Customer Reviews for

Georgia's Kitchen

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Romance and food - what more could you want from a novel?

I really got into this book. You can really relate to Georgia. The storytelling style and pace of the narrative pull you in right from the beginning and you are eager to find out where the story is going. This is a perfect book, funny - well-paced - and written in a ver...
I really got into this book. You can really relate to Georgia. The storytelling style and pace of the narrative pull you in right from the beginning and you are eager to find out where the story is going. This is a perfect book, funny - well-paced - and written in a very engaging style. I definitely recommend you check it out.

posted by MsBrooklyn on August 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

it is ok

It is a typical,good novel. It was interesting,but sometimes unplesant to read,bacause of the "F" words. I would not buy her next book. A really good writer should be able to tell even a harsh story and create an atmosphere in a book whithout cursing or using slang.

posted by kedr on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Romance and food - what more could you want from a novel?

    I really got into this book. You can really relate to Georgia. The storytelling style and pace of the narrative pull you in right from the beginning and you are eager to find out where the story is going. This is a perfect book, funny - well-paced - and written in a very engaging style. I definitely recommend you check it out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    A CAPTIVATING NOVEL YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO PUT DOWN!

    I read this novel every spare moment I had until I finished it. It is hard to leave for long. One gets caught up in the life of Georgia, of her challenges and frustrations, of her failures and aspirations. It is so easy for any of us to relate to. As Georgia moves from New York to Tuscany, and back to New York, the author does a brilliant job of making us feel as if we are there with her. Throughout the novel, one also learns quite a bit about the politics of the kitchen in restaurants, which is fascinating. And for those who like to cook, the book is an inspiration.

    This engaging novel leaves one wondering what Georgia will do next. Hopefully there will be a sequel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    successful debut

    To combine a character-driven plot that takes an unexpected turn or two or three with finely drawn descriptions of the locales where the book is set and the food produced there is quite a feat and Jenny Nelson pulls it off successfully in her first novel- Georgia's Kitchen. Her characters- from Georgia on down to the clueless doorman are multi-dimensional and believable, and her ear for dialogue is pitch-perfect. Nelson's knowledge and love of Tuscany and the food produced there are obvious, to the extent that I wondered why I could even think of vacationing anywhere else! She writes with authority and familiarity about life in New York City, and knows what goes on in restaurants- both in and out of the kitchen. Descriptions of the various dishes- their ingredients, preparation, and presentation left me salivating!
    Thjis book has it all! What next, Georgia??

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    I loved it!

    I just finished Georgia's Kitchen and am sad to put it down. I thought it was terrific and will recommend it as my next book club pick.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Eat and Drink this BOOK!

    In preparation for a vacation on European time, I got up really early for several mornings and read -- now this book makes me want to change my plans from France to Italy. It's great getting to know Georgia, but her lifestyle had me hungover by 9:00 AM. All that wine, all that fantastic food, all those sexy Italians. But the author also really pegged a certain milieu in our city -- as a New Yorker I liked feeling "in" on so many references. And while it is too facile to read fiction as biography, I certainly hope the author's husband is equal parts Gianni and Andrew with only a dash of Glenn thrown in for the stylish gifts. Yes, dark chocolate is a health food, and everyone loves ensalata caprese. Everyone will love this book too. BUT Zola's anti-heroine is the only "Nana" I know -- does this portend a dark sequel???

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    it is ok

    It is a typical,good novel. It was interesting,but sometimes unplesant to read,bacause of the "F" words. I would not buy her next book. A really good writer should be able to tell even a harsh story and create an atmosphere in a book whithout cursing or using slang.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Cheers to the author!

    Great contemporary interpretation of adventurous desires and love of food with international flair. I would highly recommend this book for both men and women! It truely gives insight to a modern women's tastes. The book makes me long for the bustle and fine cuisine of New York City.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Great read!!!!!

    I bought this book just before going on vacation to the beach, but after reading Georgia's Kitchen it feels like I went to Italy. The plot is very well developed; the characters are so real and easy to relate to; the food is amazing (mouth watering). It is a funny, interesting and catchy novel that I would definitely recommend to read. And I think it would become a great movie, hope to see it soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet Taste of Italy

    I wanted to read Georgia's Kitchen initially merely for the Italian connection. I have never been to Italy but I have long dreamt of travelling there and I counted on this book allowing me to live out my passport-laced fantasies. Georgia's Kitchen did that and more.

    The book was a scrumptious treat from start to finish, between the descriptive and mouth watering foods described to the warm terracota of Tuscany to the desire for Georgia to open her own restaurant.

    I loved the character of Georgia, from the funny way her parents met and she was conceived to her troubling relationship with her mother to her devotion to her deceased grandmother to her loyal friends and adorable dog. I was invested in Georgia and her story and author Jenny Nelson deserves praise for accomplishing this task.

    I also appreciated that Georgia had to struggle and work hard not only during her stay in Tuscany but also in order to accomplish her dream, owning her very own restaurant. It wasn't an overnight process and it made the story much more relatable.

    The supporting characters in Georgia's Kitchen were a delightful mix of flighty, fun, sarcastic and stuffy, from the Marco employees to the kitchen staff in Tuscany to the New York investors.

    I enjoyed my stay, albeit a too brief one, with Georgia and I think women of all ages will too. I hope that Ms. Nelson will allow us to catch up with Georgia again in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    Loved this book!

    What's not to love? Georgia's Kitchen has gorgeous locales, fast-paced city living, a resilient heroine, and lots of delicious food. The story is lively and interesting and Nelson's descriptions are spot-on. I'm really hoping that a sequel is in the works!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Travel to a Better Place

    I cannot recommend "Georgia's Kitchen" highly enough! It is a fun read without being 'fluff.' The characters grab your attention, the dialogs are believable and interesting (you want to know what these people are thinking!). Setting description is one of Jenny Nelson's REAL strengths, the reader is transported to a different place (and is maybe a bit disappointed to find him/herself still at home). Georgia escapes and we with her. Her self-discovery brings her back to earth in a 'much better place.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    DEFINITELY WORTH YOUR TIME

    Georgia's Kitchen, a novel of self-discovery and development, provides a charged emotional ride with plenty of surprising plot-turns, drama, suspense and adventure. Georgia Gray, the protagonist, is completely sympathetic, flaws and all, a strong, smart woman who gets stronger and, more importantly, wiser in the course of the action, but not until she's been sucker-punched a couple of times. The descriptions of the restaurant scenes in NYC and Tuscany are convincingly evocative, carrying that ring of authenticity which makes all the difference. Nelson's passages convey loads of information, yet are swift and supple-even making the reader feel smarter about and somehow more alert to life--and tuned to the human emotions and the five senses. Nelson is equally skilled in close-up, the middle distance-one of my favorites in fiction-- and long-shot. The secondary characters are also fully-realized, no pushovers or stick figures here. I highly recommend Georgia's Kitchen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    One woman is not happy in her relationship, not happy at her job and can't figure out who to change it all. So after the relationship falls apart and the job is gone, she heads to Italy to find a new balance in her life. With kitchens in Manhattan and Italy at the center, food is a major character in the book and this author nailed the descriptions of each dish and made me quite hungry while reading!

    I fell in love with Georgia and wanted to become her friend which makes me fall deeper into any book - a connection the characters is key in my book. Although there is heartache and relationships in this book, it was refreshing to have the woman try to find the balance in her life within herself instead of depending on others for it.

    A wonderful piece of women's fiction that will make you want to visit both Italy and New York for the food and the atmosphere. A strong woman at the center and a depth to the story makes this book a piece of women's fiction in my mind and one worth picking up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, delicious read

    If you're in the mood for an escape to Italy but your bank account doesn't quite agree, have a look at Georgia's Kitchen, a charming book that will transport you to a trattoria nestled in Tuscany's rolling hills. You'll also spend a good deal of time in bustling New York City, where Georgia lives full-time as a chef until her career takes a hit from a bad review and her romantic relationship crumbles. Off to Italy it is, then, for Georgia, where her passions become clear to her - and to a local named Gianni. Georgia's Kitchen is a fun, delicious read that just may inspire you to dig deeper and follow dreams simmering below the surface. Nelson's writing is descriptive but tight - and foodies will love reading about Georgia's exquisite creations, particularly as she strives to create the Tuscan trattoria's signature dish. This book would be great to take on vacation or even just to cuddle up with for a little while each evening, savoring each chapter. Four espresso cups out of five!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Debut!

    Georgia's life seems to be right on track. She is the head chef of Marco, a popular hit restaurant in New York City, which is about to receive a three fork review that will set Georgia on the path of her dreams. Her upcoming nuptials are only weeks away and soon she will have almost everything she has planned, aside from the children. Unfortunately for Georgia, plans change, life throws curve balls and people are finicky. All in one fateful day Georgia's life changes setting her on course to rebuild and rediscover herself. Georgia finds herself in the heart of Italy opening up a restaurant for a friend while learning and healing. What Georgia once found to me the most disastrous day of her life, ends up to be the best thing that could ever have happened to her. With determination and hard work, Georgia leaves Italy to make her dreams come true, finding happiness in the process.

    Georgia's Kitchen was a delightful read for me. I really enjoyed how the story starts and end in New York City while stopping off in romantic Italy for a spell. The chef topic and culinary aspects were wonderful and well researched. The author was authentic and seemed to know her way around the biz. I really enjoyed the characters in this novel. They were all well developed and understood. Each brought a little something different to the story and I can't imagine the novel without each of them. This novel encompassed a lot of topics and I felt each was explored adequately. Georgia's fateful day almost makes the reader happy for her, even though you know you'd be devastated at the time. The character has obvious talent and charm that ensures the reader she will be okay no matter where she plants her feet.

    The writing style of this novel was my least favorite part. While most of it was easy to read, some parts were a little difficult for me to move though as they bored me with too much detail. These sections had detail that was not pertinent to the storyline. I understood them because of the culinary references but didn't really feel they were quite needed in the book. They seemed to take away from the book rather than add to it for me. Overall, I read this novel fairly quickly and enjoyed it! It is worth the time and effort to read, especially if you love culinary novels or a good chick lit. The novel is very up to date in its terms and internet media references. I enjoyed many aspects of this novel despite the very few counterparts. I would recommend it to a friend and I look forward to more from this debut author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    Like an Old Pal

    I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Georgia in Jenny Nelson's first novel. She reminded me of an old pal and I found her charming, down to earth, and totally relate-able. This was a book that pulled me in from page one and kept me wanting to read more. I loved that Georgia made unexpected decisions, followed her heart, and was surrounded by friends who bucked tradition. I especially enjoyed Georgia's time in Italy. Though I have never been, Ms. Nelson's picturesque descriptions made it jump to the top of my list. The author has a knack for not only creating beautiful pictures in the reader's mind but also creating characters that you feel like you should have on speed dial. Can't wait for book number 2 from this promising young author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    libro fantastico!!!

    FABULOUS fun and truly heartfelt. Literally couldn't put it down. You will immediately become entranced by the sassy clever Georgia. Vivid, flawed, and charming characters. They are beautifully described and truly come to life. You will definitely want a glass of brunello and some branzino after you finish this delicious book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Sooooo Unbelievably PREDICTABLE

    I bought this book because my library didn't carry it. Clue number 1. Now I am stuck with it. It sounded cute but and had good reviews but in the end it is one of the most predictable, blah books I have read. If you are bored out of your mind, it's something to read. If you want something that is hard to put down and makes you question where the author is going with the storyline...keep on looking and rest easy that you aren't missing anything by letting this one pass you by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    loved it! true, fun & delicious

    I picked up this book to take with me on summer vacation; instead I spent 2 evenings on the couch and finished it pre-vacation!

    Jenny Nelson has such an engaging style and Georgia's story grabbed me from the start. As a recently departed, former NYCer, I found Nelson's descriptions of the city - the restaurants, the food, the clothes, the people, the scene, the pace, the chatter, all of it! - to be refreshingly spot-on. I also have years of experience working in a fast-paced NYC restaurant and found the 'front of the house/back of the house' theme of the story to be not only true, funny and telling, but also a great structure for a book. This attention to detail and the quick pace of the story made it hard to put down. I found myself rooting for Georgia and even though I was pretty sure she'd land on her feet, I really wanted to know what was next for her. Reading it was like being transported to NYC and Italy too - a perfect summer read or an escape anytime. Plus, the foodie talk and recipe descriptions are mouth-watering - yum!


    I'm looking forward to whatever Jenny Nelson does next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Yummy Food Lover's Novel

    Georgia's Kitchen is a great read for anyone who loves novels that combine the worlds of food and fiction. Georgia is a woman I think many of us can relate to--you think you've got it all, then find out maybe it's not what it appeared to be. So what do you do? Go out and reinvent your life! All of the characters are fully developed, the descriptions of the food are delicious, and anyone who has ever wanted to go to Italy will devour this book in one gulp. I couldn't put it down. Perfect for reading groups who like to concentrate on food-themed books. The book includes questions for discussion and a chat with the author. It's going on my Staff Recommends at my B&N pronto!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3