Customer Reviews for

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire series): A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons

Average Rating 4.5
( 417 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(295)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

112 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contrad

My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter number...
My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter numbers in the books' respective Table of Contents rather than character names (e.g. "Chapter 1" rather than "Jon"). They contain the Prologues of each book. The bottom line is not cut off at the bottom of each page. These are not "condensed" versions. I like the ability to read the bundle on one Nook device and then pick up at the same page on another Nook device without having to search where I left off (I have a Nook Tablet and also the new Nook HD+ 9 inch). The e-book bundle makes it easy to carry around all 5 stories without lugging heavy tomes around. I'm already in the middle of book 5 (Dance with Dragons), but I've forgotten some plot points and like to refer to the early books. This e-book bundle makes that easy. There is also the ability to do a word search within the e-books, if you need to find something. I don't find the Table of Contents cumbersome at all. It's easy to scroll up and down. Yes, these chapters are numbered rather than listed by character name, but since the author didn't distinguish one "Jon" chapter from another "Jon" chapter, those chapter names wouldn't have been useful anyway. All in all I'm very pleased with this e-book bundle.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

64 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

O All in one big book? NO THANKS!

All five books are combined into one HUGE book in this deal! AND IT SUCKS! It's a pain to navigate and I regret my purchase.

posted by 15793792 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 295 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contrad

    My review will focus on the format of the e-books and to contradict several other reviews which are incorrect. I compared the e-books with the hard copies that I have, and these books are exactly the same as the hard copies except for the e-books' use of chapter numbers in the books' respective Table of Contents rather than character names (e.g. "Chapter 1" rather than "Jon"). They contain the Prologues of each book. The bottom line is not cut off at the bottom of each page. These are not "condensed" versions. I like the ability to read the bundle on one Nook device and then pick up at the same page on another Nook device without having to search where I left off (I have a Nook Tablet and also the new Nook HD+ 9 inch). The e-book bundle makes it easy to carry around all 5 stories without lugging heavy tomes around. I'm already in the middle of book 5 (Dance with Dragons), but I've forgotten some plot points and like to refer to the early books. This e-book bundle makes that easy. There is also the ability to do a word search within the e-books, if you need to find something. I don't find the Table of Contents cumbersome at all. It's easy to scroll up and down. Yes, these chapters are numbered rather than listed by character name, but since the author didn't distinguish one "Jon" chapter from another "Jon" chapter, those chapter names wouldn't have been useful anyway. All in all I'm very pleased with this e-book bundle.

    112 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Great Epic Fantasy

    George R R Martin is great at building a vast world while keeping you interested in characters you love and love to hate! A must read for any fan of the sci fi or fantqsy generes.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Check out A Great Series, LOVE IT !!!!

    Currently reading this series after discovering the HBO series was based on these books. The author spins a great story in a world of kings queens and fearsome creatures.... I Love It and don't want to give away too much and I like it so much even though I had already bought the books I recently aquired the Nook and purchased it to carry with me wherever I go..... Thats how much I enjoy them !!

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    AMAZING!

    This book is incredible. I already had read book one when I got my nook so i bought the bundle pack and it has not disappointed me. Reading some of the other reviews made me a little nervous but I went ahead and bought the book. Many of the reviews made the book seem worse than what it turned out to be. If you are thinking of buying this bundle pack, I say DO IT!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Awesome!! Don't want to stop reading.

    This is perhaps the best series I have read since reading the Hobbit, and Lord of the Rings. He is an amazing author. I recommend his work (and do) to everyone.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Absolute best series ever.

    This series is fabulous. And having it on the Nook so you don't have to carry 5 large books is the greatest. I love the combination of history, magic, and large personalities that make this series so interesting. Unable to put it down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great read

    I watched the first season before I started the books and was hooked. If you like World Without End and sci-fi this might be for you. I can't put it down and am anxious for the next one.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Great deal & great read

    I watched the first 2 seasons on HBO and loved the series. I'm still reading this book but love it. I think it's a great deal having all the books in one (a little slow opening). But I can go back without having to opening up another book. Can't wait for the 3rd session to start (I believe March 2013)

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Great story...

    Like the way you follow each character through book. I could hardly stop reading. Now that I am done I want the next book to see what happens. So many twists and turns caught me by surprise with several of my favorite characters. Great story that is superbly presented. Buy the package deal...m hammond

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Epically Fantastic

    I truly enjoyed reading this series, and was most sad towards the end knowing that i would have to wait for the author to finish writing the next installment to continue reading. Can't wait! There is so much depth and thought in every character it's a must read for fantasy lovers

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Awesome series. Couldn't put it down.

    This was a great series! I'm sorry I'm done reading it. I've seen the show on hbo (or showtime?) and the show sticks almost exactly to the book. I hope Martin continues the series, and quickly. ;) For now, the new season on cable will have to suffice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Is this goid?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Best books ever read

    I've only read the first and some of the second one and I already love them its just so detailed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Epic!

    So glad I got all 5 because they are all cliffhangers plus its only comes out to like $8 a book. I'm just sad I have to wait so long for the last 2 now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Not enough words to say wonderful book!

    I have faithfully watched the HBO series and when I saw how LONGGG this book was I figured I would be reading for a year! BUT it is sooooo good to have all 5 books together and now that season 3 is on HBO I find myself biting my tongue to keep from giving away the plot to hubs! Martins books are right up there with other great Tolkien!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lost in a different world

    I am in the middle of book five. I get completely sucked in to these stories. Just wish the other books were out or definitely scheduled to be out already.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Stormfire's Language English ~ Dogian #2

    Here is the second part of English ~ Dogian. <P> Gem ~ Szhoegh <P> Gold ~ Ubaech <P> Good ~ Evtoogh <P> Grandmother ~ Fraechramm <P> Health ~ Fwthchor <P> Heart ~ Glydzz <P> Home ~ Zchoak <P> Honorable ~ Azzaqk <P> Human ~ Echachoed <P> Human Girl Child ~ Echachoedachi <P> Into ~ Noch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    First off, the bundle is more economical than buying the books s

    First off, the bundle is more economical than buying the books separately.  Secondly, George R R Martin has created such a rich world full of such memorable characters that you will find yourself wanting to visit Westeros and the Lands Across the Narrow Sea again and again.  He will take you on an edge-of-your seat ride, no doubt. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    AMAZING book series!

    ASOIAF is an addictive, emotionally complex, masterfully written adventure. This series is brutal. This series is cruel. This series holds no punches. This is no series of happily ever after. After reading this series, it feels appropriate to lay in the fetal position in a dark corner and cry...for hours. Can't wait for 'The Winds of Winter'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Great

    Really loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 295 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15