finding out that his heir (last remaining male in his family line), nephew, cannot have any children, the Count wants to nullify the separation and re-enforce his marital rights as her husband. He is determined that no one will stop him from getting his wife back and will use any means necessary, legal or otherwise, to have her back under his roof. Here is where Julian, beyond a doubt, is a knight in shining armor. His unconditional, surrendering love for her is unveiled. Julian offers himself (from her list of possible lovers) to demonstrate to her what it¿s really like to make love with someone who truly loves you. As a result their very public act of adultery ¿ Pen¿s efforts to high handedly force Count Glasbury into divorcing her vs submit to his `unnatural¿ sexual desires, Julian¿s poems and letters are literally and agonizingly laid bare for all of society to `judge¿ him to the point of possibly convicting him to hang for murder to save Penelope. Don¿t let the word ¿adultery¿ wrestle you away from reading this as a romance story. There is so much more to it that it will stimulate your mind and kindle your heart which can not be expressed in any brief review.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    I reread this one immediately!

    Everything about this stort was wonderful. I could not put it down and reread it immediately to enjoy it all over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Wonderful

    This was a wonderful story. There are only so many ways a man and woman can be 'forced' to endure each other until they fall in love, this was a new one. I liked that the man was the one looking for marriage and was always sure she was the one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Laurens is Back on Track

    After the the last few plotless and oversexed Cynster novels, Ms. Laurens has stopped insulting her readers' intelligence and remembered that the intellect as well as the libido must be titillated. The Bastion Club is well-plotted with heroes in the Cynster mold. Better yet, they are in the paperback format they deserve rather than hardcover - we are not talking great literature here. ! My rating is $$$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Typical Regency romance for fans of the genre

    In 1816 Alicia Carrington pretends to be a widow escorting her younger sister Adriana Pevency during her first season. Alicia and Adriana know that the younger sibling needs a good match so that their three younger brothers can go to school. Anything less that a marriage to a kind wealthy man means disaster for the five Pevency orphans.<P> Lord Ruskin has offered marriage to Alicia who rejects him. However, he knows she is a fake having flaunted the Ton with her widow fabrication. He uses blackmail to force her into his bed, but someone kills him before he succeeds. Lord Anthony Blake of the Bastion Club, men dedicated to finding their own wives without the aristocracy interfering, notices Alicia with the dead Rusken. He helps her flee the scene, but wonders if she is involved as he was investigating the deceased in an effort to uncover those traitors who abetted Napoleon during the war. As he stays close to Alicia, he wonders if his heart is hiding the truth about her because she hides something from him.<P> The second Bastion Club tale is a typical Regency romance though the chase for the traitors occurs after the war is over. The story line entertains the audience, as Anthony knows his beloved has a deep secret she fears will be revealed, but he has a problem seeing her betraying her country. Though adhering to the conventional sub-genre tale and her own Cynster novels, Stephanie Lauren¿s latest novel will provide pleasure to her myriad of readers.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3