Customer Reviews for

Georgiana: Duchess of Devonshire

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    Wonderful for anyone who enjoys history

    A beautifully written biography of an incredibly interesting woman. The author obviously came to love her subject but without being blind to her faults... the perfect recipe for a wonderful history book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Interesting look at 18th Century English high society

    I had to read this book for a graduate class on European Biographies and I'm glad I did. It was an extremely interesting book. Well worth the time it took to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    Fabulous, Engaging biography...

    An excellent biography -- it deserves every award it's garnered, and presents a fabulous look at the celebrity that Georgiana was.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    The most riveting biography you will ever read

    Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire is about a woman who is born with every good fortune life can bestow including wealth, high birth, beauty, talent and intelligence. She then marries the richest man in England and becomes the most famous, the most popular, the most powerful woman of the day. And yet she is so lonely, so miserable, that she embarks on a course towards total self-destruction. However, unlike most biographies of famous-but-flawed people, this one is about destruction followed by regeneration. What I enjoyed most in 'Georgiana' was reading about her successful struggle to overcome her problems (which included gambling, drug addiction and bullimia)and her re-entry into society as a reformed and happy woman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Excellent Book

    I bought this book without realizing there was a movie out based on it, and I am so glad I read the book first. The story of the Duchess as told by Ms.Foreman is very full and rich. The character development is excellent, and the detail of the events of Georgiana's life are excellent. I had some background in 18th century English history, so some of the names in the book such as Fox and Pitt are familiar, but this knowledge is not absolutely necessary to a successful reading of the book. The book does an excellent job of recreating the world of the late 18th century, touching on events such as the American and French revolutions and the rise of Napoleon, and Georgiana had a front row seat for it all. I did however, always feel as though she was just out of reach, that I could almost step in her shoes, but not quite. I would highly recommend this book. If you think you may be even remotely interested in reading it, do so, you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Wonderful, easy, intelligent read!

    Amanda Foreman never loses you. The book flows perfectly through the many scandals and heart-felts. Factual without being a textbook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    AWESOME BOOK! Loved it!

    Foreman paints an incredibly vivd portrait in the mind's eye of this amazing woman and her life. It was like Foreman was there and took notes on what she saw! SO SO SSOO happy I bought this book and have the pleasure of having it in my bookcase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    18th C English Heaven

    for the reader, if hellish for the subject. Really fascinating and evocative of the time. Way better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    amazing

    If you saw the movie and liked it, or have any inclination to know more about Georgiana, then read this book! I absolutely fell in love with her. Amanda Foreman not only chronicles Georgiana's life, but everything political and societal concerning her as well. The fact that it's a biography may seem daunting to some, but Foreman's writing combined with such a fascinating life makes it read more like a novel. I will definitely be rereading this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    Georgiana

    I was looking forward to reading this book cause I really liked the movie and I thought she had a interesting life but the book was kinda boring and I didn't finish it I got half way through it and had to stop.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Intersting book if you know the period

    It's a good suppliment to other books written about that same timeframe but it lacks background information about the times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Reads like a Text Book

    I was so excited to read this book, infact I stupidly brought it with me on a long flight thinking it would "take me away" from the long hours inflight. After reading all the hype the auther drags out in the begining, the exciting family trees and beautiful art I was ampted to learn the life of Georgiana, instead I found the actual first chapter to be so boring and junior high text book like, I opted to read Skymall instead over and over and left The Duchess in the plane for the next doomed reader to find.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Sporadically Interesting

    Well written and researched. The subject is an interesting person, certainly, though finding a likeable character in this book was difficult-to-nearly-impossible. Reading a long treatise of people who repeat their same mistakes over and over ... quite trying. The author makes assumptions that one is familiar with several society figures of the day, introducing them into the text little to no reference nor context in some cases. A good social history. Not light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    Boring

    Could barely get past the first 100 pages. Very disappointing; too much impersonal information. This was a very dry read and not at all what had been expected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2