Customer Reviews for

Georgia Cooking in an Oklahoma Kitchen: Recipes from My Family to Yours

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I am a collector or recipe books, magazines, anything I can get my hands on. I have been looking for a cookbook like this for a long time. I actually considered writing one just like this myself. If you want the basic recipes that everyone needs...this has it! This book...
I am a collector or recipe books, magazines, anything I can get my hands on. I have been looking for a cookbook like this for a long time. I actually considered writing one just like this myself. If you want the basic recipes that everyone needs...this has it! This book is full of all those recipes that mom or grandma made that you can't find without some whacky ingredient added. It's perfectly simple and the best $ I've spent on a cookbook in a long time! Well done Trisha!

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Buy your local junior league cookbook instead!

It will have the same old recipes and the money will go to a good cause. Boring recipes in a coffee table picture book.

posted by Lesjes on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am a collector or recipe books, magazines, anything I can get my hands on. I have been looking for a cookbook like this for a long time. I actually considered writing one just like this myself. If you want the basic recipes that everyone needs...this has it! This book is full of all those recipes that mom or grandma made that you can't find without some whacky ingredient added. It's perfectly simple and the best $ I've spent on a cookbook in a long time! Well done Trisha!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    New England Cook

    I have made several of Trisha's recipes, including her delicious meatloaf, chicken broccoli and rice casserole and so far I am impressed. Buy this book , you won't regret it. Love the pictures to.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Love The Book

    I really enjoy having this cookbook. I love the recipes and the stories. I've made the berry cobbler several times and each time, my husband can't get enough of it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Love her music, Love her recipes!

    I have been a Trisha fan for years so when i saw she had a cookbook out i couldn't wait to check it out. I have had the book for a couple of weeks now and have tried several of the recipes, they were a huge hit with the whole family. I love the stories she tells about many of the recipes and the little extra tips on the sides of the pages. The recipes are simple and easy to follow which i need with my busy life! I feel more confident in my cooking after seeing how easy it can be, I have been a 'box' cook for a long time, I think i am becoming a 'scratch' cook and I Love it! Thanks Trisha!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The woman can cook!

    I picked this book up a couple times before I finally made the purchase. I am so glad I finally bought it! This is actual food that everyone knows and loves. The recipes are easy to cook and they taste great. The tortilla soup, brownies, chicken and broccoli casserole and the biscuits are super. I have tried four of the recipes and I am going to keep trying more. This is the first cookbook that I have tried more than just a couple of the recipes. <BR/><BR/>I wish she would write more. I know these are recipes that were Yearwood family specific. But, I would buy another cookbook that Trisha has handpicked the recipes. Love it!<BR/><BR/>11/11/08 - Since writing the above I have tried the macaroni and cheese and the sausage balls. The macaroni and cheese was excellent. I had never made my own cheese sauce before and this was easy and the taste was perfect. The sausage balls were also good, but something I had made from Bisquick before. However, they were also good and something my daughter, who is 18 and has never cooked before, enjoyed making. So thanks again - excellent - HIGHLY recommend this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    My favorite cookbook

    This cookbook is a Must Have! I just recieved it 5 days ago and I have tried out the peach cobbler and brownies with coconut frosting. Both are wonderful! I love reading the stories that go along with each recipe. Money well spent on this one!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Buy your local junior league cookbook instead!

    It will have the same old recipes and the money will go to a good cause. Boring recipes in a coffee table picture book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    Fantastic

    The recipes are straightforward, the stories that accompany them are wonderful, and the photos are beautiful. This was obviously a labor of love from Trisha and her family.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    best cook book ever!

    we have tried most of the recipe's and only one was not to our liking. the stories that go along with each recipe is entertaining and the directions are very prcise and clear, no guessing. hoping for more like this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    Good Food and Good Stories

    Not only are the recipes in this cookbook outstanding, the comments by Tricia, Gwen and Beth make it a great book to read. Being from Tricia's hometown, I have had the pleasure of tasting several of these dishes and they are every bit as good as they sound.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Great, old fashioned at home meals! Loved it!

    Loved this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    One of the best !

    I have alot of cookbooks and this series of cookbooks Trisha has come out with are DEFINATELY a staple in my library!

    They are meals that are easy to prepare any day of the week.... They are REAL southern recipes !

    I hope she brings us some more recipes ! I will be the first in line.
    Look out Paula :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Nothing good about this cookbook

    Nothing special about her cooking

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    A GREAT DOWNHOME SOUTHERN COOKBOOK

    Being raised in a southern home myself, these recipes remind me of my childhood. Trisha has simple, easy-to-follow recipes. After using this cookbook my next purchase will be Trisha's second cookbook. Keep it up Trisha!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    best cookbook ever

    beautiful pictures, along with great easy to follow recipies makes this myfavorite cookbook.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    The BEST!!

    I love cookbooks and trying new recipes-- and let me tell ya--- I have made MANY recipes from this cookbook and EVERY one of them turned out AMAZING! The ingredients are simple and easy to find, which I LOVE! This is my favorite cookbook, by far! If I need a honestly great recipe which will turn out WONDERFUL every single time, I turn to Miss Trisha!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Highly enjoyable

    Wonderful. E book index making it easy for me to research a food item. Great writing pictures

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty

    I love the design of this book and displaying in kitchen. So far i have made a couple recipes and love them. Esp. the pecan pie, YUM!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    ALL OKIES ARE GOOD COOKS

    I love trisha and i know she is a good cook and i am buying this book, this weekend

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Pretty book but recipes are nothing new

    Recipes are standard rural church basement potluck stuff that I've been making for years

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3