Customer Reviews for

Germ

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Yes, Christian fiction can be gory

    When I received this book in the mail, the first thing everyone said when they saw it was 'Oh your book is wet.' Actually I'm not sure why there are spotted raised dots on the cover, but it sure was a way to get people to notice the book! To be honest this isn't the type of book I would normally pick up. I'm glad though that I did, I would have missed out on a really intense, suspenseful read. While reading it, I kept thinking I was in 24 with a touch of the Constant Gardener. The story moves at a extremely fast pace and you never get bored. I really liked all the characters, Julia is a very good female lead. ('Jack'ie Bauer!) And my goodness, those Atropas guys were creepy. The description of the weapon they used and how it tore the body up after you've been shot made me squirm. Same with the first chapter of the story, extremely gross out situation. But I liked it because it's definitely not something one would expect in a Christian fiction book. (blood and guts?? isn't that sinful?) Great way to hook you into the story (if you haven't thrown up on the pages already). Really scary when you think about how those guys seem to share the same identity and only think as one. What's even more scary is how realistic the storyline is and how there's a possibility it could happen in this day and age. If they make this novel into a movie, I'll definitely be in line for it. This is the type of book that would appeal to both the secular and Christian crowd.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Non stop action and twists

    I read this book because I loved Robert Liparulo's "Deadfall" and this book did not dissappoint! It is a book with a very frightening premise (that this virus can seek out and kill certain people) that keeps you hooked until the very end. What I loved about it (and pretty much the other Robert Liparulo books I have read) is that he keeps you guessing. People die who you think are going to be main characters; you get to the end of a chapter and are like "OH NO, now what?!?!?" and you have to keep reading!!! He gets his characters in situations that you think they can't possibly escape from, yet they do! I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Good

    I have this bood in paperback its adicting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Zen

    Okay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    Starting from page one Liparulo takes you on an action packed jo

    Starting from page one Liparulo takes you on an action packed journey all across the world. It is a fast paced non-stop thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat biting your nails. Germ read exactly like a Holly Blockbuster, it was exciting and suspenseful with vivid images that made it seem real. Everything I look for in a good action adventure novel, Germ is the epitome of the thriller genre. Fantastic work! Praise to Robert Liparulo and such an outstanding novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    This is a great book

    This is a fast paced book, that starts out in action. I was constantly on the edge of my seat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book in one sitting..The short chapters and non stop action made it hard to put down..I like the strong female lead and the fact that you don't know how it will end till you get there....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    AWSOME!

    i read this book for a school project and it just puts me in awe of how fast paced, interesting, and thrilling it is. each page has you guessing on what will happen next!i love Stephan he is so big and gentle. this book is grusome and funny all at once. if you can put those 2 characteristics into a book and have it be this good you have to have MAJOR skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Great story teller:

    This guy is on the way to the top, I urge readers to have allready read the first 2 novels,before the next one. He is only going to get better and he is very good now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed thriller

    The creator customizes his creation so that this strand of the Ebola virus will give a cold to some, but those individuals, whose DNA contain specific readings, will die a painful bloody death for those the virus seeks will find their insides turn to liquid in a few days. The terrorists who plan to use this new weapon of mass destruction anticipate ten thousand deaths that represent all types of the population as religion, age, gender, or social status mean nothing DNA decides a minor inconvenience or a painful death. --- Near CDC Headquarters in Atlanta, FBI Agents Goodwin ¿Goody¿ Donnelly and Julia Matheson are meeting Despesorio Vero who has seen first hand what the disease can do. The two men in one car on the interstate are attacked and separated from Julie. She obtains the help of physician Dr. Allen Parker, as they try to track back the virus to ground zero so as to prevent a terrorist attack that will surpass 9/11 in its body count and geography. --- The technical background data makes the exhilarating story line seem plausible in this action-packed thriller that starts off with a gory death, goes through several surprising twists, and never slows down until the final confrontation. Julia¿s desperation as she knows the clock is ticking adds to the feel that this could easily happen. Readers who appreciate plenty of confrontation with blood, guts and death everywhere on top of a tense premise will want to read GERM though the tale can prove difficult to follow as there are numerous subplots to follow. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Bob Liparulo has a sick mind, and it shows.

    Bob Liparulo has a sick mind, and it shows up in GERM. I loved Comes A Horsemen his last book and was thrilled to see Germ. Read this book in one sitting, couldn't stop. Liparulo creates the scariest killers ever put to paper. I don't know where he comes up with them, but I think it's one of the reasons I read his books so quickly. Rather than be scared for a week while reading this book, I choose to be scared for one single long nail bitting day. You may want to make it last longer and take your time, but do read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2