Customer Reviews for

Georgia's Kitchen

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Romance and food - what more could you want from a novel?

I really got into this book. You can really relate to Georgia. The storytelling style and pace of the narrative pull you in right from the beginning and you are eager to find out where the story is going. This is a perfect book, funny - well-paced - and written in a ver...
I really got into this book. You can really relate to Georgia. The storytelling style and pace of the narrative pull you in right from the beginning and you are eager to find out where the story is going. This is a perfect book, funny - well-paced - and written in a very engaging style. I definitely recommend you check it out.

posted by MsBrooklyn on August 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

it is ok

It is a typical,good novel. It was interesting,but sometimes unplesant to read,bacause of the "F" words. I would not buy her next book. A really good writer should be able to tell even a harsh story and create an atmosphere in a book whithout cursing or using slang.

posted by kedr on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet Taste of Italy

    I wanted to read Georgia's Kitchen initially merely for the Italian connection. I have never been to Italy but I have long dreamt of travelling there and I counted on this book allowing me to live out my passport-laced fantasies. Georgia's Kitchen did that and more.

    The book was a scrumptious treat from start to finish, between the descriptive and mouth watering foods described to the warm terracota of Tuscany to the desire for Georgia to open her own restaurant.

    I loved the character of Georgia, from the funny way her parents met and she was conceived to her troubling relationship with her mother to her devotion to her deceased grandmother to her loyal friends and adorable dog. I was invested in Georgia and her story and author Jenny Nelson deserves praise for accomplishing this task.

    I also appreciated that Georgia had to struggle and work hard not only during her stay in Tuscany but also in order to accomplish her dream, owning her very own restaurant. It wasn't an overnight process and it made the story much more relatable.

    The supporting characters in Georgia's Kitchen were a delightful mix of flighty, fun, sarcastic and stuffy, from the Marco employees to the kitchen staff in Tuscany to the New York investors.

    I enjoyed my stay, albeit a too brief one, with Georgia and I think women of all ages will too. I hope that Ms. Nelson will allow us to catch up with Georgia again in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, delicious read

    If you're in the mood for an escape to Italy but your bank account doesn't quite agree, have a look at Georgia's Kitchen, a charming book that will transport you to a trattoria nestled in Tuscany's rolling hills. You'll also spend a good deal of time in bustling New York City, where Georgia lives full-time as a chef until her career takes a hit from a bad review and her romantic relationship crumbles. Off to Italy it is, then, for Georgia, where her passions become clear to her - and to a local named Gianni. Georgia's Kitchen is a fun, delicious read that just may inspire you to dig deeper and follow dreams simmering below the surface. Nelson's writing is descriptive but tight - and foodies will love reading about Georgia's exquisite creations, particularly as she strives to create the Tuscan trattoria's signature dish. This book would be great to take on vacation or even just to cuddle up with for a little while each evening, savoring each chapter. Four espresso cups out of five!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Debut!

    Georgia's life seems to be right on track. She is the head chef of Marco, a popular hit restaurant in New York City, which is about to receive a three fork review that will set Georgia on the path of her dreams. Her upcoming nuptials are only weeks away and soon she will have almost everything she has planned, aside from the children. Unfortunately for Georgia, plans change, life throws curve balls and people are finicky. All in one fateful day Georgia's life changes setting her on course to rebuild and rediscover herself. Georgia finds herself in the heart of Italy opening up a restaurant for a friend while learning and healing. What Georgia once found to me the most disastrous day of her life, ends up to be the best thing that could ever have happened to her. With determination and hard work, Georgia leaves Italy to make her dreams come true, finding happiness in the process.

    Georgia's Kitchen was a delightful read for me. I really enjoyed how the story starts and end in New York City while stopping off in romantic Italy for a spell. The chef topic and culinary aspects were wonderful and well researched. The author was authentic and seemed to know her way around the biz. I really enjoyed the characters in this novel. They were all well developed and understood. Each brought a little something different to the story and I can't imagine the novel without each of them. This novel encompassed a lot of topics and I felt each was explored adequately. Georgia's fateful day almost makes the reader happy for her, even though you know you'd be devastated at the time. The character has obvious talent and charm that ensures the reader she will be okay no matter where she plants her feet.

    The writing style of this novel was my least favorite part. While most of it was easy to read, some parts were a little difficult for me to move though as they bored me with too much detail. These sections had detail that was not pertinent to the storyline. I understood them because of the culinary references but didn't really feel they were quite needed in the book. They seemed to take away from the book rather than add to it for me. Overall, I read this novel fairly quickly and enjoyed it! It is worth the time and effort to read, especially if you love culinary novels or a good chick lit. The novel is very up to date in its terms and internet media references. I enjoyed many aspects of this novel despite the very few counterparts. I would recommend it to a friend and I look forward to more from this debut author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Yummy Food Lover's Novel

    Georgia's Kitchen is a great read for anyone who loves novels that combine the worlds of food and fiction. Georgia is a woman I think many of us can relate to--you think you've got it all, then find out maybe it's not what it appeared to be. So what do you do? Go out and reinvent your life! All of the characters are fully developed, the descriptions of the food are delicious, and anyone who has ever wanted to go to Italy will devour this book in one gulp. I couldn't put it down. Perfect for reading groups who like to concentrate on food-themed books. The book includes questions for discussion and a chat with the author. It's going on my Staff Recommends at my B&N pronto!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1