Customer Reviews for

Georgiana Darcy's Diary: Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice continued

Average Rating 4.5
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Georgiana has a voice!

There will be diehard Austen fans who will have nothing good to say about this continuation! Ha, yes Ha I say to these gloomy gusses! In the authors notes Elliot has no illusions or desire to copy or capture Austen's unique style. Instead, she writes in diary form and g...
There will be diehard Austen fans who will have nothing good to say about this continuation! Ha, yes Ha I say to these gloomy gusses! In the authors notes Elliot has no illusions or desire to copy or capture Austen's unique style. Instead, she writes in diary form and gives voice to the shy sister of Darcy, Georgiana. Be forewarned there is a part deux to this delicious story. We are gloriously dropped back into the Darcy's lives a year after the nuptials. I will say no more except if truly you love Pride ans Prejudice you will do a disservice to yourself and Austen if you do not read.

posted by wazdat on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good

Right in line with what i would expect

posted by trinaKL on November 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Georgiana has a voice!

    There will be diehard Austen fans who will have nothing good to say about this continuation! Ha, yes Ha I say to these gloomy gusses! In the authors notes Elliot has no illusions or desire to copy or capture Austen's unique style. Instead, she writes in diary form and gives voice to the shy sister of Darcy, Georgiana. Be forewarned there is a part deux to this delicious story. We are gloriously dropped back into the Darcy's lives a year after the nuptials. I will say no more except if truly you love Pride ans Prejudice you will do a disservice to yourself and Austen if you do not read.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Enjoyable, easy read

    I am a die-hard Jane Austen fan and I enjoyed this story very much, partially because it did NOT attempt to imitate Austen's style in any forced or stilted way, as some other fan fiction has tried to do. I have read other P&P "sequels" that seem only to quote Austen's own prose, and have found myself thinking "I would just as well prefer to read the original than have it spliced and quoted in this awkward way." This author has her own voice and it works for me. Also, I think it helps that Darcy and Elizabeth are quite minor characters in this story, which allows space to develop the other characters,, filling out their story so that you come to care about what happens to them, as all good fiction ought to do. Well edited, too, in the sense that I wasn't distracted by annoying typos or grammatical errors. I would recommend this book to Austen fans and historical fiction fans. I felt compelled to finish it in one sitting. Enjoy.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    This book is a wonderful addition to the world that Austen created. It's romantic, engaging, and well written. The book begins with Georgiana's own uncertainties about her future, and though she knows what she wants, she lacks confidence and is too shy to express her wishes. It is only through helping her cousin, Anne, spread her wings, that Georgiana discovers her own. Anna Elliott's sequel to Pride and Prejudice is a delight from beginning to end. Fun book and a great read.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Great Regency romp!

    Anyone who loves the world of Jane Austen will love Georgiana's diary. Georgiana has a wit about her, but she also has courage and a wonderfully likable vulnerability. The period details are fascinating and the descriptions are gorgeous. The humor sparkles. The story just flies along! The ending left me smiling - and hoping that there will be a "Volume Two."

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Fantastic story!

    I loved this book. Pride and Predjudice is my favorite Jane Austen story. Every time I read it I wish that more was said about Georgiana Darcy. I always wondered how she would turn out under Elizabeth's influence, if she would've come out of her shell and who she would end up marrying. Now I don't have to wonder. Anna Elliott has written the story of Georgiana Darcy and it is wonderful. Georgiana Darcy "turns out" much better and stronger than I could have imagined. Another character we get to know much better is Anne De Bourgh. Anne's story is a very nice bonus!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Great book!

    P&P is one of my favorite books and I doubted that anyone could write a sequel that would compare but this aurhor did! I read it in one sitting, couldn't put it down. Loved it from beginning to end and got it for free to boot!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Wonderful

    Best free book I have read so far. Looking forward to the second book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Delightful book! I love Austen and would recommend this book to

    Delightful book! I love Austen and would recommend this book to any Austen fan. The author's word choices and style are great and not alarmingly affected. I appreciate that she did not try to imitate Austen's style. Easy read and I was sad when it ended. Will be purchasing Part 2, for sure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Nice touch.

    It his book was a nice sequal to P&P. would highly recommend to someone her has read about georgianna Darcy before.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Must Read!

    The story told from Georgiana's viewpoint was a wonderful change from the normal P&P sequels. I found the story very sweet.
    The story is well written and, unlike some other ebooks, the layout is well done as well.
    Georgiana will find her way, one way or another. This book is a wonderful imagining of that.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    fabulous

    love anything that is written well about/after pride and prejudice. loved the diary format too and could see the characters in them

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Wonderful

    I lovedd it! Would love to read Elizabeths Diary next!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Good Read

    Nice follow up to P*P told from Georgiana's point of view.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Very good

    Excellent "continuation" of Pride & Prejudice. Love that Elliot did a wonderful job utilizing much of the vernacular of the time without allowing it to become stilted and formal or attempting to ape Austen's voice. Delightful followup to P&P, and wonderful to have more of Georgiana Darcy, as well as her cousin Anne. Will read more of Elliot's work, for sure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Wonderful!

    The diary format works beaitifully to give Georgianna a voice, allowing the reader to truly feel they know her. I became fully absorbed in accompaning Georgianna on her voyage of personal growth as she realizes she must embrace change in herself as well as broaden her perspective of others if she is to have the life she longs for. Realistic as well as intensely romantic, this is a worthy sequal to Pride and Prejudice. Anne Elliot can, and should, be proud of this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No one equals Jane Austen

    Bur Anna Elliott does a good job with Georgianna Darcy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Good

    Right in line with what i would expect

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good read

    Nice continuation of the Pride end Predjuice characters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Omg!!!

    This book was amazing! I am 12 years old, and this is by far thebest book I have ever read. Besides the hunger games. But i loved that it was in diary format. And the end was so sweet!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    continues Austin's story further

    using the device of diary entries, Elliott carries the character of Mr. Darcy's sister out of the shadows into the spotlight on her own right. She becomes an interesting, witty and
    believable character as she moves through life in heer brother's home. It is a pleasant read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11