Customer Reviews for

Georgia Bottoms

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Hold onto Your Hat!

What a hilarious rush of a book as Childress dishes up another unforgettable Southern woman. Georgia Bottoms is a belle of, well, unbelievable chutspah artfully folded into a merengue of charm so thick that she can just about get away with anything, and pretty much does...
What a hilarious rush of a book as Childress dishes up another unforgettable Southern woman. Georgia Bottoms is a belle of, well, unbelievable chutspah artfully folded into a merengue of charm so thick that she can just about get away with anything, and pretty much does. I have rarely laughed out loud so often, and the ending kept me smiling for days. In fact, I'm chuckling even as I recall it now. A rare, substantial confection of the heart clearly delivered up with love and a soupcon of devilment from an author who, by my count, is 7 for 7. Guaranteed enjoyment from the Manolo Blahniks on the cover to the very last word.

posted by Ganidny on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Offensive and degrading to God and Christians

I got to page 3 and could not stomach the disgusting and disrespectful references to Jesus and Christians. Highly offensive. I will never purchase from this author again.

posted by 9738223 on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Hold onto Your Hat!

    What a hilarious rush of a book as Childress dishes up another unforgettable Southern woman. Georgia Bottoms is a belle of, well, unbelievable chutspah artfully folded into a merengue of charm so thick that she can just about get away with anything, and pretty much does. I have rarely laughed out loud so often, and the ending kept me smiling for days. In fact, I'm chuckling even as I recall it now. A rare, substantial confection of the heart clearly delivered up with love and a soupcon of devilment from an author who, by my count, is 7 for 7. Guaranteed enjoyment from the Manolo Blahniks on the cover to the very last word.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Even the best laid plans can go complete crazy and in unexpected ways.

    She needed to change her last name. It's hard to be taken serious in a town when you last name is really Butts. So way before she was born her family had the name changed. Being a devoutly Baptist Southern belle, Georgia Bottoms is well-known in Six Points, Alabama.

    The women in the sweet, small town know her for her annual women's luncheon is which is the occasion for celebration in the small town. She is known for her elaborate menu from Lobster Scallion Shooters to Pizzetta Bruschetta, to her well dressed home and finely decorated table with all the touches that Martha Stewart herself would be jealous of.

    Even Georgia Bottoms herself, dressed to the high nines in Ann Lauren and wearing Chanel No. 5 is not about to be upstaged by anyone. Every lady in Six Points awaits Georgia's luncheon like a child waiting for Christmas.

    But that isn't all Georgia Bottoms is well-known for, just ask the Judge, the local sheriff, the CEO at the bank, the town doctor and even the church minister. Georgia has a day dedicated to every single one of them and none knows about it but Georgia.

    However, even the best laid plans can come unglued at the proverbial seams and no amount of planning could prepare Georgia for what's about to happen.

    I received the novel, Georgia Bottoms by Mark Childress compliments of Hachette Book Groups and Little, Brown and Company and besides all of Georgia's antics and even living with her mother and brother, the book still rates a 4 out of 5. This book does contain some sexual content but the story is wonderful and easy to relate to the character of Georgia who thinks she has everything and everyone planned out perfectly. This book is available in eBook and Hardcover formats.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Charming

    When I first began to read the book, I thought "where is this author going with this story". But as I continued I couldn't stop laughing. I recently moved to the south and said to myself this is a southern story. This would never happen in the north. Georgia's character is so likeable. You can just picture her getting all dressed up to go to church. Little Mama is even likeable despite her racist comments. Brother and Nathan are also great characters. As to the other characters, they were so southern. Mr. Childress has to be from the south. Only a southern could write a story like this. I would love to have the story continue in another book. It would be interesting to know what happens to Georgia in New Orleans. I do not want to give the ending away because the author indicated that Georgia was heading into another adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    loved it!

    easily got into the characters, easily got hooked on the. story,didn't want it to end........mark could you please write a sequel? i need more of georgia!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Pure Joy!

    This is a fabulous book. Couldn't put it down. The characters were fantastic and unforgettable. I keep telling people about it, then refuse to loan the book - I never loan my favorites for fear they won't come back - I plan to read this one again and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    I love this book!!!!

    One of my favorites I have ever read. If you want to laugh and love the south, this is your book!!!! Can we please have a sequel?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is a very good story. The lead character is fabulous. This is funny, entertaining and lively. Georgia will continue to amuse right up to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I am not a very sophisticated reader...but I loved, loved loved, this book! I just sent out an email recommending the book to our book club. The book is a great way to start the summer off with a bang! Light and easy everyone can enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    I LOVED this book! I could not put it down, kept thinking what is gonna happen now! Finished in 2 days. Easy read. I never read a Mark Childress book before but I am gonna look for his previous books to see if they are all this good!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Entertaining!

    I enjoyed this book very much. It left me wanting to see what adventures Georgia and her family will have next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Did you move?

    ???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Alex

    Hannah the leader is gone for some reason))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I loved this book and wished it was longer. I hope there is a s

    I loved this book and wished it was longer. I hope there is a sequel to it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Very funny and Entertaining book!

    Great book. I loved every page of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    A good southern story

    This is a fabulous story about love, survival and courage. Georgia is a modern day Scarlett O'Hara with a bit more eccentric family than Scarlett had, but the same determination to make it thru all stones thrown in her path. As a southern girl I found the characters very authentic and I hated for the story to end. Hopefully Georgia will have another story and we'll find out what happens to her in Naw'lins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a great read

    Georgia Bottoms is your typical Southern Belle - poised and confidant, a regular church goer, and great at organizing. In fact, she has all of her secret lives methodically hidden away from the others. 9/11 changes that and her carefully juggled details begin to collide with one another.

    Mark Childress has reached a new level with Georgia Bottoms: A Novel. It isn't a simple book about a stereotypical southern belle. Just like Georgia's gentleman friends stand to point a finger against her, Childress throws the spotlight on racism, sex, drugs, religion, and the hands that throw the stones.

    Disclaimer: A copy of the book was provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A funny and heartbreaking story

    Georgia Bottoms is beautiful, full of southern charm and goes to church every Sunday. She also cares for her elderly mother and sells hand made quilts all around Six Points, Alabama.

    But she is also a woman with a secret life. She entertains some of the town's finest male citizens at night. Six different men and each has his particular night of the week and the night is customized to his particular tastes. They have all been trained to leave her a "gift" to help Georgia take care of herself and her mother. Plus each gentleman caller thinks he's the only lover enjoying Georgia's company.

    Things start to fall apart when Georgia's minister, Mr. Saturday Night, decides to confess his sins to his wife and the entire congregation one Sunday morning. She manages to cause a diversion to stop this confession, but knows if she doesn't do something quickly her entire private life will become public knowledge. She has to protect her mother and herself. Six Points, Alabama will never be the same.

    Yes, I loved this story so much. I think it will definitely become a sort of Southern Classic. It is funny and heartbreaking. The entire town seems totally dysfunctional and perfect together at the time.

    It amazed me that Georgia was able to keep up this ruse as long as she did, but Mark Childress is such a great writer I bought the whole thing, hook, line and sinker. Maybe it's the Alabama heat that drives what would almost be called insanity of this town, but I loved it, each and every word. I may be a little biased here because I live far from the south but have learned that pastors can be some of the most hypocritical persons on the earth, so I had no trouble buying into this pastor's story or the replacement.

    Childress has created a strong be it offbeat heroine. I had read several reviews before I read this book and some people actually hated it and hated Georgia. After reading it myself I decided those who panned this book must not have had much of a sense of humor, this book is comedic look at not only southern life but life anywhere. Every word may not be politically correct but with some minor changes like a long cold winter instead of a long hot summer this could easily have taken place in North Dakota as Alabama. Do any of really know what is happening behind the closed doors of our neighbors?

    This is a great book to "escape" with and it will definitely tickle your funny bone. It is my first book my Mark Childress but it most definitely is not my last!!!




    Disclosure of Material Connection: This book was my personal collection. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Guilty pleasure...exposed

    Peaking in the window! Hypocracy lurking in your mind. What a hilarious turn of events. An escap into someone elses temptation. What is your guilty pleasure?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Laugh out loud fun!

    Could't read it fast enough! Mark Childress has pdone it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3