Customer Reviews for

Gerald's Game

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Engrossing!

Super scary and disturbing novel! This book starts out with a husband and wife at their cabin in a remote location. What started as sexy fun and games quickly turns terrifying. I was mad at King about the how the issue of the stray dog was resolved; he didn't do anythin...
Super scary and disturbing novel! This book starts out with a husband and wife at their cabin in a remote location. What started as sexy fun and games quickly turns terrifying. I was mad at King about the how the issue of the stray dog was resolved; he didn't do anything wrong! Anyway, this book truly scared me...after reading it one night I woke up in the early hours to use the bathroom and I was so spooked I made my German Shepherd come to the bathroom with me! I couldn't believe the ending; King really surprised me with this one! I would also recommend: The Stand, The Dark Tower Series (especially Wizard and Glass), Needful Things, and The Eye of The Dragon. You may also like the novels of Dean Koontz, especially the older ones (Whispers, Watchers, Night Chills, Phantoms, and Cold Fire).

posted by JessLucy on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Too long and drawn out

Although this book had its interesting moments,it was certainly too long and drawn out to keep my interest.
The events of the novel seemed somewhat dragged out.It was easy to lose interest with the book because King went into agonizing detail about everything.
The entir...
Although this book had its interesting moments,it was certainly too long and drawn out to keep my interest.
The events of the novel seemed somewhat dragged out.It was easy to lose interest with the book because King went into agonizing detail about everything.
The entire plot is soooo repetitive.I would not recommend this book at all to ANYONE!!!!

posted by shadira78 on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Plodding, difficult and ultimately terrifying!!

    I never knew, until 'Gerald's Game', that a book could actually make me scream. The plodding narrative is gruelling, the suspense is almost physically painful and near the end, after she escapes, I screamed. Anyone who has read it remembers the yellow mustard. When I put 'Gerald's Game' aside, I didn't quite know how to feel about what I had just experienced. Did I enjoy reading it? NO!! It was exhausting, boring and horrendously scary at the same time. You don't curl up under a cozy blanket with this book; you curl up in the fetal position and pray that it ends soon. Was I glad I read it? Yes. I thought the ending made up for everything. Would I ever read it again? I can't. I was so disturbed by this book I brought it to a used bookstore the NEXT day, refusing to put my friends and family through what I had just been through. Now THAT is what horror fiction should do to you. Thanks Mr. King!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Crazy King

    Crazy, twisted, gut-wrenching - you'll be clutching the book in one hand and half-covering your eyes with the other. If you enjoy sick rides this one's for you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Terrifying!

    This was the scariest book I have ever read! I finished it in two days because I could not put it down. There is a description of a "figure" in this story that is horrifying! I was wincing at some moments in the story, rooting for Jessie to survive. It is gruesome at points, but really adds to the terror that this novel is. Do not read at night!!! The only down part was I thought the ending left some unanswered questions that I would like to know the answers to!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Game

    When I started reading this book ill admit that I got a little bored and almost put it down. But the more and more I read the more interesting the story got. I was thinking to myself "How can a book be this long when a woman is only handcuffed to the bed!?" but there was so much more to it than that. This woman has voices in her head, she has a past during the "Solar Eclipse" and that evil man that comes at night. Right on. It scared me when it got to that part. Good ending, great plot good novel. All Stephan King readers should read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    King's weirdest!

    The novel Gerald's Game is probably King's weirdest novel of all time. To me it was OK till it get suspenseful at the end. Jessie is a girl who had horrible childhood thanks to the dad! One day she hears a click on her left hand, which was a pair of handcuffs thanks to the loving husband Gerald. She then kills him by accident and now a dog is inside her room eating him. If that's bad, then it gets worst after believing to see guy in her house. Next thing she must escape or she will be dead! This is King's weirdest novel of all time. Everything goes weird story, so if you want to read then go ahead. My opinion is go ahead read it if you want to! On a note I actualy give this book a 3 1/2 out of 5. Read it if you want to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    Give it a Chance!

    Although Stephen King has written better books, Gerald's Game is chillingly eerie. King does a great job of placing you right in the middle of the book and making you feel what the character, Jessie, is feeling. A lousy ending kept this from getting a perfect score. In spite of this AND the fact that King has written better, I say give it a chance and see what you think. You can't take an online book reviewer's word for it; you just have to read it yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    A psychological thriller

    An enjoyable, yet at times slow, horror thriller by Stephen King with deep analysis of human emotion throughout the text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Slow start but psychological thriller

    The story is a little "stand still"-ish for Stephen King's style but the twists and turns make it interesting. A great book on the human mind and its abilities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    TYPOS

    I love this book and wanted to read it again after many years so I bought the Nook version. I've always been one to catch typos and I don't remember the book having those problems although it was many years ago that i read it. The Nook book of Gerald's game has weird typos all through it. Weird. But, it's still and awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    A little different

    This is more of a grit-your-teeth-what-would-i-do, rather than scare your pants off stephen king everyone knows. dont crack it open expecting terror. I definately liked the story and there is enough given history and info that youre not left asking huh or looking for more info on people or events like in some books.. Id definately read it again, redommend it to anyone looking for good thrill.. and im glad i picked it as my first nookbook to get back into reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Well worth it

    Pretty strange stuff. Definitely not for the younger set, but a real page turner. Kinda makes you think about what sort of situations you get yourself into (or others talk you into)! You never know what could happen when you let someone else have absolute power over you. This is why it's so scary. Jessica trusted and nearly lost everything in a terrifying way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gerald's Game

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Good Book, Could have been better..

    Sorry Mr. King, I usually love your books and this one was a classic in the making until I got to the last hundred pages are so. Great read, and it keeps you involved until the ending. Awesome idea.....sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    Definetly creepy! Don't read at night!

    This is a very good book, but not the best ending! This is definetly recomended, it keeps you on the edge (Is she going to go crazy? How is she going to escape?) Interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    suspenseful...

    However the end did not seem to match the story!! It felt as if Stephen King did not know how to end it and he wrote whatever came to his mind at the moment without connecting it to the rest of the story. I was not too happy about what happened to the dog either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2001

    Great Book

    I'm not a big reader,infact it's been three years since I've actually read and finished a book. This book is incredible I couldn't put it down. King certainly knows how to write and interpret the way a woman thinks and acts in difficult situations. I cant waite to read another one of his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    I was hooked from begining to end

    Although a little explicit, the book had me hooked from beginging to end. The book took me through psycological twists and turns, and i still can't belive how it ended. For anyone who is into psycological terror then i recommend this book to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    Gerald's Game

    Read this book, I guarentee you'll like it. I suggest this book to teenagers and above. No younger children should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    Classic King

    In yet another great book, King pulls you through the struggle of a helpless woman and the height she will go to to try to free herself from the handcuffs that bind her. Although a little slow at times, it is a definite for the Stephen King fan. Others may prefer Misery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    Read This Book!!!

    This book is soooo good. As soon as I finished it I wanted everyone I knew to read it too! It has a slight period within the first 1\4 of the book that seems to lag, but that is only because you are so excited and impatient to find out what is going to happen to the main character that you don't want to wait! I was shocked many times in the novel and after reading it I thought about it for days. Please read this book if you like being scared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4