Customer Reviews for

Georgia on Her Mind

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Great part of a Christian Romance series

    I really enjoy this author and this series of books. Each can stand on their own, but it's great to read them all and see how each character grows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Recommended if you like chick lit.

    I'm not the biggest fan of chick lit, but I did find this story entertaining and thought-provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    Hilarious, engaging, fun

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    really good, loved the humor

    This book had real characters that any one could relate with. Who hasn't know a guy like chris? Or had such close girlfriends. Great to read when you feel like your world's gone down the tubes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    For guys too

    This was my wife's book, but I read it anyway, because it didn't have a 'women only' warning label. I found the story captivating, and the characters both believable, and like someone everybody knows. Rachel Hauck has a wonderful sense of humor that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. Yes, it's okay if we, like Macy have standards for our companions, as so many of us settle for a lot less than second best. I recommend this for a book that both of you can read, just don't let her read it first, or let her know that you did. Better yet, if it's for a girlfriend, buy your own copy. This book will be passed around to friends, and you might not see it when she is done. The take away value of this story is that we never know in what way we influence those we meet, even in a casual way. While this may be called chick-lit, that doesn't mean a man won't enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great new voice in chick lit! Highly inspirational!

    Georgia on Her Mind is a totally inspirational title. Not the title itself, but the story behind it. I love it when a book makes me sigh at the end and say to myself, 'Now THAT was a great story.' Georgia on Her Mind made me do just that. I did get a bit frustrated with Macy a few times, but she just did what most of us do...ask for advice and then do something different anyway. And the appearances thing really rang true for me. I'd climbed the government ladder to become the youngest supervisor for the State at 28 (in my division) only to decide to spend more time with my family and less time at work when I was 30, so that year I felt like I'd taken a zillion steps back in my career. But I'm still glad I listened to God. The joy we find in life is not measured by our status or the value of our possessions. To me, Georgia on Her Mind is a fantastic illustration of that lesson. Not only was this story laugh-out-loud funny in many places, but I found it quite touching and insightful as well. Sometimes God hooks us up with the most unlikely people that we would never choose to be friends with. Then we find out the person is searching for Him. How exciting it is to lead someone to Christ. It's one of the most satisfying things in a Christian's life, to know that they introduced someone to a peace that surpasses all understanding, to mind-boggling joy and agape love. That's what Georgia on Her Mind did for me. It made me want to love people enough to take the time for them and truly listen to what they are saying so I can be sensitive to what God wants me to do. Of all of the chick lit I've read in the past few years I think this has impacted me the most spiritually. I highly recommend this debut novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    In a word - hilarious!

    In a word ¿ HILARIOUS. Georgia on Her Mind is a rollicking good book, filled with memorable characters on a rollercoaster ride with life. Macy has a lot to learn and a lot to get over, and her faith walk reminded me a lot of my own¿three steps forward two slippery-slide steps back. Hauck portrays Macy's dilemmas, and the way she handles them¿or doesn't¿with a fresh voice, having fun with the characters and the story. There were times I wanted to slap Macy upside the head and tell her to get a grip and get over it, but then so did her girlfriends. Rachel Hauck had me completely invested in the lives of her characters. I needed to know how they got through all the 'stuff'. Macy's search for God's will is like ours. I don't get lightning strikes or verbal directions from God. Neither did Macy. She had to keep looking, make mistakes and guess, hoping to discover the right way for her. Just like you and me. But Hauck doesn't hit you over the head with the spiritual thread it's just part of who Macy is. Not in-your-face or shouting get what I'm trying to teach you, Georgia on Her Mind is a good book, worthy of standing up against any chick lit out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1