BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

German Boy: A Child in War

Average Rating 4
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good Book

    This book is about a boy and his family. They try to escape from the communists that overrun their city in Germany. They go to different cities and live with their friends. The main character(Wolfgang) he met every World War 2 soldier which is amazing. He met the American, Italian, British, German, and Russian soldiers, and the only soldiers that were mean were the Russian soldiers. They would rape the innocent German women for no reason. Some of the women would rather kill themselves rather then to be raped.Wolfgang was in the Hitler youth only for a little while. I recommend this book to you if you like WW2 books, and that has a good story. This book is Non-Fiction. I am not finish with this book yet but it is already a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An exciting and informative read

    This was a very good book. The cover is the first thing that caught my attention and combined with the title peeked my interest. I have never really read an autobiography of a regular German citizen who survived the war and the ordeals they went through in trying to make a life for themselves after Germany's surrender. Wolfgang's mother is the real hero of this story. She kept her family together and endured so much to make sure they survived. There was a nice balance in the book about how soliders and regular people could take advantage of the chaos after the war to abuse others. There were many good people his family meet along the way, like the German soldier driving their wagon during their escape and his future stepfather, who truly seems to have loved his new family. Just goes to show war isn't as black and white as we would like it to be, there are some gray areas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Excellent read and perspective-history buffs must read

    This is the second book I have read which was written from the perspective of a German child during World War II. It was extremely insightful demonstrating war destroys all - the victors and the vanquished. Reading his story was akin to ready a young person's diary during such a horrific time. As Wolfgang concludes his story relating his life in America, I believe he could have explained if anyone answered his question "Why do people not like us?" (paraphrase). I'd like to think he sought out the truth for himself and I think his answers and feelings would have made his story all the more poignant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    War is hell for everyone

    Are there degrees in horror? One can read the memoir of a Jewish child and their survival from active persecution, being hunted, starved, watching entire families, their own and other's being massacred in front of them, in awe that any Jew survived at all. Then you place the memoirs of a non-Jewish child, also witness to unspeakable events, tho not anywhere on the same par as their Jewish counterpart, but horrific nonetheless, and the questions arise? Are there degrees of victim-hood? To a child, chaos, wanton death, destruction, brutality witnessed simply is - there are no degrees of aweful, and the scars are lifelong. An honest witness from the other side of the wires and camps, through the memories of a child witness. For balance to the whole - a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    An amazing true story that brings you to the post-war era of Germany. Absolutely riveting! A definite must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    Great book

    This book brought to light how there are always innocents who suffer on both sides in a war. It held my interest the entire way through. Some of the scenes will stay with you. The only disappointment was the ending left me wanting more information--probably on purpose so that the reader will buy the author's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    A beautiful memoir

    This is possibly one of the best books I have ever read in my entire life. What is probably most sad and touching about this story is that, while reading it, you have to remind yourself that this all really happened - to the author, that is. It makes you wonder and look at world war II from a new perspective. Does any country ever truly deserve to be punished for the sins its government committed? Perhaps not. Even if you're not a history buff or a world war II buff or any of that I would highly recommend this book. It is a good read for anyone, not for simply its time period, but for it's story - the dangers the author and his family had to overcome, the starvation, the mass rape. A beautiful but very sad tale.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    good but forceful

    I liked the book very much but when you are forced to read something for a class it kind of loses the air of quality about it. i believe this will be a book talked about for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2003

    Should be Mandatory Reading for High School Students

    As I read the book, I was reminded of the many storys my father (the same age as Mr. Samuels) and his siblings told while I was growing up. Finally, a published book telling the whole story of the suffering of all the innocent people in Europe during WWII. I wish I was able to read this story while I was in high school 30 years ago. I wish that it was mandatory today, to show our young people that war is not glamorous, and is even less glamorous after a declared 'victory'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Excellent, unique view

    It's not often that someone writes about the non- Jewish view/life of a family in Germany during the attrocities of WW2. This is an excellent story of life and reality - nothing sensationalized or played- down. An excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    Thoroughly enjoyed

    What can I say? This is one of those books I will remember the rest of my life. I picked it up every spare minute I got. Reading it, you are transported to Germany of that time and see how these people really lived. For example, the money was worthless so people traded whatever they could for food, etc. I feel the book gives the reader insight into the nature of the human beast, often unpleasant, but reality nevertheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Excellent point of view from WWII Germany

    The view from the German people is hardly written about, but this memoir of events in a five year period fully describes the lives of innocent German people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    Beautifully written!

    This was a fantastic book. Wolfgang Samuel tells his story in a beautifully poignant manner. Many of the personal narratives on World War II focus primarily on the fates of the Jews, or from the American soldier's perspective, and I had never read anything from the point of view of an innocent German citizen. His descriptions are incredibly realistic. Having lived in Germany before, I was familiar with many of the places mentioned in the book, which helped in visualizing the scenes. Mr. Samuel is a magnificent storyteller and it was a privelege to read his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    a must read

    So much is written about the tragedy of WWII. This book has enlightened me so much about the suffering and hardship of the innocent German people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2001

    A stunningly good book of non fiction, that reads like a novel.

    This is less a book about war, and more a book about a family's struggle in extreme circumstances. The author was a pre-teen in Germany at the closing of WWII. The book recounts how his family coped with the advancing Soviet troops, and with Nazi loyalists. Also, the hardships of life in this new Germany. Some adjusted, others could not. His love and loyalty to his parents and grandparents does not waiver, but he does not withhold accounts of their faults and frailties. This is a book that is nonfiction, but it reads like a novel. The author's writing style allows the story to flow with anticipation for the next events. This book is a keeper and should be given to book lovers as a holiday/birthday gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2000

    Stunning. A must read.

    German Boy has received four excellent prepublication reviews - Library Journal (highly recommended for public and academic libraries), Booklist (thrilling and terrifying), Publishers Weekly (engrossing and powerful), and Kirkus Reviews (his prose sings) - which is highly unusual. The book has been released! I love it. It is a rarity. Like Stones From The River, only this is non-fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2