Customer Reviews for

Gertruda's Oath: A Child, a Promise, and a Heroic Escape During World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended - "Must Read" for Today's Younger Generation

    Incredible story about one woman's fight to survive and honor a promise made during one of the most horrific times in history. Her story is very moving. You can't walk away from her experience without realizing what is really important in life. A "must read" for today's younger generation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Not just another Holocaust story----

    I had a difficult time putting this book down. The interconnecting characters were fascinating----somewhat like the movie "Crash", but of course taking place in a much different time. Gertruda was a saint---what she went through for the sake of her beloved Michael proved her to be a strong and valiant woman. And she imparted her loving and generous nature to Michael. No real mother could have done more. I wish I could read the book in its original language. I am unhappy with the translation---it seems unnecessarily terse. Of course the author may simply write that way, but perhaps the translation is responsible for the somewhat business-like tone of the book---clear, concise, but lacking emotion. It reads somewhat like a play, and requires the emotions of actors to bring it to life. It would make a super movie---Stephen Spielberg and others--take note!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Must Read

    For anyone pondering how children managed to survive when parents were taken and they were left alone. This is a gripping and heartwqarming story. True and well crafted, interweaving from sseveral perspecgives, making the story more complete than most stories of survival.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Mellette

    One of the best books I've read in awhile. Very inspiring. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Awesome!

    I loved this book. So so touching. I couldn't put the book down and finished it within a couple days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Highly recommended

    this is a must read. This woman prevailed in spite of WW11. Her determination to keeep her promise to a dying Jewish woman unfolds a touching well written story of Gertrudas determination to take the young Jewish boy to Israel. Her story is intermingled with the stories of others struggling during this bleak period. Coluld not put it down. Thank Mr. Oren for such a wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    young child escapes death! jewish no longer!!

    "Mother, iv been looking for a job and i found one that is perfect. the only catch is that their jewish and im afraid that they wont allow me to practice my religon." gretuda the impecable woman that saves her life and the child of mr. and mrs. stolowski. gurtuda, the nanny of micheal,endangers her life to save the ones she loves. this little boy has a true heart and uplifting spirit event though he is forced to hide his true self.imagine going through life with a mask on. terrified that someone may lift it up and see who you are truely.all you want is to take off the sweaty, uncomfortable, contained overcoat.but if you do you die.this is the life of the little boy micheal who loses his mother and is separated for his father. in Vilena where micheal and gurtuda end up living for a while,jews were not welcome. iv felt unwelcomenes. it feels as if everyone is out to get and all i wanted was to curel up in a ball and shrivle to nothing. ifelt so small.gurtuda and micheal have a turn for the worst but eventualy craul out of it. form being a bill gates to becoming a homeless person on the side of the street everything in life give a different meaning. this book has the message of what life is all about and how to stay to your inner values durring hard times-such as the holocaust. i found it to be rather interesting and have very unexpected twists on every page!!!i dont read much but a good book such as Gertudas Oath really gets me hooked!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommend it!

    Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I was so caught up in this book.  It unfolded like a gripping dr

    I was so caught up in this book.  It unfolded like a gripping drama, but it was a true story of ordinary people caught in extraordinary circumstances.  Gertruda's faith and devotion were inspiring.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    a good read

    The story is compelling, but not as well written as Life in a Jar. Nevertheless it is a good read and with only 210 pages can easily be completed in half an afternoon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Highly Recommend for anyone interested in the Holocaust

    I enjoyed the book a great deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    A TOUCHING STORY ABOUT A WOMAN'S PLEDGE TO ANOTHER WOMAN

    THIS BOOK HAS RAW EMOTION; THE STORY OF A WOMAN WHO PLEDGED TO HER WEALTHY EMPLOYER WHOSE DYING WISH WAS THAT HER CATHOLIC NANNY GET HER JEWISH SON TO PALESTINE DURING WORLD WAR 1. THE STRUGGLES AND HUMILIATIONS THEY GO THROUGH AS THEY MAKE THEIR WAY TO PALESTINE ARE HEART WRENCHING, SAD AND HEROIC. IT IS A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Gertruda's Oath

    I thought this was an excellant book, I couldn't put it down. I recommended it to a friend and he loved it also. The characters are very real, the situations made me feel like I was there. Very touching, the dedication of Gertruda to keep Michael safe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Highly Recommended!

    This is a powerful and touching story that was very tough to put down! This will make a great movie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    Could not put it down

    This is one of the most touching, poignant and incredible books I've read in a long time. I read it in a day and a half (unfortunately I had to stop mid-way to go to work!). The story of Michael and Gertruda will touch anyone, regardless of religion. The love, devotion and bravery exhibited by Gertruda transcend time. You must read this book. This is important and powerful history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3