BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire series): A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons

Average Rating 4.5
( 428 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(304)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

114 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contrad

My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter number...
My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter numbers in the books' respective Table of Contents rather than character names (e.g. "Chapter 1" rather than "Jon"). They contain the Prologues of each book. The bottom line is not cut off at the bottom of each page. These are not "condensed" versions. I like the ability to read the bundle on one Nook device and then pick up at the same page on another Nook device without having to search where I left off (I have a Nook Tablet and also the new Nook HD+ 9 inch). The e-book bundle makes it easy to carry around all 5 stories without lugging heavy tomes around. I'm already in the middle of book 5 (Dance with Dragons), but I've forgotten some plot points and like to refer to the early books. This e-book bundle makes that easy. There is also the ability to do a word search within the e-books, if you need to find something. I don't find the Table of Contents cumbersome at all. It's easy to scroll up and down. Yes, these chapters are numbered rather than listed by character name, but since the author didn't distinguish one "Jon" chapter from another "Jon" chapter, those chapter names wouldn't have been useful anyway. All in all I'm very pleased with this e-book bundle.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

O All in one big book? NO THANKS!

All five books are combined into one HUGE book in this deal! AND IT SUCKS! It's a pain to navigate and I regret my purchase.

posted by 15793792 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 430 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contrad

    My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter numbers in the books' respective Table of Contents rather than character names (e.g. "Chapter 1" rather than "Jon"). They contain the Prologues of each book. The bottom line is not cut off at the bottom of each page. These are not "condensed" versions. I like the ability to read the bundle on one Nook device and then pick up at the same page on another Nook device without having to search where I left off (I have a Nook Tablet and also the new Nook HD+ 9 inch). The e-book bundle makes it easy to carry around all 5 stories without lugging heavy tomes around. I'm already in the middle of book 5 (Dance with Dragons), but I've forgotten some plot points and like to refer to the early books. This e-book bundle makes that easy. There is also the ability to do a word search within the e-books, if you need to find something. I don't find the Table of Contents cumbersome at all. It's easy to scroll up and down. Yes, these chapters are numbered rather than listed by character name, but since the author didn't distinguish one "Jon" chapter from another "Jon" chapter, those chapter names wouldn't have been useful anyway. All in all I'm very pleased with this e-book bundle.

    114 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    O All in one big book? NO THANKS!

    All five books are combined into one HUGE book in this deal! AND IT SUCKS! It's a pain to navigate and I regret my purchase.

    64 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    NO STARS

    I already had the first book when I got my nook but it would have been more expensive to buy books #2 through 5 separately so I just bought this bundle to save a few...turns out the prologue from book 1 isnt even in here...who knows what else is missing...it looks like I may be going to the library to get these individually now which is annoying cause it means my money went in the trash:o(

    40 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    I find it funny that people are criticizing a #1 bestselling author who had his book series turned into an award winning show. Just because the story has a lot of beheading, sex, and whatever else people are complaining about does not mean it was poorly written. If you like fantasy, great characters, and a good story line then I definitely suggest this book! A lot of pages but I could not put it down!

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Great Epic Fantasy

    George R R Martin is great at building a vast world while keeping you interested in characters you love and love to hate! A must read for any fan of the sci fi or fantqsy generes.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Check out A Great Series, LOVE IT !!!!

    Currently reading this series after discovering the HBO series was based on these books. The author spins a great story in a world of kings queens and fearsome creatures.... I Love It and don't want to give away too much and I like it so much even though I had already bought the books I recently aquired the Nook and purchased it to carry with me wherever I go..... Thats how much I enjoy them !!

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Excellent read, poor table of contents.

    Game of Thrones is excellent, and so is Clash of Kings--I'm half way through that--that's as far as I've gotten. You should know though that in the Nook book bundle edition the individual chapters are NOT named, only numbered. So, instead of being able to quickly find all the chapters named 'Daenerys' or 'Arya' or 'Tyrion' which would be useful to quickly refer back to a previous chapter, instead you only have a long string of numbers from 1 to 69 say (as in Book Two), which is utterly useless as the chapters aren't even numbered within the books themselves! Why did the publisher or the Nook folks do this ridiculous thing? No clue, but it is what it is. That keeps me from giving this 5 stars, and the fact that the maps are too small to read and cannot be enlarged. Otherwise this bundle is a great buy.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    AMAZING!

    This book is incredible. I already had read book one when I got my nook so i bought the bundle pack and it has not disappointed me. Reading some of the other reviews made me a little nervous but I went ahead and bought the book. Many of the reviews made the book seem worse than what it turned out to be. If you are thinking of buying this bundle pack, I say DO IT!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    For Fantasy Fans - A must read!

    The author has created such an intricate and interesting world, with unique cultures, geographies, and most importantly, engaging and interesting characters. It is unpredictable, at times you are frustrated at any one character's plight and lack of luck, but regardless, you cannot put it down. The power play among the various characters is as exciting as any thriller, and you have no idea how anything will end.
    Warning about highly violent and sexual content, but given the premise, it is very much in context and realistic of the world he is portraying.
    Can't wait for the next one, and am re-reading this again as there are so many different names and geneologies to remember.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Don't bother

    The first book was good enough to convince me to continue. Unfortunately, I had to buy the whole series. Book 2 was ok. I had to force myself to read book 3 because I had already purchased it and didn't want to waste my money. Started book 4, but just couldn't continue. Book 5 is unread and will continue as such. The author was very wordy and the story line is repetitive and predictable. If you like reading about hate, evil, treachery, blood and gore, you will like this series. Otherwise, don't bother.

    10 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Awesome!! Don't want to stop reading.

    This is perhaps the best series I have read since reading the Hobbit, and Lord of the Rings. He is an amazing author. I recommend his work (and do) to everyone.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Way too long

    These books are way too long. Especially because they are hard to read. I have an avid reader. I read three to five books in a week, and I still find these very tough to get through. This may be because it is hard to relate to that time period and their verbiage, but I am having a very challenging time with this.

    8 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Absolute best series ever.

    This series is fabulous. And having it on the Nook so you don't have to carry 5 large books is the greatest. I love the combination of history, magic, and large personalities that make this series so interesting. Unable to put it down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Well written - but dark

    The author creates an amazingly detailed and rich fantasy world. The characters are well developed and intriguing. I have not seen the HBO series, but I can understand why it would make a great series on the screen.
    I was hooked by the end of the first chapter.

    I did not find the sex and violence in the series to be gratuitous, but believable and appropriate developments in the story.

    I did not have any problems with the NOOK format - text was paginated properly. [My one objection to the NOOK version is that the maps are too small to read, and I have not found a way to enlarge them.]

    That being said, the plot was generally a little dark for my taste. The resolution was not as happy an ending as I was hoping for - matter of personal taste, not artistic talent.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    These are actually condensed books and do not contain the exact

    These are actually condensed books and do not contain the exact same material as the actual book. This is one series where the TV show is actually better than the books and that is saying a lot. The books meander through a not well thought out plot line. The author seems sex obsessed and uses a lot of profanity which some readers might take offense too. This series is just a regurgitation of several other fantasy novels, nothing really new here. I suggest you save your money, and keep the bad taste out of your mouth.

    5 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great read

    I watched the first season before I started the books and was hooked. If you like World Without End and sci-fi this might be for you. I can't put it down and am anxious for the next one.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    total waste of time

    I have no doubt the books themselves are amazing but there are problems with the nook content and every single page comes up blank. I refuse to spend $35 on a ebook that according to tech support I wont be able to read for the next 2-3 weeks. (nook hd plus user)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Great deal & great read

    I watched the first 2 seasons on HBO and loved the series. I'm still reading this book but love it. I think it's a great deal having all the books in one (a little slow opening). But I can go back without having to opening up another book. Can't wait for the 3rd session to start (I believe March 2013)

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Recommended

    This series is Dark!Dark!Dark!!! Even having said that, I found myself fighting sleep to get that "One more page." Makes me want to find out what happens in the next book. Keep waiting for something good to happen to the characters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Good to have it all in one volume

    but on the other hand, makes it a little harder to skip ahead to page 4109 if you had to. ;)
    So, anyone got any bets on who wins the Game of Thrones? Personally, I gots money on that one guy from Chapter 27 of the second book who (Martin unceremoniously kills him off)... Well, what about this young woman from the Dornish countryside that's (Martin has a boulder crush her)... Dammit, George, who's gonna be left?!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 430 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22