Customer Reviews for

George Washington's Sacred Fire

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    For those who want to know the truth about George Washington and learn of his true character, this is the book

    A friend suggested this book. At first the size of the book intimidated me, but once I began it became a page turner all of the way through. Lillback does an excellent job of providing opposing view points and then backs up his point of view with documents from George Washington or Washington's peers. A forth of the book is appendix and footnotes that support the material presented. This book could easily be a text book, Bible study book, or all around reference book.

    37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    Excellent

    Excellent book setting historical records straight with an exhaustive bibliography supporting the written facts.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    The book is a waste

    I am a retired attorney, JD and PH.D in History who teaches colonial, revolutionary and legal history. Peter Lillback scholarship award astounds me. Having been responsible for student research work and the detailed efforts of an attorney, research and precision are not foreign to me. Lillbacks' rational for producing a highly subjective work arises from his concern that educators are not teaching history according to his interpretation.

    This work lacks any sign of objectivity; the author is clear about his intentions to prove a thesis, despite evidence to the contrary. His writing style distorts the meanings of numerous quotes, which he alleges support his beliefs. Should this happen once, or occasionally, he may be forgiven. Sadly, this conduct is consistent. For example, he attacks Paul Bolls's Washington and Religion and Marvin Kitman's The Making Of The Presidency, 1789 by negating their academic research. He avers Boll's interpretation was the standard and accepted view of the past as justification for a lack of appreciation of his views.

    Lillback rationalizes his convictions by using words like "suggests" and offers examples not supportive of his views. He also deviates from his arguments by references to materials not relevant to his arguments, but believes support his views.

    He uses isolated passages from the writings of Washington, Paine, Franklin, among others, challenging their Deist views while advocating tenets of his Christian beliefs. Throughout the work, where one finds references to good deeds and morals,etc. he assumes the founders' references were to Christianity.

    Personally, I wish I had not wasted the money, but being interested in the aforementioned, the book could have held promise for my students and me. My recommendation: save your money.

    Dr. Art

    5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Very inspiring and powerful read! Every patriotic American should have a copy of this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    Misdirection

    This should have been called "Was Washington a Christain?" So much for history! While the nation was fortunate to have this great man at an appropriate time, I wonder if he might have "rebelled" against an obvious push by the religious right to dominate this country and it's history. This work is a brick in that wall. As a Washington/Hamilton conservative, I find this unacceptable in the "history" category. Religion would have been more appropriate, under "How to be an honorable man."

    3 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Contrary to popular belief, Washington was not a deist. You don'

    Contrary to popular belief, Washington was not a deist. You don't have to be an educated man to know that. You just have to be unbiased and accept that this country was founded on Christian principles. This book settles that argument. It needs to be over 700 pages so that we get the point, Washington was not a deist. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3