Customer Reviews for

Georgia Bottoms

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Hold onto Your Hat!

What a hilarious rush of a book as Childress dishes up another unforgettable Southern woman. Georgia Bottoms is a belle of, well, unbelievable chutspah artfully folded into a merengue of charm so thick that she can just about get away with anything, and pretty much does...
What a hilarious rush of a book as Childress dishes up another unforgettable Southern woman. Georgia Bottoms is a belle of, well, unbelievable chutspah artfully folded into a merengue of charm so thick that she can just about get away with anything, and pretty much does. I have rarely laughed out loud so often, and the ending kept me smiling for days. In fact, I'm chuckling even as I recall it now. A rare, substantial confection of the heart clearly delivered up with love and a soupcon of devilment from an author who, by my count, is 7 for 7. Guaranteed enjoyment from the Manolo Blahniks on the cover to the very last word.

posted by Ganidny on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Offensive and degrading to God and Christians

I got to page 3 and could not stomach the disgusting and disrespectful references to Jesus and Christians. Highly offensive. I will never purchase from this author again.

posted by 9738223 on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Hold onto Your Hat!

    What a hilarious rush of a book as Childress dishes up another unforgettable Southern woman. Georgia Bottoms is a belle of, well, unbelievable chutspah artfully folded into a merengue of charm so thick that she can just about get away with anything, and pretty much does. I have rarely laughed out loud so often, and the ending kept me smiling for days. In fact, I'm chuckling even as I recall it now. A rare, substantial confection of the heart clearly delivered up with love and a soupcon of devilment from an author who, by my count, is 7 for 7. Guaranteed enjoyment from the Manolo Blahniks on the cover to the very last word.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Even the best laid plans can go complete crazy and in unexpected ways.

    She needed to change her last name. It's hard to be taken serious in a town when you last name is really Butts. So way before she was born her family had the name changed. Being a devoutly Baptist Southern belle, Georgia Bottoms is well-known in Six Points, Alabama.

    The women in the sweet, small town know her for her annual women's luncheon is which is the occasion for celebration in the small town. She is known for her elaborate menu from Lobster Scallion Shooters to Pizzetta Bruschetta, to her well dressed home and finely decorated table with all the touches that Martha Stewart herself would be jealous of.

    Even Georgia Bottoms herself, dressed to the high nines in Ann Lauren and wearing Chanel No. 5 is not about to be upstaged by anyone. Every lady in Six Points awaits Georgia's luncheon like a child waiting for Christmas.

    But that isn't all Georgia Bottoms is well-known for, just ask the Judge, the local sheriff, the CEO at the bank, the town doctor and even the church minister. Georgia has a day dedicated to every single one of them and none knows about it but Georgia.

    However, even the best laid plans can come unglued at the proverbial seams and no amount of planning could prepare Georgia for what's about to happen.

    I received the novel, Georgia Bottoms by Mark Childress compliments of Hachette Book Groups and Little, Brown and Company and besides all of Georgia's antics and even living with her mother and brother, the book still rates a 4 out of 5. This book does contain some sexual content but the story is wonderful and easy to relate to the character of Georgia who thinks she has everything and everyone planned out perfectly. This book is available in eBook and Hardcover formats.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Offensive and degrading to God and Christians

    I got to page 3 and could not stomach the disgusting and disrespectful references to Jesus and Christians. Highly offensive. I will never purchase from this author again.

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Charming

    When I first began to read the book, I thought "where is this author going with this story". But as I continued I couldn't stop laughing. I recently moved to the south and said to myself this is a southern story. This would never happen in the north. Georgia's character is so likeable. You can just picture her getting all dressed up to go to church. Little Mama is even likeable despite her racist comments. Brother and Nathan are also great characters. As to the other characters, they were so southern. Mr. Childress has to be from the south. Only a southern could write a story like this. I would love to have the story continue in another book. It would be interesting to know what happens to Georgia in New Orleans. I do not want to give the ending away because the author indicated that Georgia was heading into another adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Would certainly recommend this book.

    It is a page turner.Quite captivating!Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    loved it!

    easily got into the characters, easily got hooked on the. story,didn't want it to end........mark could you please write a sequel? i need more of georgia!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Pure Joy!

    This is a fabulous book. Couldn't put it down. The characters were fantastic and unforgettable. I keep telling people about it, then refuse to loan the book - I never loan my favorites for fear they won't come back - I plan to read this one again and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mark Childress is a Son of the South - the south that is educa


    Mark Childress is a Son of the South - the south that is educated, Self-aware, unashamed and duly remorseful for its sins.  In that culture, one’s “sins” are largely an open “secret,” bizarre behavior is expected, peculiar people are celebrated and Church is a gathering place where the role is kept more for social standing than for being “called up Yonder.”  Because Mr. Childress is a native, he is fluent in the language of the South, both verbal and nonverbal, and his stories reflect places of that wondrous region that one would enjoy visiting but would soon learn to be wary of “staying past your welcome.”  This present novel is a case in point of such a place and of the author’s gift of story-telling.
    Six Points, Alabama, once one of the richest locations in Alabama, now a place so small that cell phones get spotty service, cable television is as rare as central air conditioning and “everybody knows everybody’s business,” or so the inhabitants think.  Georgia Bottoms, life-long resident of that quiet community, is proof positive that what is seen is what is displayed, but what is displayed is not always as it appears.  Ms. Georgia is the last of a long line of a “moneyed” family whose money is long-gone and what she has left is the family mansion along with the bills to maintain it and her family. This family consists of her mother, “Little Mama,” an elderly woman whose memory is as consistent as is the cell phone service and Brother, a cute, charming, alcoholic miscreant.  The story opens with Georgia sitting in church, realizing that her way of life is about to be ended by an unwise confession from a surprising source.  Her reaction to this threat is but the beginning of a series of steps Georgia takes to keep her life going on.
    Much of the antics recorded are hilarious (the arrest of Brother for Domestic Terrorism is one that could be read with glee repeatedly) while they are desperate and risky.  What the reader learns of Georgia in the years she/he journey with her is the length one is willing to travel to provide for loved ones.  The revelations, when they come, are made less shocking by the connection the reader has with Six Points and the reality that “one does what one has to do” in that small town.  This is a book for an adult reader, as there are sexual situations, racial slurs and issues that require knowledge of life beyond adolescence to understand.
    This book is one that would be a great summer/vacation read.  There is much to ponder, but presented in such a way that one can read the story, laughing frequently and not have to stop and consider what has just been read.
    At heart, this book is one of redemption, forgiveness and repentance.  Georgia, a weekly church attending atheist, has no belief in, or expectation of, God. Her life is spent in Self-Sacrifice, seeing the needs of others as of greater importance that her comfort.  Her mistakes are plenteous, but not so huge that the reader cannot grasp them.  Her choice to face one of the larger “mistakes” and take responsibility for it requires that she cease hiding and LIVE; that choice allows her to walk into a new life unblemished by secrets.  The reader is left with a sense of rejoicing in this “rebirth” while knowing that there are still things Georgia must face before she can truly be free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Seriously sucked

    Pointless stupid story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    I love this book!!!!

    One of my favorites I have ever read. If you want to laugh and love the south, this is your book!!!! Can we please have a sequel?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is a very good story. The lead character is fabulous. This is funny, entertaining and lively. Georgia will continue to amuse right up to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I am not a very sophisticated reader...but I loved, loved loved, this book! I just sent out an email recommending the book to our book club. The book is a great way to start the summer off with a bang! Light and easy everyone can enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too many stories in a short book.....

    I was NOT impressed by Georgia Bottoms by Mark Childress. I have never read this author before but read the synopsis of the book and thought it looked interesting. Don't be fooled! Although the synopsis is essentially the main story, there are too many side stories for this 207 page book! Not only that, pretty much a whole chapter is about Georgia preparing for a party...her getting ready, cooking, etc.....which was completely BORING to me.

    Like I said before, maybe this is just not my type of reading as it seems like a lot of other readers enjoyed the book. It just wasn't for me!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not impressed.

    A very quick read. Slightly entertaining, but overall, not a very good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    I LOVED this book! I could not put it down, kept thinking what is gonna happen now! Finished in 2 days. Easy read. I never read a Mark Childress book before but I am gonna look for his previous books to see if they are all this good!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    This book was a delight to read!  The main character was a lovea

    This book was a delight to read!  The main character was a loveable representation of humanity - flawed but with a good heart underneath.  The story had several plot twists that kept you interested to the end, while touching on adultery, racism and hypocrisy in religion.  The author did a fantastic job of making the reader feel like they'd been plopped down in the middle of a small town.  The book was an enjoyable light fun read that went by much too quickly!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Entertaining!

    I enjoyed this book very much. It left me wanting to see what adventures Georgia and her family will have next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    To all

    A little baby was brought in it was a girl wearing nothing but a diaper she looked about one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Did you move?

    ???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Alex

    Hannah the leader is gone for some reason))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9