Customer Reviews for

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire series): A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons

Average Rating 4.5
( 390 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(274)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

104 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contrad

My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter number...
My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter numbers in the books' respective Table of Contents rather than character names (e.g. "Chapter 1" rather than "Jon"). They contain the Prologues of each book. The bottom line is not cut off at the bottom of each page. These are not "condensed" versions. I like the ability to read the bundle on one Nook device and then pick up at the same page on another Nook device without having to search where I left off (I have a Nook Tablet and also the new Nook HD+ 9 inch). The e-book bundle makes it easy to carry around all 5 stories without lugging heavy tomes around. I'm already in the middle of book 5 (Dance with Dragons), but I've forgotten some plot points and like to refer to the early books. This e-book bundle makes that easy. There is also the ability to do a word search within the e-books, if you need to find something. I don't find the Table of Contents cumbersome at all. It's easy to scroll up and down. Yes, these chapters are numbered rather than listed by character name, but since the author didn't distinguish one "Jon" chapter from another "Jon" chapter, those chapter names wouldn't have been useful anyway. All in all I'm very pleased with this e-book bundle.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

O All in one big book? NO THANKS!

All five books are combined into one HUGE book in this deal! AND IT SUCKS! It's a pain to navigate and I regret my purchase.

posted by 15793792 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    O All in one big book? NO THANKS!

    All five books are combined into one HUGE book in this deal! AND IT SUCKS! It's a pain to navigate and I regret my purchase.

    64 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    NO STARS

    I already had the first book when I got my nook but it would have been more expensive to buy books #2 through 5 separately so I just bought this bundle to save a few...turns out the prologue from book 1 isnt even in here...who knows what else is missing...it looks like I may be going to the library to get these individually now which is annoying cause it means my money went in the trash:o(

    40 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Don't bother

    The first book was good enough to convince me to continue. Unfortunately, I had to buy the whole series. Book 2 was ok. I had to force myself to read book 3 because I had already purchased it and didn't want to waste my money. Started book 4, but just couldn't continue. Book 5 is unread and will continue as such. The author was very wordy and the story line is repetitive and predictable. If you like reading about hate, evil, treachery, blood and gore, you will like this series. Otherwise, don't bother.

    9 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    These are actually condensed books and do not contain the exact

    These are actually condensed books and do not contain the exact same material as the actual book. This is one series where the TV show is actually better than the books and that is saying a lot. The books meander through a not well thought out plot line. The author seems sex obsessed and uses a lot of profanity which some readers might take offense too. This series is just a regurgitation of several other fantasy novels, nothing really new here. I suggest you save your money, and keep the bad taste out of your mouth.

    5 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    total waste of time

    I have no doubt the books themselves are amazing but there are problems with the nook content and every single page comes up blank. I refuse to spend $35 on a ebook that according to tech support I wont be able to read for the next 2-3 weeks. (nook hd plus user)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Game of Thrones

    The author is obessed with rape of children and women. I just cant get past that. I didnt get all the way through the first book, because since I was hoping it would get better, I skipped ahead randomly three times and every time man is raping a woman or gang raping a 13 year old. It's disgusting and depressing and I had to stop reading it. I read for a great story and to escape from reality, but this book series is worse than what you'll find on the back streets of a 3rd world city. Don't bother reading it.

    3 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    DO NOT BUY ON SIMPLE TOUCH NOOK!

    I was very excited to buy the box set and read on vacation only to find that this box set does not work on the nook simple touch. All of the pages turn up blank. I don't know if it is different on the other nooks, but do not buy this set if you have the simple touck or glow light! The books are great but get a different version!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Call 1 800 the book

    I had to call to get my money back! I was super diappointed






    disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Nothing there

    Nothing but a heading. How do I get my money back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Unable to read

    I wasn't able to read the book. All blank pages. B&N was unable to fix it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    The ebook doesnt work

    Very upset, i cannot read them. Apparently an error from.publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Over priced

    Kindle is only charging 19.99 for their 5 book bundle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    It sux

    It is copying all dat stuffs frum lord of da rings

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Save your money

    Book 1 and 2 was ok but this story drags on and all the wolf die. Other people in the book sucks dont know why all the bad one's live.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    sucks

    sucks

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2