BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire series): A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons

Average Rating 4.5
( 425 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(301)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

113 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contrad

My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter number...
My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter numbers in the books' respective Table of Contents rather than character names (e.g. "Chapter 1" rather than "Jon"). They contain the Prologues of each book. The bottom line is not cut off at the bottom of each page. These are not "condensed" versions. I like the ability to read the bundle on one Nook device and then pick up at the same page on another Nook device without having to search where I left off (I have a Nook Tablet and also the new Nook HD+ 9 inch). The e-book bundle makes it easy to carry around all 5 stories without lugging heavy tomes around. I'm already in the middle of book 5 (Dance with Dragons), but I've forgotten some plot points and like to refer to the early books. This e-book bundle makes that easy. There is also the ability to do a word search within the e-books, if you need to find something. I don't find the Table of Contents cumbersome at all. It's easy to scroll up and down. Yes, these chapters are numbered rather than listed by character name, but since the author didn't distinguish one "Jon" chapter from another "Jon" chapter, those chapter names wouldn't have been useful anyway. All in all I'm very pleased with this e-book bundle.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

O All in one big book? NO THANKS!

All five books are combined into one HUGE book in this deal! AND IT SUCKS! It's a pain to navigate and I regret my purchase.

posted by 15793792 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    I find it funny that people are criticizing a #1 bestselling author who had his book series turned into an award winning show. Just because the story has a lot of beheading, sex, and whatever else people are complaining about does not mean it was poorly written. If you like fantasy, great characters, and a good story line then I definitely suggest this book! A lot of pages but I could not put it down!

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Excellent read, poor table of contents.

    Game of Thrones is excellent, and so is Clash of Kings--I'm half way through that--that's as far as I've gotten. You should know though that in the Nook book bundle edition the individual chapters are NOT named, only numbered. So, instead of being able to quickly find all the chapters named 'Daenerys' or 'Arya' or 'Tyrion' which would be useful to quickly refer back to a previous chapter, instead you only have a long string of numbers from 1 to 69 say (as in Book Two), which is utterly useless as the chapters aren't even numbered within the books themselves! Why did the publisher or the Nook folks do this ridiculous thing? No clue, but it is what it is. That keeps me from giving this 5 stars, and the fact that the maps are too small to read and cannot be enlarged. Otherwise this bundle is a great buy.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    For Fantasy Fans - A must read!

    The author has created such an intricate and interesting world, with unique cultures, geographies, and most importantly, engaging and interesting characters. It is unpredictable, at times you are frustrated at any one character's plight and lack of luck, but regardless, you cannot put it down. The power play among the various characters is as exciting as any thriller, and you have no idea how anything will end.
    Warning about highly violent and sexual content, but given the premise, it is very much in context and realistic of the world he is portraying.
    Can't wait for the next one, and am re-reading this again as there are so many different names and geneologies to remember.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Well written - but dark

    The author creates an amazingly detailed and rich fantasy world. The characters are well developed and intriguing. I have not seen the HBO series, but I can understand why it would make a great series on the screen.
    I was hooked by the end of the first chapter.

    I did not find the sex and violence in the series to be gratuitous, but believable and appropriate developments in the story.

    I did not have any problems with the NOOK format - text was paginated properly. [My one objection to the NOOK version is that the maps are too small to read, and I have not found a way to enlarge them.]

    That being said, the plot was generally a little dark for my taste. The resolution was not as happy an ending as I was hoping for - matter of personal taste, not artistic talent.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Good to have it all in one volume

    but on the other hand, makes it a little harder to skip ahead to page 4109 if you had to. ;)
    So, anyone got any bets on who wins the Game of Thrones? Personally, I gots money on that one guy from Chapter 27 of the second book who (Martin unceremoniously kills him off)... Well, what about this young woman from the Dornish countryside that's (Martin has a boulder crush her)... Dammit, George, who's gonna be left?!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    I have had the books for a while and still keep going back to th

    I have had the books for a while and still keep going back to them often. I agree that the pace set in book 4 and 5 seems slower as there are so many more storylines and needed backstories. Still the writing is genius!!! It is written as a whole history of a fantastic world!!! I still want and will purchase the next book, #6!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Fantasy For The Pessimist

    If you have no use for happy endings, this is the series for you. If however, you prefer something more traditionally themed (like good triumphs over evil), look elsewhere.

    Martin's depictions of both characters and institutions range from cynically self serving to downright despicable. I get enough of that from reality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Really?

    I just finished the entire bundle. It was complicated, wordy,occasionally confused (as predicted in the author' very present prologue for one book) re time lines AND AWESOME in scope, character and plot development. My only complaint is that it is not the "complete saga in one bundle" as billed. It is the only the FIRST books in a series of ???? So now I'm stuck waiting for the next and/ or the conclusion!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Definitely recommend

    Very good story but jumps around quite a bit. Have to pay attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I've read the 1st 4 books in this series (& have ordered the

    I've read the 1st 4 books in this series (& have ordered the 1st 2 seasons of the hbo series), & i'm on the hold list for the 5th book at my state library consortium. I am a huge tolkien fan & find this series every bit as engaging as LOTR. The storylines are vastly different & the violence is far more graphic in A Song of Ice & Fire (SIF), but in Westeros, Martin has created a world as complex & fascinating as Middle Earth. That said, it's not for the faint of heart - gory & otherwise disturbing depictions abound, though I've heard as bad or worse in tales of our own Middle Ages, & indeed, of any wartime situation. I particularly like the fact that the characters are not one-dimensional...the good are sometimes bad & vice versa. I've been borrowing ebooks from a local library consortium but feel I will probably at one point like to add them to my permanent library. This sounds like a good way to do that in terms of cost, but I'm not sure this method of combining them is efficient or useful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    A great story and good read

    Starts out a bit slow but is one of those stories that you can't put down. An intense and complicated seriese of plots that intertwines and and captivates

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    George RR Martin provides the face of modern fantasy.  Unfortuna

    George RR Martin provides the face of modern fantasy.  Unfortunately, comparisons to Robert Jordan can't help but cropping up.  While Martin is a darker and more realistic writer in terms of character development, environment, and  plot, there is no indication that threads are being tied up (despite a few ending abruptly).  The time between books is increasing, Martin has numerous other projects, and there is no end in sight.  I'm holding off on future book purchases until there is some indication that the series will actually be finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    Great value

    I have not gotten through them all but this is the best value I found after searches in my area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Very, very good

    I watched 3 seasons of this on HBO before reading any of it. Right now I'm into book 2. It's hard to say how I would rate the book if I hadn't seen the movie first. As is, the movie compliments the book very well, putting memorable faces to the characters and staying remarkably true to the text, but this means that there aren't many surprises for me. Some of the impact is dulled. Otherwise, I'd probably give this 5 stars. I'm looking forward to reading ahead of HBO.
    If you like the HBO series, you'll enjoy the books and vice versa. Violent content is appropriate to the genre and is not drawn out or constant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    I want to 'see' how they translated the print version to the TV

    I want to 'see' how they translated the print version to the TV series version; thus far I am not disappointed but I am only still reading the first book. I reserve further judgment until I have completed the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    how big are the actual books?  I have the audiobook of the first

    how big are the actual books?  I have the audiobook of the first but I just want know because I hate those small coffee table books, I will buy these if they're a good size. and I don't trust the product dimension interpretation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Great! But...

    The box the set comes in is awesome looking. HOWEVER, I bought the set as a gift and when we received it, they had packed in such a small box that when the tape was cut, the books got sliced too. Wish they would have packed it in a slightly bigger box so this doesn't happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    its a great story, but where is number 6

    its a great story, but where is number 6

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    I love the tv series that's why I brought the book. I pre-order

    I love the tv series that's why I brought the book. I pre-order the book online and it shipped really fast. I was so happy, but then i went to Barnes and Noble and realize the one that I order was smaller than the one at the store. I would prefer the one at  Barnes and Noble but oh well. What can i do? Still. I only brought it to read the story of Khal Drogo and Daenerys. Another thing that i didn't like was that the chapter was printed close to the binding/spine of the book. which then i have to crease the book a bit in order to read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4