Customer Reviews for

Gerard's Beauty

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    A delicious, fun read!

    As with the other Marie Hall books I’ve read in the ‘Kingdom’ series, (Her Mad Hatter, Red and Her Wolf) I devoured ‘Gerard’s Beauty’ in no time flat. Her characters are gritty, grimy and REAL; they aren’t all full of sunshine, they have flaws just like anyone else. Gerard is a perfect example of this, because this fella has some serious personality flaws!
    Due to a disagreement with Galeta the Blue Fairy eons ago, Gerard is officially on the ‘bad’ list, and Galeta has made sure that Gerard’s legacy in Kingdom (and beyond) is that of a buffoon. In the tale ‘Beauty and the Beast’, Belle is all heart and kindness, right? The Beast is growly but kind underneath it all, and Gaston – well he’s just a womanizing idiot. Well what if that is NOT how it happened? What if Belle was a shrew who was only after the Beast’s money, and what if Gaston was actually a pretty OK guy who genuinely loved Belle? In ‘Gaston’s Beauty’, Gaston = Gerard, and we hear the story the way it really went down.
    Gerard likes the ladies. No, Gerard LOVES the ladies. But since Belle broke his heart, he only sees them as good for one thing…he won’t allow himself to fall for a woman again, because he sees it as a sign of weakness. But Kingdom is falling apart, and the only cure is to have all members of the Bad Boy Club mated up. Gerard thinks it is a bad idea, but his fairy godmother whisks him to Earth in order to woo his fated mate, Betty Hart. He has one month to woo her, make her fall in love with him and fall in love with her, in turn…or he will be put to death, due to an indiscretion with Cinderella’s daughter.
    Can Gerard overcome his raunchy nature? Will Betty open her heart to someone who could potentially leave her in a month? How many hot steamy love scenes will Marie Hall gift us with in this installment? (sorry, that just popped in my head *wink*)
    Loved this story – it was delicious! This is a fun read that will leave you completely engrossed until the very end….and leave you searching for the other books in the series to find out what happens to all of the Bad Boys!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have an unhealthy obsession with Disney anything, when I heard

    I have an unhealthy obsession with Disney anything, when I heard about Marie Hall's Kingdom series I was so excited and instantly got book one because it is a freebie, long story short I loved it and needed to read more of the series. I didn't think it was possible, but Gerard's Beauty made me fall in love with the series even more.

    Gerard Caron is a womanizer, and doesn't want to find love. He is forced out of Kingdom (picture angry villagers with pitchforks and torches) and told he has to find true love. His fairy godmother extraordinaire, Danika, helps him out by dropping him outside a library and tells him to find Betty Hart.

    Recently recovering from a bad break up, Betty isn't looking for another relationship with a Casanova, so when she spots Gerard she wants nothing to do with him. They start off rocky, but quickly grow accustomed to each other and their relationship blossoms. I loved the twists that really makes this book (and series) unique. It's nothing like the Disney fairy tales we all know, but at the same time it includes the villains we all want to know more about. Gerard's Beauty is a novella, but one I think any lover of fairy tales will enjoy. If you haven't read this series yet, I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    i

    Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Another Hit in the Series

    Love this series Marie you are amazing keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Loved

    This book was a lot differnt the the first. But really good I liked how he went to her this time. There were some really funny parts and some not so funny but a real page turner. Read this book in less then 24 hours but 300 plus page book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Gerard's Beauty is the second story in Marie Hall's Kingdom seri

    Gerard's Beauty is the second story in Marie Hall's Kingdom series. This story begins with Gerard. He  is a sexy, cocky, overbearing Frenchmen who for the life of him, cant stay out of trouble.  When he finds himself facing the wrath of Prince Charming,for messing with his daughter, he is sent to Earth to not only wait for what punishment for the crime he has been accused of, but to seek out his true love Betty. 




    Betty is an ordinary girl, that works in a Library and is so sick of men. Every guy she seems to fall for ends up being arrogant, self centered full of themselves jerk. The last thing she wants in her life is another guy like that, but Danika, Fairy Godmother has other plans for her.




    This book for me was a mixture of laughs and tender moments.  I fell in love with Marie Hall the moment I started reading her books.   I love how she has taken our favorite classic fairytales and turned them into a new adventure for the adults. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Loved it

    Beauty and the beast will never be the same always one my favorites now all I can think of is belle as a gold digger and Cinderella's daughter as a skank a little lighter than the first one had a few lol moments buy the bundle because u will want to read all 5 books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    I honestly didn't think a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast cou

    I honestly didn't think a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast could be this awesome! I have read quite a few and one was alright, and most fall below the mark. You are walking on a slippery slop where the original tale, as well as the Disney version, are so embedded in our brains we have a hard time accepting any re-tellings.

    That was until Marie Hall decided to take on the proverbial baddies of the fairy tale verse.

    Gerard, from what I gather, is the living embodiment of Gaston from the animated version. He got a bad rap in the stories because he was a bit of a man-whore. A vengeful head Fairy decides to punish him for looking the other way, or rather not looking at her, and punishes him by claiming he was was the bad guy in the Beauty and the Beast story.

    This story is brilliant. I ADORE Gerard! I want one of my own! He was the perfect living embodiment of what the beast should have been. The handsome man that is really needing to find the way to love deep inside. Betty was the PERFECT BELLE! She was a legit nerd to the core and she was hot and strong willed. She didn't whine and feel sorry for herself and she took the time to really love Gerard. It grew and bloomed and I couldn't but this installment down!

    If you love Once Upon a Time, if you love fairy tales THIS is the series for YOU! Though, I come with a disclaimer--you may like this series WAY better than Once Upon a Time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Great story

    This is the second book i've read by this author, liked the story, can't wait to read the others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Fantastic

    Fantastic series. I'm hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    oh myyyyy love this book *0*  it was just awesome  I can`t wait

    oh myyyyy love this book *0*
     it was just awesome
     I can`t wait for the others in this series 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    LOVE IT

    I love all of the kingdom series, great books, great author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    I really enjoyed this second book in the series. The development of the characters were great. Loved the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was the 3rd in the Kingdom Series novellas that I have read

    This was the 3rd in the Kingdom Series novellas that I have read by this author (although the second in the series) and it did not disappoint.  With her clever twisting of the traditional faerie tale, incorporating pop culture references, humor and a last chance effort for the faerie godmother to the “bad boys of the tales” to match her boys with their soulmates, the chase is now on for Gerard.  




    In a twisting of the Beauty and the Beast, Gerard is the ultimate bad boy beast, with enough cracks in his armor to make him huggable, even at his worst.  Betty has a great heart, but was very reluctant to trust in another man: let alone one with Gerard’s track record.   Danika believes that these two are just perfect for one another and tricks, cajoles, browbeats and gloats as the story proceeds. 




    Marie Hall’s stories will grab your interest quickly, with characters that you will recognize as believable even with the magical elements.  Conversations sparkle and attitudes are clearly defined, humor is liberally sprinkled throughout: usually in the heroine’s voice and observations.  I had, back in 2012 called her one of my favorite authors to read – and nothing has changed.  While this book will stand alone without the reader losing plot points or being confused , you will want to (and I suggest that you do) pick up the other installments in the series.  




    I received an eBook from the author for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Wonderful

    Ive read the books in this serious and they are amazing. The leading ladys are not perfect and thats why we fall into the story like alice down a rabbit hole. I could not put down this book and am eagerly awaiting the next book. Thank you for an amazing read and hopefully future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Perfect

    Hope theres another in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I'm really digging this fairytale land! Love Danika, she's my fa

    I'm really digging this fairytale land! Love Danika, she's my favorite. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2