Customer Reviews for

George's Secret Key to the Universe

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The secret key to turn kids in science lovers!

A great (and funny) way to teach science to kids (and adults, too). The illustrations are great! If you are not a science lover, no problem: just have fun!

posted by 503614 on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Way too much

I bought this book at my library for 2 freaking dollars!

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Eight-year old loved it.

    My eight-year old tends to stick to what he knows, and would be reading "easy" books forever. I love physics, and bought this book because of the glowing reviews. Well, it lived up to them! He's already read both books and is anxiously awaiting the promised third book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    The secret key to turn kids in science lovers!

    A great (and funny) way to teach science to kids (and adults, too).
    The illustrations are great!
    If you are not a science lover, no problem: just have fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Way too much

    I bought this book at my library for 2 freaking dollars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    This book was recommended by Lucas' 5th grade science teacher. I'm glad I read it. (I used to try to convince myself that I must read his books to be certain they contain nothing objectionable, now I just admit I love kids books) The first few chapters were very slow moving. They set up the characters of the story. George is a child of two organic loving, technology hating "save the Earth" parents. They shun technology to the point where they use candles instead of light bulbs! Eric, the scientist neighbor who loves to teach. Annie, Eric's annoying but lovable daughter. Mr. G. Reeper (known as Greeper to his students) the science teacher in George's school, Greeper is the villain of the story..OK- you knew there had to be a villain, right? And let's not forget COSMOS, the most amazing computer in the universe. COSMOS, a talking computer with an attitude, reminded me of HAL from Space Odyssey, 2001.
    The book told a story of saving the planet and/or searching for other habitable planets. Should we work together to do both? Can technology be a good thing if used correctly?
    This book is full of fun scientific information. There are footnotes about the planets, comets, asteroids, matter, black holes and many other astronomical objects. The illustrations that accompany the story are wonderful, courtesy of Garry Parsons. There are several color photos of planets, black holes, comets and other things discussed in the book. Kids learn about astronomy without realizing they are learning!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    What every family should know about black holes and stuff

    Excellent family read-aloud and share book. Plenty of information for discussion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    AMAZING

    AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    HIGLY RECOMMEND

    A very entertaining book that makes you learn things without realizing that you are. Very creative and imaginative. For any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    The main point I am trying to make is that i think this book is

    The main point I am trying to make is that i think this book is great for students who love science and learning new things. I think that a kid should be aloud to read anything they want to i just recommend this book for one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    LOVE I LOVE IT FOREVER

    I tore through it reading every chance I got. That a 5 star book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Very Pleasing

    This book is good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Our 10-year old twin grandsons loved both Lucy/Stephen Hawking books!

    Both boys loved the two books. In fact one of them now has his sights set on attending Harvard, becoming an Astrophysicist & writing children's books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    amazingly entertaining

    How much it targets the audience? It can be understandable many ways. Try it just like Eric did then you will feel how complex the task is. Imagine that the black hole is here and right now with the unknown... A great book knowing the scientist author's opinion that discovery is related to the intelligence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book by Stephen and Lucy Hawking is the most outstanding book I have ever read. While retrieving his lost pig Freddy he discovers that his mysterious neighbor is actually a very intellegent scientist who is looking for any signs of life on other planets using the world's most powerful computer , Cosmos. Cosmos is a computer who can unlock portals to any where in the universe that will help George's friend Eric explore the universe on his quest to find life in the universe. I recommend this book enthusiastically. So pick it up at Barnes and Noble today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2