Customer Reviews for

George Washington's Secret Six: The Spy Ring That Saved the American Revolution

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

An easy-flowing short read, full facts without bogging down in m

An easy-flowing short read, full facts without bogging down in minutia. History buffs will enjoy details of the way spies of the time operated and passed on the results of their intrigue, as well as details of the British plots and near misses, including Benedict Arnol...
An easy-flowing short read, full facts without bogging down in minutia. History buffs will enjoy details of the way spies of the time operated and passed on the results of their intrigue, as well as details of the British plots and near misses, including Benedict Arnold. The rest of us learn more about the early years of the birth of our nation, men and women who risked all, and how close we came to failure.

The Loyalists and the Patriots each had spies during the American Revolution. Relying on historical documents and previous research, the authors follow a group known at the Culpers that operated on Long Island, in New York City, and in Connecticut during the British occupation of NYC 1776 -1783. Their names were known to but a necessary few at the time -- thorough historical research has ultimately revealed all but one, agent 355, a woman.


posted by eagle3tx on November 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Caution, not everything in this book is true.

This book is a very difficult book to read because his accurate accounts are overshadowed by some astounding inaccuracies. I have found myself checking primary sources in order to counter some of his more outrageous statements. By the author's own admission, conversat...
This book is a very difficult book to read because his accurate accounts are overshadowed by some astounding inaccuracies. I have found myself checking primary sources in order to counter some of his more outrageous statements. By the author's own admission, conversations were made up, therefore this book should be classified as fiction.

posted by HistoricalJustice on January 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Awesome book about a little known group in history that you won'

    Awesome book about a little known group in history that you won't read about in high school or college. Interesting parallels of spying linking the past to the present especially in light of the NSA scandals. Great read!

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    This book is endlessly fascinating. For as detail-oriented and t

    This book is endlessly fascinating. For as detail-oriented and thorough it is, it's an easy read. I read it in nearly one sitting because I couldn't put it down. I will be giving this as holiday gifts to all the history buffs in my life. I can't wait to re-read it! 

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    An incredible and powerful read that is sure to open your eyes t

    An incredible and powerful read that is sure to open your eyes to many previously untold details about the American Revolution. Kilmeade paints of vivid picture for readers leaving no detail untold. I highly recommend this book for readers of all ages. Truly has something for everyone.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Couldnt put it down. Exciting and informative. Full of patriot

    Couldnt put it down. Exciting and informative. Full of patriotic fervor and lessons of individual sacrifice. The stuff that makes us all proud to be Americans.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Recommend!

    This is a great historical work that blends an extremely interesting story with good writing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    An interesting book that uncovers some of the covert operations

    An interesting book that uncovers some of the covert operations that occurred during the American Revolution and ultimately helped shape our history. Great for any history buffs or spy novel enthusiasts! Grab a copy and flip through it yourself!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Great read.

    Great read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lee Ashford for Readers' Favorite George Washington

    Reviewed by Lee Ashford for Readers' Favorite

    George Washington’s Secret Six by Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaeger is the single most illuminating piece of non-fiction it has ever been my pleasure and honor to read. History of the daring Revolution against King George of England and his much superior fighting force comes alive within the covers of this remarkable text. The subject of this book concerns the pivotal involvement of a surreptitious ring of six spies who maintained a steady, if circuitous, flow of critical information from New York, where British military was firmly entrenched, to Washington’s headquarters in New Jersey. It may rightly be said the United States of America might never have existed, were it not for the courageous efforts of these six ordinary people. So secretive was their existence that to this day the identity and ultimate fate of one of them is still not known. General George Washington, Commander-in-Chief of the Continental Army, by design, did not even know the names of his crucial links in the fight for independence.

    George Washington’s Secret Six is not a fictional story; it really happened the way the authors have presented it. Nearly one quarter of this volume is given over to documentation of every assertion made by the authors. However, being true does not mean it is boring. It is as captivating and filled with intrigue as any best-selling fictional espionage thriller. This book goes way beyond your High School History class, expounding upon events so clandestine their existence was known to only a very few of the participants’ descendants long after the fact. Yet, the methods devised by Washington and his confidants were so advanced for their time that they are still taught today to CIA intelligence agents. Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaeger researched this critical bit of history for over 25 years before they were sufficiently confident of the integrity of what they wanted to publish. If the spies had failed, the entire planet would have proceeded down a different path. It has oft been said George Washington is the father of our country. George Washington’s Secret Six proclaims the truth of that statement like never before.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Movie up next.

    This has been one of the most enlighting books I have ever read on the early history of our great nation. Now I understand how a ragtag group of poorly trained and equiped citizen's army defeated the most powerful army in the history of warfare at that time. Would make a great screenplay.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    A must read

    This is a must read for those interested in u.s. history. I suspect most of us were clueless about washington's spy ring. Do you want to know the story behind benidict arnold?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I grew up in this area and have always been interested in the history of the area. However, this is the first time it all came together in a new way. I never knew exactly how the ring operated and this was fascinating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    MUST Read!

    This should be required reading in our schools. Every American needs to be aware of what so many sacrificed in order for us to have the freedoms we take for granted today. I am glad this was a passion for Kilmeade and Yaeger for they were able to present history in an interesting, easy to follow manner. Nothing like a spy story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Rick Frazier Park, CA

    Three years ago I started reading history books to better inform myself about America's rich history and to gain a better sense of how and why our country has moved away from the original core values contained in the US Constitution. With that in mind, I read the Secret Six because I found George Washing to be a very interesting and dedicated American. This book is very interesting and is an outstanding read that will be difficult to put down. We owe a great deal to George Washington and his Secret Six.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Geo Washington's Secret Six

    A wonderful read! It shed more light on Nathan Hale's situation, and the difficulties facing those who gathered and reported information to help the Continental Army fight the British.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    Loved this book..

    I never knew anything about the spy ring and it's place in the foundation of our country, also never realized just what a truly great and humble man George Washington was. Highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    I could not put it down iether im with you

    Exellent book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    excellent read, everyone should read this!

    I loved the style in which it is written. It made me fell as I were there live , in the middle of the action. Great read !!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Highly recommend it... A must read.

    This book was exciting, bringing you back to the era in which this took place. Easy to visualize yourself as one of the spy characters corresponding with other characters in the book including George Washington the president himself! The writer made the story very visual and real. You can actually feel the fear they experienced in their spy adventures. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Washington's secrets

    This is one fantastic book!, I wish the schools had this one in there library's.I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    As a person who enjoys reading about American history, I have re

    As a person who enjoys reading about American history, I have read many books that have offered much insight on the development of our great Nation. I have also read several on George Washington specifically. However, this book provided outstanding  insight into the life and thought process of George Washington that I had not known or appreciated before.I could not put it down and when I did I could not wait to start reading again. Thanks for unique insight and new knowledge.
    Rick Garcia, Frazier Park, CA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4